April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

This is not a game.

by AaronYip - Jam Entry

Hi. So... this is not a game. It's intended to only ever be played once, and just for 20-30 seconds. Then it saves your data and actions to a basic database, anonymously.

EDIT: If you want to see the "more active" ending, I just uploaded a video playthrough.

EDIT: As @playvue pointed out, I should clarify: The database stores three int variables, all of which are only use to calculate the stats displayed on the final screen. It's to create permanency to your actions, as well as seeing how others have reacted in the situation you were just a part of. Outside of the context of this game, the data won't be used; the database isn't a part of a survey, and I will never use any of the collected data in any other way.

The music is Mozart's Laudate Dominum, as performed beautifully by Advent Chamber Orchestra (you can find a copy @freemusicarchive.org). The sfx is recorded by GoodSoundForYou. I built on top of the Flixel library, and... didn't get to start until very early Sunday morning, so I'm going to go and apologize when the database breaks. :<


**** spoilers ****
...
...
...

This "game" has a lot to do with US current events. I wanted to capture a lot of my recent emotions--anger, resentment, confusion, disappointment--in as simple of an experience as I could. This was easily the most difficult, not-fun game development I've had. More than a handful of times playtesting, I had to quit and take a break. So I do definitely understand that some of you will be upset at me for forcing this experience on you, and I'm so sorry if it treaded on sensitive issues unannounced or crudely. I also understand that this is kinda the antithesis of what others think of games as--I hope it's not fun or addictive at all. But, that said, I really do appreciate any time you guys spend trying it out, and, I hope you understand.

Thanks,
Aaron

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#43Mood(Jam)3.79
#50Innovation(Jam)3.77
#183Audio(Jam)3.22
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#230Graphics(Jam)3.36
#374Humor(Jam)1.71
#477Theme(Jam)2.55
#545Fun(Jam)1.83

Comments

noddy2006 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10am

Wow.

spriters2000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15am

it impressed me

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15am

o.o

se1by says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:17am

Got goose bumps.
Well done, and I hope that noone will misinterpret it.

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18am

Nothing happened when I shot (what I presume is) myself.

Are you trying to collect data indicating that people separate their actions in games from what they would do in real-life? The arguments that I have had on that topic are extensive and usually involve me beating my head against a desk.

Why do people shoot the civilians in MW2? What do they think is acceptable about that? What is going through their minds?

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

Thank you for making this.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19am

A very powerful message.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20am

Not sure...What...to say.

Krahe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

o.o

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:54am

Good not game. It might have been good to add a reset button so that you could try again. Well done.

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

@nintendoeats: Mostly I just want to ask players: what if your actions are irreversible and permanently affect something somewhere? There's lots of psychological, and many very real neurochemical, reactions, at play when a person's gaming--and I'm interested in the conflict that happens when reality breaches into that sacred play space. Regarding MW2, I think most gamers like to experiment with the borders of what's possible via their interactions; that's what gaming is: learning new rules and seeing what's possible through them, but MW2's civilians is an unfortunate case representing that. I would love to discuss that more with you. (: Feel free to email me at aaronyyip(at)gmail.com!

At everybody else, thanks for the support and understanding! :D You being speechless will probably be the best compliment I get for this not-game.

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:25am

This was the most powerful entry that I've played. Exceptional work. I can imagine that this was a difficult creation to share... but I thank you for putting it out there.

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:28am

I'm glad I read a little bit before randomly trying this game

atraxgames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33am

It makes you think, deep concept.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33am

Okay... that was different! Awesome way to get the message over! Thanks for doing this entry. :)

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28pm

A really great concept. I felt like the graphics (which were really well done) undermined the message though. Still, great job.

May 1, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Provocative entry, not convinced it is necessarily for the right reasons though. Interesting entry, definitely interesting.

Super Hamster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53am

Interesting, I thought it was a game so I shot the people.. Then I was sad because I realized it was for a survey....

evoker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:35pm

That gave me chills. Well done. Stretches the traditional definition of what a "game" is.

BahamutZaero says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Son of a... very interesting.

playvue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55pm

As soon as I figured out what it was, I stopped playing. Can you explain what you're recording in the db and why?

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Dammit you 58%. Really?

May 2, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Too bad there isn't a mechanic to transmit and stage the message. I like the statistics displayed though.

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

@playvue The database stores three int variables, all of which are only use to calculate/display on the final screen. It's to create permanency to your actions, as well as seeing how others have reacted in the situation you were just a part of. Outside of the context of this game, the data won't be used. Maybe I should have clarified that.

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:21pm

This is not a game, it's more of a statement or something to make you think.
I'm not good (patient) with reading instructions so I wan't sure what to do. At first I tried to shoot aim at the shooter then I tried to find out what i could do in this game.
Of course now I now it's not a game.

May 6, 2013 @ 9:48am

72 %. Glad I belong to the 28 %. Very... Good.

bvanschooten says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I've played with the idea of making something like this, though I would have expressed different political issues.

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:10pm

A strange game.
The only winning move is
not to play.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]