April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Controlled State

by GameNacho - Jam Entry

I'm excited to say that I've finished my third Ludum Dare.

For my game I depicted a dystopian society where the citizens are very sheltered and are restricted to what they can and cannot do. In the game you live the life of a citizen in this controlled state.

Sick of food shortages, lack of freedom, and a dead-end factory job, you plan your escape. There are multiple endings based on your actions in the game. Let me know if you can find them all.

I'm glad that I decided to go for a 3D game this time around. It took a lot of time to make the scenes but I think the 3D environment makes it more immersive for my game idea.

Anyways let me know what you think.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#26Mood(Jam)3.91
#174Overall(Jam)3.37
#185Innovation(Jam)3.25
#208Theme(Jam)3.44
#230Audio(Jam)3.04
#241Humor(Jam)2.27
#248Fun(Jam)2.97
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00

Comments

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57am

Ahoy! Very artsy. I can tell this was really well thought out (I'm cynical and didn't expect it to be, sorry!), its a shame the graphics don't match that level. You certainly did well with Unity perfabs though! 4 stars!

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:58am

I admit, the first thing that surprised me about the controlled state was having what looks like a nice LCD TV. Interesting little game.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04am

Very impressive! I have a had an Orwell fixation for literally half of my life, I feel like you captured that atmosphere very well. Admittedly you did leave SOME hope, so it is perhaps a bit less morbid than the game that I would make with this theme.

When I picked up the gun I quickly looked behind me to make sure that nobody saw. If it were me I would have given the gun a sound, but I respect that as an artistic choice.

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10am

I've been questionned, tortured and killed... Pretty deep game... I first thought it'll be a "every day is exactly the same" type of game, but that's just a part of your dystopian society. Quiet brutal ending for me :)
Pretty neat game, very moody. Let's try the other endings !

allinlabs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15am

@ataxkt I actually liked the graphics. Everything's gray, except the propanganda. Felt very depressed while playing as a citizen of this morose country. So, that's a perfect match for me.

Farjuan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Wow, this game is amazing, it speaks so much, this is great work you should be proud of yourself!

cadin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

I can't figure this out. How do I get out of the room?

neight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

Really liked the communism. Would like to see more capitalism in a future version. Great job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:45am

I really loved the art choices as well. This was a super engaging experience! At one point (When I was riding my bike), the loop stopped for a second or two, and I started freaking out looking around. Really great job creating such an expressive, engaging experience in such a short time.

anjack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47am

The graphics style and background music really set the mood. Good game! I like existential trips like this.

ronsho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52am

Neat, I had an easy job. Was there an ending?

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

Nice game! I found 2 of the endings, Escape and tackled/killed.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

quite interesting, I liked how bleak it was. Not sure if I should've found it so funny. great work.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

This was pretty good

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

"This is the life in a Controlled state"; this game is sounding pretty propagandy :)
I like the way the blocks turn to look at you, it's kind of funny!
I wish you were even less afraid to bore the player.

Tiago says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:08am

Awesome game, I will play it more to try and get all the endings, in my first one my town just got nuked =(
good job with the art and sound!

GameNacho says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:31am

@ataxkt Well I'm glad my game was better than you expected it to be, thanks for the feedback!
@nintendoeats Thanks I really tried to set the tone in this one
@allinlabs Haha thanks, yeah the endings might seem a little dark, but that's part of the experience ;)
@Farjuan Thank you, I am!
@Sgt Squirrelly Hmm that's odd I've never encountered that bug but good thing it didn't seem to cause that much harm, but anyways thank you very much!
@anjack Thanks!
@Stryphe You're getting there, there's still more to discover ;)
@Tiago Thanks I appreciate it!

Thanks for all the feedback everyone, I really appreciate it!

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:30am

Hey awesome! I had a similar idea in my game but you totally took it to an awesome place. I liked the idea of dropping the gun in front of the player to see if they would take it! Nice work!

Alexander says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:39am

This gave me goosegumps, great music and use of the theme. Absolutely loved the suddenness of the ending for me.

cwilloughby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:39am

Whoa. Very cool. Loved the atmosphere. Liked the graphics, audio, and mood. Very sobering. Fits the theme very well! Excellent work.

kirby_freak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:47am

Interesting game! You did a good job of capturing the mood, although the music was a bit too... upbeat to match the visual mood, in my opinion. At least you had music though, so props! :P I picked up the gun, went on a shooting spree, and got captured and killed pretty fast, so it seems as though I missed a better ending, which made it a bit boring, but I like that you actually have multiple endings. Overall a cool little piece. :)

myachin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:51am

great

May 2, 2013 @ 6:40am

Excellent idea. I'd love to see a longer game like this.

