April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrian Click

by CherryNukaCola - Jam Entry

////////////

Click yellow.

Avoid red.

Ripples block clicks.

Music by Kevin MaCleod. Made in Unity.

Vote++

////////////

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#219Theme(Jam)3.42
#302Audio(Jam)2.82
#319Mood(Jam)2.77
#373Innovation(Jam)2.63
#392Humor(Jam)1.64
#412Audio2.95
#440Overall(Jam)2.69
#444Fun(Jam)2.36
#473Graphics(Jam)2.44
#840Theme3.24
#966Mood2.45
#1108Graphics2.29
#1120Innovation2.24
#1214Fun2.10
#1307Overall2.14

Comments

Porpentine says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:28am

seemed so simple at first (click the dot) but the combination of lighting, slow crosshairs, and music became mesmerizing

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32am

Very simple game, but fun. Really cool feel and music. I couldn't always click when I wanted - I wasn't sure how or why that was limited, or whether I was messing up the crosshairs somehow. I got 17 in my game - no idea if that's good or not. Fits the minimalism theme well.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

I hit 27 once I realized what was going on (didn't read instructions in submission page). There seems to be a bug in the click-detection, though, as many times I had both the crosshair AND the mouse pointer on a yellow dot and it took multiple clicks to get it to register.

thristhart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

As everyone else mentioned, the click detection issue is really frustrating. Stops this from being an otherwise very atmospheric game. Fix that up, add a little polish, and I could spend a long time just clicking things! On that note, I'd like a "free" mode, with no time limit.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

The click detection is actually working fine. You can't click on a circle that is underneath a "ripple". Sorry, I've updated the instructions to make that more explicit.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

The perspective on the "crosshair" threw me off a bit at the beginning, maybe an ortographic camera would've suited better, but it's alright and i managed to click 30! :D Hope is good.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Nice game!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:50pm

A different idea for sure! Somehow I found it bit hard to figure out where the red / yellow color keeps moving, so in the end it still felt more like random clicking here and there since the colors seemed to be whizzing past, or something.

(PS. you're supposed to make your own music, not use somebody others, for 48hr compo entries)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Re: the music, I wasn't aware of that - (the rules make it sound like it's kosher as long as you have legal right to use it, maybe that needs to be more explicit on the rules page...?) Anyways, I've switched it over to a jam entry.

scriptorum says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Thanks for the clarification regarding the ripples. I thought the input was just wonky. If you added a sound effect for a failed click due to a ripple that would help clue folks in.

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

The atmosphere was perfect!

Phase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:13am

Fits the theme well. It could use some sort of ingame feedback that tells you you can't click in a ripple. It also seemed like all of the yellows moved right, while the reds moved left, making it a lot less difficult to find them.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49am

I liked it. The music was really good. I thought the lighting was a but dull - I would have suggested unlit shaders to get more of that full color Mondrian look. Not quite sure how the ripples work.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

It took me a little to guess the mechanic, and yes after rechecking the instructions it was more fun and less frustrating.
Ah, btw, have you played hundreds? xd.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

a little hard to get into. the music was good

Ryusui says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:49am

Surprisingly atmospheric - it reminds me a bit of an old Amiga game. My big problem is that the mouse cursor and crosshairs don't quite seem to agree on what I'm trying to point at.

timtimtimtim says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:40am

cool idea. seems like i was sometimes being blocked when it didn't make sense. the ripples were harder for me to see when they got bigger, which was frustrating for me since they were more important (taking up more of the screen)

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

At first I was like huh? Why aren't some clicking? Read the rules, duh! Sometimes the simplest things - nice work!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05am

it's a bit short, but there is something there that kept me coming back.. well done

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43am

A few minor issues aside, it is a simple but really fun game.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:46am

Sometimes the click doesn't work !

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Like the shades and colours. Almost relaxing pastime there... wall sized on a whiteboard ... runs out of interest, but if you're relaxing that doesn't matter... it's like playing with your fingers in some running water

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

The countdown is hard to see, maybe make it more viewable, for better feeling.

