April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

<Insert Title Here>

by hannardynamite - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#143Audio3.44
#438Fun3.11
#584Mood2.84
#584Theme3.51
#702Humor2.04
#835Overall2.91
#1024Graphics2.41
#1142Innovation2.22

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:45am

Oops! Forgot the source - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/12890344/LD26.mfa

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

Nice take on the avoider-genre! Once again music improves it greatly.

Selliato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44am

Classic but addictive.
Sometime red square spawn in walls.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Great idea and execution. The music is awesome!!

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Had a red spawn half in a wall and get stuck, also seemed to lose a life if I went in the top left corner, otherwise pretty neat :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Found my head nodding to the rhythm. Really good music. :) Did not find it very challenging though, not enough enemies spawned before the level change. Nice potato though :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41pm

I liked the ambiance ! Easy gameplay, so fits well the theme !

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

This game depicts our life in society and the existence of mankind at its most basic form. If you are to boil down every philosophy and ideals into one meaning: it is this game.

In materialism, you collect; in buddhism, you avoid. We strive to increase a certain value in our life, be it virtue or wealth or karma, and we do our best to avoid things that hurt us.

It is no wonder a game of this type is entertaining and amusing. We see a reflection of ourselves when we play it. In the end, all your accomplishments and discoveries in life all boils down to a simple phrase: "You lose", the core of all epitaph. Then with a press of a spacebar, your slate is wiped clean and your life begins anew.

Oh yeah, nice music! It goes well with the game's pacing.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I played this for 15 minutes without fully understanding what I was doing so I guess that's good. Great title/music.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Good music

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Very catchy music and entertaining gameplay.
Bit of glitching when you try slide into the walls, and one red square seems to get stuck in the border every level.

thatwhichis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:10pm

102! Music is driving; really enjoyed. :-)

Oh yeah, and uh, what ddionisio said. <_< >_>

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:29pm

The music is very catchy, and you nailed the theme.

May 11, 2013 @ 11:26pm

It could use some increased difficulty in later levels, but it's surprisingly good! I think the music makes it. Nice work.

Alphonsus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice little game, keep it up!

stqn says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Great music! Too bad there aren't any sound effect. The game is good, but difficulty ramps up too slowly, and also some levels seem easier than the previous one. Sometimes the game stops listening to my keypresses, and/or the player square moves by itself towards the edge of the window. Also some enemies get stuck in the top-left corner.

lorancou says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice music. This lacks a proper progression in challenge, but that's OK.

JonathanG says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:17pm

This is a fun little game! I found the controls a little imprecise, sometimes it felt like the square wasn't changing direction as quickly as I'd like, or kept travelling when I'd stopped pressing keys. Also the squares sometimes get stuck colliding with the edges.

SuperDisk says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:34am

This one's a lot better than your last entry! Nice work.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Nice game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:59pm

really nice job -- very addictive gameplay

CrazyGage says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:03pm

great music, fun to play

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:12pm

This is very minimalistic and fun to play. Maybe some more levels would be nice.

voxel says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:58pm

I liked the part with the squares!

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Good minimalist gameplay. The sudden changes of level (colour) really threw me at first.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Really fun game! Really nice how minimalistic it is, yet how awesomely fun! The music really helps a lot to get the vibe! Congrats!

Ninjaxio says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Very nice, though some text to show what number is what would be helpful.

davidpeter says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:41am

I got 95! There were problems with enemies spawning in walls and I felt like the enemy squares had collisions beyond their colored square.

wrongcoder says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:49am

Very nice. Unless it was intentional, it would be nice if the game made sure there was enough contrast between the background colour and the squares. Sometimes it was quite hard to see what's going on.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]