April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Red Circle

by dissonance - Jam Entry

*Update*
Removed an audio track that wasn't being used. This should make the file size a bit smaller than before.

*Before Playing*
I highly recommend you go through this game twice. It isn't very long, so no need to worry about time. It's more of a notgame than an actual game. I also suggest you go right the first time; trust me.

Okay, this game was meant to be something a bit grander, however, I have little-to-no experience doing something like this and I'm a fairly new programmer. So, I decided to cut out a lot of the game. The file size is due to audio files.

I hope that even in this butchered form, that is barely a shadow of my original idea, it still comes somewhere close to having the impact I wanted. If it does, then this will have been worth it and perhaps worth me actually taking the time to complete it.

I apologize for the bad audio. :)

Thank you.

PS
There's a chance the linux version might not work. If you can, post a comment letting me know if there are any errors since I don't have a linux pc set up to test.

PSS
Sorry about the lack of a mac version. I'll see what I can do, but like the linux version I can't promise it'll work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#7Audio(Jam)4.18
#89Innovation(Jam)3.55
#91Mood(Jam)3.57
#108Humor(Jam)2.93
#116Theme(Jam)3.71
#170Overall(Jam)3.38
#372Graphics(Jam)2.84
#434Fun(Jam)2.40

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Amazing. Love it

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13am

This is really depressing...

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20am

clever use of audio to frame the game. i really really like the scary noises later on. the idea kind of sounds like the game the stanley parable, though it's hard for this sort of thing to work effectively without much context.

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22am

Yea, I had a lot more plan, where it would go through the stages of the red circles life and have other options besides the one in the beginning. I'll definitely be working on a complete version. Thanks for the comments!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25am

Interesting game, it's really weird but that makes it more interesting. The background music is awesome and the voice-acting is a fantastic feature.

Sheep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33am

Good narrating. Depressing story.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05am

Quite depressing actually, but still enjoyable. It would be nice to have more choices, as well as maybe the ability to skip certain audio parts you've heard before - it could make the choices easier to explore.

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:06am

Super depressing, but in a good way. The sound effects may not be great, but the music (and the occasional piano note on its own) and that voice are done really well.

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

I would like to have your pronunciation, but I doubt if I should tell such a sad story :O
Game is like a theatre, I miss the fun :)

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

I wish I could pronounce my words better, but sadly when I was a child and first moved to California they didn't offer any speech classes. I was never able to fix my diction issues, so this is the best I could muster. :) Thanks everyone!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Great story, reminds me of the stanley parable.

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Well that was intense. I love the simplicity and how well paced the narration is, though it was a bit of a pain to listen to the beginning again just to see what happened when I went left. This really has emotion to it, and in a good way. Great game.

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Thank you. Believe me, I know how you feel. I had to listen to the entire thing every time I had a bug or added a scene just to make sure it all worked correctly. Haha.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Holy God I loved this. Interesting story and sad/confusing story. Watcher both endings :) Liked your narration, good quality voice.

Saisaith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

I loved it!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Hahaha. That was hilarious. The 'DIE YOU SHIT' part scared me...

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Good job, interesting concept. Weird, but interesting!

fussycashew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:59pm

I'm so depressed now. :(
I'm a terrible red circle.

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Great storytelling, good voice...and a bit depressing game.

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Hmmm...I've never seen something like this. Nice game(?) :)

Typedeaf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Aaaaaaaaw, it was soooooooo sad! felt really bad for that little red circle....

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Grate work! I liked it a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]