TenTonToon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:43am

Very moody and atmospheric, and I like the way you added the Mondrian-esque visual flair to the very gameplay, instead of simply using it as an "easy" backdrop for the action in order to get extra theme points.

The click thing, even though it's a feature and not a bug, still kinda seems detracting from the overall experience. And a free, 'endurance' mode where you can click you brains out would certainly be a nice post-compo addition :D

Congratulations! :)

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:32am

Superb music and atmosphere. Sometimes the click doesn't work. Nice work.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

I think this one fits the theme perfectly. And fun to play as well!

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Very simple concept, clean and beautiful execution. I played much longer than I thought I would. The music and sfx were fitting as well. Great game! :D

daniel2357 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I've scored 30. nice concept. fun played. nice game :).

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Great mood and effectively simple :D Feels like a living painting!

May 1, 2013 @ 7:59pm

This has a very nice flow to it. I think the graphics could have been a little more vibrant to have really sharp contrasts between objects, but the mood and theme use are fantastic. Well done.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I scored 25 on my second go once I read the instructions. Once you get a nice rhythm going it feels great.

hissssssssss says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:15am

This is a really great way to interpret the theme. You can see how it was inspired by the art without mimicking the art itself.

gilmore606 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:59am

Really smart minimal game! I love the aesthetic. As other reviewers said though, the click detection is a bit frustrating.

Travis Irby says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:46am

Really good entry! Love the concept with the lighting effect and the audio is superb :)

Hegemege says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Smooth audio and overall quite relaxing. Had some click detection issues though, but a nice little game!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Good game. Extremely minimalist :)

runonthespot says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:38pm

I found the crosshair a little distracting- perhaps a too thick- made it easy to miss-click. I also tend to dive into games and read instructions after.. was much better the second time around :)

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Good concept. Bit frustrating at times with unsuccessful clicks but a fun game.

Waave says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Might be better if the mouse pointer were hidden, I couldn't tell at points whether the crosshair or my mouse was targeting the dots.

May 4, 2013 @ 2:30am

Simple idea, but fun gameplay. Sometimes the click doesn't work, making a difficult the gameplay (Maybe because the aim don't ignore raycast). The Soundtrack is very good. Nice Work!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:54am

Great idea using the ripples! I also like the effect of the discs floating between the bars.

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Pretty cool, I like how the ripple mechanic prevents you from just camping a small area with the mouse.

Good job.

May 4, 2013 @ 5:16pm

nice idea, fun to play

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:05pm

I thought the music sounded familiar hahaha, I managed to figure it out without reading the instructions. The clicking seems a bit restricted. Would have liked to click madly with some effect. That or the clicks weren't working.

Catman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:54am

Original mechanic, I liked it!

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:42pm

I felt laggy watching my cross on other place than games one.
Nice entry.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Liked the concept of the ripples blocking your clicks. Really made me think of which circle I should click next.

May 9, 2013 @ 5:40am

A bit hard to control but minimalistic enough :)

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:41am

34! The ripple idea made it a lot more interesting than I thought it would be :)

GameRespect says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I liked the way the layout was designed, and the aesthetic and music was pretty nice. Gameplay was minimalistic, though it can get repetitive after awhile. Awesome entry though :D

May 11, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Simple game, with a interesting take on the theme. It seems that the clicks are a little unresponsive (even clicking circles outside the ripple waves). I think the colors could have been more vivid.

Overall, nice little game, congrats!

May 12, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Minimalist yes but no fun enough (moreover the clic is really hard, a bug I think)
But I liked the sound/music of the game!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Feels good.

Syawra says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:46am

It's simple, yet fun. I loved the sound effects and music !

Roupette says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:59am

You've made me a minimalistic cowboy :).

Sebastian says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I managed 39. Very cool game mechanic and really rather a lot of fun to play. Only thing I don't really like is the colour palette. Also, an orthographic camera would of made a lot of sense here I think.

mtrc says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:42am

Nice! Very simple, but really well put together.

May 19, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Okay, now I inderstand what "Ripples block clicks" means! :) Still, not a bad game, very cool soundtrack...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]