I could not figure out how to escape. I can kill all the guards, but the next day they are back and after me. Any hints?

GaTechGrad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:13am

This game reminds me of how lucky I am to live in a free society.

GameNacho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:46pm

@Nonameghost Thanks I really appreciate it!
@Alexander Thank you, I tried to make the ending abrupt I think if fit well!
@cwilloughby Thank you!
@kirby_freak There is a better ending than that but the one you got is not the "worst" ending, anyways thanks for the feedback!
@SomeNetworkGuy You're close, once you kill a guard they will be after you the whole game, be careful what you do!
@GaTechGrad Good that's kind of what I was going for ;), and thanks for the shoutout on twitter!

Dohan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Wow, impresive! I've got out of the country on my second playthrough.

Having a jumping key that made me not stop pushing it and the fact that people look at you when you are near them remembers me (in a very minimalistic way) to Morrowind.

yellowlemming says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:26pm

I rather like the feel of it, the grey colours help to give it a depressing feel although I can't help thinking that they were probably the default colours as well, also, the guards were hard to distinguish as guards to begin with, I assumed they were some sort of security camera

ashdnazg says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:46pm

A neat and special game!
Good job :)

GameNacho says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:59pm

@Dohan Thanks haha that's good to hear!
@yellowlemming Well thanks for the feedback!
@ashdnazg Thank you!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:25am

Wow, so simple and so effective! Are there multiple endings? I am going to find out!

Daisuke909 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:35am

I could only find the one where I get tortured and killed. I think I'm doing it wrong.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:50am

Pretty cool, I managed to get 3 different endings.

Good job on the environment models!

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:02am

Excellent job. Nice audio, stuck to the theme well, rather haunting in tone and mood. Makes you think. Liked the choice aspect.

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:46am

Well done man. I like games that give a message. And this is beatifully done.

GameNacho says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:41am

@MinionStudios Thank you, and yes there are multiple endings
@Daisuke909 Well that is one of the endings, try to explore the surroundings more!
@SmilingCat Nice, and thank you!
@JonathanG Thanks for the feedback!
@Jorjon Thank you!

Prelucid says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:10am

I loved this.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Good to see a game revolving around a different concept. Got some heavy 1984 vibes from this. Kudos to you for making such a game for LD.

lotusgame says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:50pm

I am an Orwell's fan so i appreciate this game very much :) The mood is excellent and the game well executed. I wish i had more meaningful play to have a better control on endings (i saw two differents endings). How many endings is there ?

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great game. It's really immersive, like you said. Congrats!

ovenchips says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:26pm

It's impressive you can create such a tense atmosphere with simple geometric primitives. Really polished and well thought out.

pereubu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:08pm

l-l-like it :D

TheSarcastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:43am

Wow, really awesome man :) Great music!

Jellycakes says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:39am

I'm a sucker for atmospheric games and this was no different. I really loved the ambience and mood the game set. I developed an attachment to a cube that got shot, but then I suddenly thought evil things when I saw the gun I could pick up. I got tackled in the end but still a pretty good experience, nice job!

May 11, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Very nice game! Cool music, totally combines with the mood!
My first playthrough i got tortured then killed, i'm gonna try again to see if i can reach a happier ending!

Congratulations!

PsenFilip says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Think about there are several people living by these rules right at this moment. This non sensical way of living and control is still alive.

The mood is awesome. This a very good experience everyone should try. This game is really good. Should be part of a broader discussion.

So onto the game:
I couldn't stand living that way. I tried "La Revolucion" by hands and a gun but I failed half-way.

GameNacho says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:08pm

@lightnarcissus Thanks, I appreciate it!
@lotusgame Thank you!
@Rafael Sales Haha thanks!
@ovenchips Thanks! It was thought out ;)
@TheSarcastic Thanks :)
@Jellycakes I'm glad you enjoyed it!
@Tiago Ling Alexandre Great, Thank you!
@PsenFilip Yes it's sad that there are people still forced to live a restricted life. And good recap of what you did in the game.

Again thanks for the feedback everyone!

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Really enjoyed it. Was wondering if there was an ending for a while, then... the gun. Good atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]