April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Highway 00101

by r3d5 - Jam Entry

A low-res cruise game. Avoid collisions with traffic without the use of breaks.

There are only three inputs, all on the arrow keys.

Up Arrow - Accelerates car on Press. You car will deaccelerate when not pressed.
Right Arrow - Merge to right lane.
Left Arrow - Merge to left lane.


The song used is BIT8, by daftgamer2
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/330916

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#93Audio(Jam)3.53
#162Humor(Jam)2.63
#171Fun(Jam)3.16
#183Graphics(Jam)3.58
#189Mood(Jam)3.21
#222Overall(Jam)3.28
#264Theme(Jam)3.28
#443Innovation(Jam)2.36
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

MisterMagnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

OMG! It's pretty good, what is the song's name?

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

@MisterMagnus BIT8, by daftgamer2

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50pm

@MisterMagnus And Thank you! That means a lot! :D

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Graphics are great. I find gameplay rather boring... you just drive and drive, nothing happens. It would be great if there were more gameplay elements.

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

@dvdking ya I can see that. I'll be making the difficulty increase sooner. Might be too much of a cruise when you start out.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Liking the visuals and the music. clean and well executed. got a zen like pacing after a while.

glocks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Very awesome aesthetics! I loved weaving through traffic and seeing how far I could get with max speed (furthest I've gotten is 5 miles :I )

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Loved the jumps.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

That game was sick, damn I like that song.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Like the Shader-GFX and the landscape setup. Super nice straight forward minimal racer. like that

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

The music is CATCHY! I found myself to play while bobbing my head :)
The gameplay is nice but becomes boring rather fast...

FaBrito says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Great work on the theme, guys! 5 star for certain!
Wouldn't mind having the speedometer on the top of the screen instead of the car trunk, though... hehe
Missed some evolution on difficulty, despite the pedal to the metal for the whole trip.
Nice music! ;)

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I actually really like this, in terms of an art game. I think it would perhaps be more moody if set on an industrial freeway with the potential for traffic jams so that you can reflect on poor decisions :P I think the ramps maybe take away from the experience a little, but overall, great effort!

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

@Lianne Booton Confession time! The ramps were totally me freaking out it wasn't fun enough. It really was an art game to begin with but after I had it play tested a bit, people seemed to want ~anything more exciting. So the ramps were a super quick addition for those players. So ya, I totally buckled lol, I'll admit it. But I wanted to compromise for both types of players.

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

@Lianne Booton and thank you!!
(lol, dodging the eyes I'm getting while I'm at work not working)

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Wow, thank you guys all for such great feedback and compliments!! I'm getting all emotional that you played it!

ronsho says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I really enjoyed this one. Nice music, great landscape. Lots of occasions, though, where I felt stuck between the cars, couldn't really slow down and the path was totally blocked. Like the motion, though, smooth and relaxing.

Waave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Seemed fun, sadly I was having trouble with the framerate on my 8-year-old computer :(

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Plays like Desert Bus.

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44pm

@Waave ya, there's like a lot of effects used on this. I was going to add a quick start test and adjust the visual / graphic intensity but I ran out of time :/

post update!

bleating says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:02pm

The graphics in particular really stand out, good work!

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:10am

Pretty cool game, seemed kind of bland though.

xandy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:46pm

cool game but framerate gets bad at +90mph :/

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:57am

I am not quite sure what that game was, but I f*ckin love it.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:25am

Oddly enough I think it might have worked better with the style if the car were like a wireframe or something more like that, it's current paint job is out of place in the tron type world. Also if the game is supposed to celebrate speeding down a highway the controls feel very sluggish. You need more game here to keep the player engaged.

As a proof of concept on background generation though this game is alright.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:28am

Loved the graphics and the soundtrack!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:46am

nice game -- the controls were not as solid as i would have liked but it was a good game overall.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:17am

Nice racing game, but I didn't really get a sense of speed while going down the road. Some markers on the side of the road might help it seem like you are going faster.

Msquirrel says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:42am

That was great!! really nicely done. I liked the style as well, the graphics were very cool. Good job man

Yaxchilan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:50am

Wow.. loved it! Awesome art as well.
Any chance of releasing the source for us newbie unity students?

Beerman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:42am

Looks absolutely lovely, but as a few other people have said it just feels too slow to be much fun.

cardboard says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:31am

Really cool game! I got stuck behind the slow cars too often though, so I had to step off the gas sometimes. The ramps were my favorite part :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]