April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Press Z

by netguy204 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Press Z" - You only have 1 control. I bet you can guess what it is! The graphics are minimal but, I think, this uses them to good effect and the game "feels good". I hope you agree.

Window: Double click ggl_windows.exe
Mac: Double click ggl_mac.command
Linux: Run ggl_linux.sh

Notes: Engine builds for Mac/Windows/Linux along with game source are included in this download. Let me know if you have any issues!

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#358Theme3.74
#555Mood2.88
#557Humor2.22
#589Fun2.95
#596Overall3.13
#703Audio2.45
#773Innovation2.85
#980Graphics2.49

Comments

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

Cool. Good, satisfying feeling when you stomp on the poor rectangles who just seem to get through their daily commute without being stomped.

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

*seem to want to

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Well done game. The game feels "juicy". But i don't like gameplay mechanics. Just pressing Z over 6 levels was becoming very boring.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Overall, pretty fun. I like the sound effects and particle effects. Ambient music would have been nice. However, sometimes my square would get pushed to the side, and red rectangles would hit me before I could feasibly react. And sometimes I would stomp on a rectangle but I would take damage. When the rectangles piled together, there wasn't any way to avoid this. Also liked the view kick.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Cool mechanic, albeit repetitive.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Dang! I ended up playing that for a LONG time... the big jumps are very satisfying.

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Got a little repetitive, but I really liked the shaking effect. I wish I could move sideways though.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Only managed to get until Level 6...90 or so to stomp if I remember correctly. I've done a couple different runs.
I got beat really hard off some really fast flying enemy that pushed me off the screen! That was brutal :)

Anyways, stomping enemies feels good refreshing. Good stuff!

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

It's like one of those games where you fling stuff around and watch it go *splat*, and it's oddly satisfying for no particular reason.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

The graphics felt nice but there wasn't enough gameplay to keep it interesting for long.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Pretty simple but very fun. Stomp all teh things. Nice work.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:41pm

So much fun ! BOOM BOOM BOOM ! Ahah

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

I like to stomp enemies! nice particle system and lovley game :)

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41am

You had me at the title. :3 But I think the game might've been better if the little red rectangles just passed through each other, maybe moving at different speeds, rather than pushing the player around - and you could up the damage they do to compensate. Plus I think the kill counter for the level would work better as a countDOWN.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

Dude thanks so much for the awesome comment on my entry! :)

Your game is interesting as it provides a lot of dynamic with by simple pressing one button. I guess this is as simple as it gets. I really enjoyed stomping the little things even tough it gets a bit repetitive after a while and you can solve each level by simply holding space. :) Maybe exchanging the graphics and adding more features (or dangers) could make this game more fun in the long run. Nice shake effect with the stomping!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:10am

I am astounded at how satisfying this is. Screen shake and particle effects!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17am

Yeah, pretty fun game. Like everyone else commented, it gets a bit repetitive. But it was fun to stomp my enemies. Good game!

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:14am

The Linux binary worked right away :). Very easy to pick up and keep playing. However, after a few levels it would benefit from some improvements regarding variety.

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:29am

There's a lot of good stuff in such a minimal package. I really like how the red rectangles push each other and you.
The speed of the jumping seemed just about perfect.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:02am

Not bad! Criticisms:
-The font used for the numbers doesn't match the rest of the game, if you know what I mean.
-I felt like the levels don't really fit the game's style. It would be better if the whole thing was just one level, and it slowly got harder and harder as time went on.

TenTonToon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:13am

One of the truly minimalistic games I've tried, so kudos to you for that. You distilled one of the mechanics of a Mario game to its purest form - stomping on enemies :)

But that said, it quickly became tedious. You could have added enemies with different behaviors to spice things up (there weren't any up until the point I played).

Also, bearing in mind how minimalistic the visuals are, maybe you could have used a simpler particle for the stomping effect. It looked somewhat out of place to me.

If you could manage to keep things fresh from level to level, this would be an awesome game for a touch screen device, and one that I'd personally like to play.

Dmitrix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Nice. Reminds me of the game I made for LD25. XD

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:44am

I pressed Z! Funky little toy. I got to level 5.

alts says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:32am

The screen shake is incredibly satisfying. The game does begin to feel repetitive after a while. There are two factors at play here, I think. 1) the session length is pretty long relative to the "content" to see. 2) Losing doesn't feel like a failure on my part. Often I'll feel like I got stuck in a situation that I couldn't escape from.

LoneStranger says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:22am

Very well done. I enjoyed this a lot. One of the best I've seen that fits the theme.

May 9, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Sadly it just crashes on my Win XP (32-bit) laptop. :(

stderr.txt says:

"INFO: renderer_init
INFO: glew initialized
INFO: renderer_gl_init
INFO: opengl version 2.000000
INFO: init_world
INFO: init complete
INFO: finish image load
INFO: renderer_load_shader: resources/standard_color.vert
FAIL_EXIT: glCompileShader: ERROR: 0:1: '' : Version number not supported by GL2

, #ifdef GLES2
precision mediump float;
#endif

attribute vec4 vertex;
attribute vec2 tex_coord0;
attribute vec4 color_coord0;

uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;

varying vec2 tex0;
varying vec4 color0;

void main(void) {
tex0 = tex_coord0;
color0 = color_coord0;
gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vertex;
}"

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]