April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Extruder

by bitbof - Jam Entry

A puzzler. Should run everywhere in the browser (desktop, iPhone, iPad, etc)

This time a Jam entry because I didn't have enough time on Sunday.

Have fun.

Tools: Notepad++ (coding), Photoshop (visual concepts), Ableton Live (music/audio)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Innovation(Jam)4.38
Theme(Jam)4.56
#9Overall(Jam)4.12
#30Fun(Jam)3.76
#30Audio(Jam)3.94
#40Mood(Jam)3.81
#197Graphics(Jam)3.52
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13am

Excellent soft and gentle mood but quite sneaky puzzle. Mechanic is fairly straightforward once grasped but still tricky and you have to concentrate... very good. Got to the barriers level - bookmarked will definitely play again later

Milktoast says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Very well made puzzler.

Mikel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Very nice puzzle, self-explaining and well done... perfect for mobile

FunByJohn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Really innovative concept, man! It seemed like you could sort of "cheat" the first few levels by extruding in small increments - not sure if it would work, but maybe you could add a rule like "you can't extrude twice in the same direction"?

Music and graphics go completely hand-in-hand with the theme.

Couldn't help but give you like a bazillion stars :)

Demurgos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I agree with FunByJohn, when you understand the trick it become really easy to pass the first levels and I was like "Nice graphics, music fits but I'm not playing : just dragging a rectangle".
Then I arrived to the part with the switching walls and later to the small corridors, this part was really interesting and I was really disappointed when I seen that there was just a few of these "real puzzle" levels. (Other timed walls based on 3 or 4 cycle could improve the complexity).

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Can't rate audio, because I don't have speakers on this machine. But overall it was fun to play. I appreciated the ease of restarting a level, and found it quite handy. Different and enjoyable

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

This is very cool, elegant and well done. One of the best use of HTML5 i've seen so far. Also excellent music.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

really nive concept, mainly if you work with 3D modeling, extrude = life! hehehehe

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

really nive concept, mainly if you work with 3D modeling, extrude = life! hehehehe

all the aspects really well worked, congratulations! =D

visibleatom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Fun game. I think it's definitely something that you should consider working on and making more levels. The changing walls added quite a bit of challenge.

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Great geat with intersting mechanic

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Very nice nice puzzle game, with some innovative game play. I like it very much :D

jamioflan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

A lovely game; understandably short, but the last level did my head in!

ElScootro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:44am

Hands down the best LD game I've played so far!

vladimirdlc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Really smooth game, perfect balance of graphics and sound, and creative use of the theme. Kudos.

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:27am

Very nice concept. I got stuck on the last level for a long time but I ended up solving it. Easy for me to grasp because I work with 3d software. Nice work!

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:27am

Very clever idea. A limit on the number of extrusions would make an extra challenge (hard mode), though some of the maps were hard just by themselves. Would like to see more levels. Ambient sound fits well. Well Done =]

May 4, 2013 @ 2:36am

Great game music is awesome, really innovative.

sharbelfs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:37am

Great puzzle game, especially designed for mobile.

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:40am

It was interesting figuring out the strategy, and eventually that even failed so good job! :D

pjchardt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:42am

Nice mood. Nice music. Interesting mechanic. As others have mentioned, I never felt challenged because I could just extrude one unit a a time and so I never hand trouble completing a level. Enjoyed the experience though.

May 4, 2013 @ 2:47am

Great game! A unique and interesting game mechanic.

May 4, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice little puzzle game, and it worked perfectly playing in Safari on my 4S

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Very polished. The extruding mechanics worked very nicely. After a few puzzles, I did get a little fatigued. It would be nice to add a menu screen.

Ditto says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Veery cool game! Stylish and slick, love it.

May 13, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Amazing job as usual!
A great companion to nanospin. You're great at these minimalistic puzzle games!
Great job with the audio, but you should note that it doesn't work in Firefox! Really enjoyed the simple touches, like the way that the orange squares break apart when you hit them. Great job!

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Superb puzzle game. Kudos to how you focused on making this touch friendly!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]