April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism

by StabAlarash - Jam Entry

Made by my friend Nathan and I this weekend.


Escape from this geometrical nightmare of doom or die trying !!!

EDIT: I've made an other version for those of you experiensing crash / can't run the game, I'm not sure this gonna help either (I'm pretty new to xna ^^):

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4761626/LD26/LD26_Minimalism2.zip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Overall(Jam)3.65
#88Fun(Jam)3.49
#122Graphics(Jam)3.78
#165Audio(Jam)3.28
#236Theme(Jam)3.37
#253Innovation(Jam)3.04
#253Mood(Jam)3.03
#358Humor(Jam)1.82

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Very good concept and execution, but shoot(or whatever clicking does) didn't work for me

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Really ? You can try Space Bar to shoot too

nathan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Or gamePad :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Good work, but there shouldn't be so many enemies - or better: they shouldn't respawn that fast. :)

0beah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15am

Game doesnt seem to work for me.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

There is interesting gameplay elements like "geometric doors" and corner shooting... But no goal, and gameplay is boring overall.
So nice concept but unthinked =(

nathan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

You must have Framework .NET 4.0 and XNA installed

nathan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:17am

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17718
and
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=27598

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Got to the end with 1hp left. This is frantic and fun, nice work!

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Fast paced and chaotic, what's not to like? There was a bit too much enemy spam at some points, seemed easiest to rush through the level. I really liked the shaped doors and variable firing patters. Good job!

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32pm

this is a wall balanced super nervous shooter even if a bit chaotic, i liked it a lot :D

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

This is a great concept. I like the geometry locks, and the sound and graphics was all rather good. Something simple like having shootable spawners like Gauntlet would do a lot to make it more fun I think :)

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Found it weird that the enemies kept respawning and how the circle was actually best to play with. Loved the graphics and audio. Good job!

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Nice game, clean visuals and awesome music! I first didn't understand how the shooting worked, then I realized that it doesn't appear to shoot(just make a sound) if you haven't moved your mouse. For some reason I went directly to shooting before aiming. Thus I learned something about myself today. :I

I also found a tiny bug in the main menu: you can't go back to start with w after having selected quit(up arrow works though).
Neat idea with the player being the key to the doors! Nice work! :)

Fadobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Wow, that's really awesome. Good to see other XNAlers out here (but I have to admit, you made the better game!)

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Bloody fun game! Especially on the X360 Pad! :D

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

It just crashes on start-up for me :(
Windows 7 X64

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I think this shows how far good sound effects go.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58pm

I really liked it! (Not sure if my last comment came across a bit vague)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Shooting works for me. Very unique and polished graphics style.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:41am

soo many eneies -- wow that was alot of fun and i loved the graphics -- so simple yet yet hard to master --- great job!

Hayawi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY NICE GAME!!!!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:48am

NICE WORK MAN VERY COOL :D!!!

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:06am

I think this is one of my favorite games so far in this LD! Simple, but still a ton-o-fun, and the gameplay was very smooth.

The controls on the title menu seemed messed up: I could go down, but not up.

cadin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15am

Your screenshot looks really cool. Any chance of a web or Mac version?

nathanj439 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20am

Great action game with a lot of polish.

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01am

Really liked this game. Loved the lock/key mechanics and the balance of firepower between different shapes. Hope you guys take this further with more powers / varied level designs too.

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Like the idea of changing player form. Nicely done!

GreyShock says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Great job! It's simple and there are lots of enemies, but it's fun!

hgouveia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:54pm

great shooter!, is a shame you didn't include the source code

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Very polished, well done! Gameplay needs some tweaking.

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Man!!! This is really really good. I mean it. It is really good.

StabAlarash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:58pm

hgouveia: now there's the source code :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:01pm

The number of enemies is TOO DAMN HIGH ! Except that, very good game, runs fine on win7-64 !

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:06pm

\m/ Love the music
Action packed and very fun game. Looks great too.

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Notes:

- Of WASD, only S works on the main menu.
- Alright, WASD works in the game, though.
- Music is nice and intense.
- There are so many enemies.
- The end. Short game.

Things I would change:

- Reduce the number of enemies.
- Make bullets move faster than the player.

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:46am

It was hard to hear the music over all the explosions, and amount of enemies that spawned was so high that sometimes I wasn't able to navigate the tunnels without plowing through them. Pretty cool game overall, just needs some fine tuning to be a classic. :)

nathan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:17am

Im menu it's a bug. you can use QSDZ tu move (like Laverty keyboard...

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:10am

Very nice idea and well executed. The randomly appearing shape-changers were a bit strange. I really like the graphics. The ending was a bit too easy to get to. Some more levels would have been nice, since the frantic shooting was fun ^^

Luxorix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Interesting idea! Good job!

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:18pm

well done, this was fun

I'd really like to see an enhanced post-compo version, this game has potential

Xaychru04 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:01pm

I like the graphics with a few colors and basic shapes, and the game mechanics are pretty cool. Good game :)

GarethIW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:39am

Really fun! Would play a full version of this with a gentle difficulty ramp ;)

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Got to the end with 25 health left :3

A few things: if you press q, you move left. Autoshoot would be fantastic. There are too many enemies at any one time and random figures spawning may take away the shape you tried so hard to get, or make your life easier; both cases happened to me.

The game however is fun and the game mechanic can have a lot of strategy to it. Do I want to shoot fast or cover all my sides? It's a great idea, fantastic job you too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]