April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unfinite

by jonnopon3000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An infinite runner type game with a simple visual style and two-button input.
Still a little buggy following the appearance of a new collision bug right at the end of the competition, and with the occasional graphical error, but otherwise a happy beginning to my time with modern OpenGL!

Controls: Z - Jump / X - Shoot / I - INVINCIBILITY (so that the new collision bug doesn't stop you from judging the game based on what's actually there)

NOTES:
- I've been told it's not working very well in Firefox and Chrome...I can't reproduce these problems at home, so hopefully the upload to Kongregate made things a little more reliable...
- Restarting the game doesn't work right - a refresh is a better bet
- Recommend turning on invincibility right away and playing 'til you've seen all you need to see. The collision bug can cause death upon landing from the smallest possible jumps...


Tools:
- Eclipse
- Java
- #LWJGL
- OpenGL (with VBO's) + GLSL 1.2

Twitter: @jonnopon3000

I sincerely hope you enjoy the concept :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Hrmm... I'm on firefox in linux, and opening the web source just gives me text saying ALIGN = LEFT .

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Same here on both firefox and chrome.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:17am

Doesn't start here either (tried with Firefox and Chrome, Win XP 32-bit).

jonnopon3000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Hmm...I'm having no issues in Chrome or IE, but I do see the issue on Firefox. I'm hoping that hosting it on Kongregate fixes this - thanks for letting me know, guys - check back soon for a (hopefully) fixed version :)

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:58am

Interesting game, could use some sound. Uses the theme well.

johnste says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:18pm

After dying one time, the player barely moves ahead. Tried invincibility once, which worked as expected, but when I restarted the game, I spawned into the same place as before.

These problems combined with the very slow refresh (accept java + download of lwjgl+slick each time) makes for a less than stellar experience unfortunately.

cakemonitor says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:21pm

I only saw a blank white page at kongregate under Chrome (after giving it over a minute to load and tried refreshing the page also), and the downloaded jar doesn't appear to do anything when launched - no window appears, no error message, etc. (Windows 7 64bit)

Mega1mpact says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:33pm

The game doens't seem to work for me:
http://puu.sh/2ReVx.png

May 11, 2013 @ 3:15pm

the gameplay is fun but there doesn't seem to be any consequence of getting hit by enemy bullets. Movement is weird , many times i rode through platforms like i was on an invisible escalator, but that was actually kinda cool looking so yeah.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]