April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DHRDR

by johnste - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DHRDR [Dehoarder]
You are a clutter removal robot, programmed with "state of the art" minimalist algorithms. Your mission is to get rid of unnecessary junk in the world.

You have to use the robots body and the magnet to remove clutter from the designated areas.

Gameplay video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TscmBhFPzn0&feature=youtu.be

Mac and Linux users, visit http://love.org and download LOVE 0.8.0 to run the .love file.

UPDATE: Uploaded a post competition version fixing a lot of issues.

- Hopefully no more jittering physics (fixed timestep)
- Fail condition has been added (respawn if you go out of bounds)
- Restart key added: R
- Refactored a lot of code (you won't notice this while playing)

Unfortunately, no new levels yet, although I've added a new item type in the second level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#211Innovation3.59
#277Humor2.69
#331Graphics3.37
#455Mood3.00
#521Audio2.76
#625Fun2.91
#644Overall3.09
#874Theme3.20

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Cool game! I really liked the visuals and premise. I got stuck at the beginning though, here's a screenshot if it helps.

http://imageshack.us/photo/myimages/213/screenhunter29apr281822.png/

Good luck with your future projects!

kogyblack says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:33pm

It said I need to have Lua... Could not play it.

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53am

Tyro: Try attaching the magnet to the box above the robot. You can sort of lift yourself out of these pits.

kogyblack: You need to install love2d to play the .love files, but the windows executable should work without any dependencies.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

Looks fun and I like the art style but it keeps crashing often in my computer (windows 7 32 bits ). I'll try it later from another PC.

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Is there a way to restart a level? Falling off a cliff doesn't seem to do much :D

Nice game though. Fun!

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

Ludipe: Hm, I never experienced crashing. Does it crash during a level?

Frib: Unfortunately, no. :(

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

I would kill for a reset button, that first dip is really hard, and once I get to the house, keep getting in unwinnable states, and my only solution is to exit and try again. cool idea, but was just too frustrating.

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Great concept and great execution! Took a little while to get used the game, but after a while I was flinging things out of the house like a boss.

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

Really fun to play! Te quirky physics combined with the simple drawing style feels excellent.

wccrawford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

There was a chair stuck in the floor, so I couldn't continue. And falling off the edge means falling forever.

I also had some trouble with the controls, and often ended up upside-down, which was frustrating.

Overall really well done, though!

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:14pm

wccrawford: There's a bug where the items from the last level tend to show up in the next. They're not counted towards the clutter score though, so you should be able to finish the level. That's the last one though. Thanks for playing! :)

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Little mixed feelings about this game. Graphics aren't anything special, but not horrible. Music was pretty okay. Gameplay wasn't all that great for me, I got bored with the idea very quickly. Also, when I got stuck (literally stuck), I wasn't able to restart from in-game, so I had to exit it. Unless is something I know about, add a "restart" button.

To conclude, maybe it's a good game for someone else, but not for me.

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20pm

I enjoyed swinging around stuff. But I couldn't finish the game. Cool for a tech demo, needs work to be a game.

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Lovely art style and interesting concept!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Took quite a bit of practice to even get through the first pit, but this is a really unique, challenging game. Good work!

johnste says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Seriously, everyone, thanks for you feedback! :D

I agree with most of what you're saying about the game and it certainly lacks a lot of polish (restart button, tweaking of mechanics, etc). I really want to create a better version with fixes and more content (levels, items).

feyleaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very cool. It reminded me of those 'sticky hands' from old UFO-catchers. I liked it, and finished the game. Clever use of the theme, as well. ^_^

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:39am

I would like a bit more control over the magnet rope. If you could extend and retract the rope a bit, then you could use that pulling motion to either yank yourself out of pits or jauntily toss grabbed objects behind you!

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49am

The art style was really nice. The physics were a bit frustrating. I'd keep getting stuck upside down where I can't use the magnet properly or get stuck on top of the objects.

Goodlookinguy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30am

MadMichaelofMetal (on my brother's account)
I played this game on my stream. I broke this game more times than I should have, flying into the empty space. It needed a restart button. I did finish it, but I was disappointed at the end. The physics work against the player.

johnste says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:05am

Hey Michael, saw your stream and yes - you had some interesting issues with the physics. Sorry about that. I didn't have enough time for playtesting and maybe the single biggest issue was the lack of a restart button/fail condition.

johnste says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:11am

I wonder what caused the weird bouncing problems though. It might have to do something with a low frame rate causing the physics timestep to be too high. Thanks for testing!

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:24am

great work however its really hard to move anything with that bouncy bouncy magnet thingy. :)

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:48pm

That was great. Really nice feel to it.
Somehow that little robot's got a lot of personality for something made out of two circles and a box. :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:43pm

On the first obstacle I got stuck in the trench. I didn't know I could let myself out till I tried a couple of times. The magnet mechanic felt a bit clunky. I wanted to be able to swing over the obstacle Bionic Commando style. I did like the elementary style art. I'd like to see more colors.

goerp says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Good entry. Needs some work on the levels, but I like the hand drawn style, the music and the physics.
And it is about decluttering so the theme is in there as well.
Nice.

moomoo112 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:30am

I kept flipping over and getting stuck like a turtle..

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:39am

I tried pressing P at the main menu because of the coloration of the first letters in the menu texts only to find I had to use the mouse and click. A hover state or sound blip would help make that more obvious :)

The game itself was really challenging! Even though it's all very realistic in the physics of the simulation, it was hard to predict how strong the grapply-thing would fire. Fun nonetheless!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I love this game! So much fun to mess around and the floppy crazy mechanics work well!

HelkeGames says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Nice game, i like the graphic well done!

Misfit says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Nice game. Art style is great and really fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]