April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gardener in Minimalism Spring

by tcstyle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Flashgame.

The start page of the game states the rules.
* Some advice:
- figure out the number of identical seeds in a row and place accordingly
- beware of spreading mushrooms, they won't grow on plants

My first try with HaxePunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#302Audio3.12
#386Mood3.11
#488Innovation3.20
#567Humor2.21
#646Theme3.45
#669Graphics2.89
#1027Overall2.70
#1201Fun2.14

Comments

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Sort of a "zen garden" feeling to it. Perfect match to the theme

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Interesting concept, however I couldn't really figure out how to separate the plants.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Don't know how I feel about potatoes being bad, but I likes!

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Good idea and great mood, but I couldn't win.

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Confusing and relaxing at the same time. I too didn't really know how I should be separating the plants

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Separating means not to place the two different ones close to each other.

Jacic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Difficult! I really like the "zen" feel. :)

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39am

My favorite entry so far. It was rather difficult to figure it out at first, but once you get it, it's surprisingly fun! (And it took me quite some time to get a good layout going. :p)

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

I like the graphics and the sound. The game itself is maybe a little too minimal. I beat it in only a couple of tries.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

A relaxing gardening/puzzle game.

The tricky bit is figuring out when it switches between each plant type. After that the puzzle becomes how to cram everything in the tight space.

Felt like there was a little bit of a delay after I clicked.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

@Gremlin Delay is probably caused by triggering on mouse release.

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Enjoyable! The ambient sound really contributes to the relaxing vibe. I had the same problem as others with not fully comprehending the mechanics, but it was soothing just to play around.

As a game (rather than just a zen "experience") I do think it would work better if it was clear what plant was coming next. Did I miss something, or is there really no way to tell?

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:22pm

It is quite an easy mechanism. Each three clicks will seed the same plant. The seedlings are similar but have differently shaped leaves.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I'd like to see more levels with a different seedling pattern. Of course, you'd probably want to have more hints as to what the pattern is in that case.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44am

poteatoes. Cool idea for the game =)

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:26am

I didn't really understand my objective, but it was quite soothing!

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Yay! I beat it! Once I figured out what to do, it seemed easy enough. Nice puzzle game.

Brunodev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Cool, it fits the theme perfectly!

Hopps says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Cool game, very difficlut - i couldn't win :D
Quite a nice ambient!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Pretty relaxing zen game.
Took a while to figure out how the seeds work and it was rewarding. After that it is all about lay-outing your garden.
The art is OK for the purpose.

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Not sure I figured out how to garden well.. but I really like the pixel art flowers! This is very similar to my game SeedLife. Great minds think alike!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Some visual hint of where the active spots are would be a help, but maybe I'm missing the point. Wasn't sure how to "play", but it was enjoyable to tinker with for a while.

lpcustom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice concept!

graytest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Couldn't really figure it out. But still kept me playing for a while which is a good indication! :)

Idovoodoo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:34pm

This is great =) well done!

tcstyle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Thanks for the comments so far. I will try to make some of the proposed improvements for a post-compo version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]