April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triquacir

by dertom - Jam Entry

This is my Jam-Game Triquacir.

Combining the minimalistic forms Triangle, Quad and Circle with minimalistic but challenging gameplay.

Hit objects with the mouse as fast as possible on the screen as indicated on the bar to the left. Sounds easy? Proof it!

I worked most of day 3 on a server to share scores but didn't get it stable in time.... :(

Have fun.


Dependency: openal
win32: http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip
ubuntu(debian): sudo apt-get install libopenal-dev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#212Innovation(Jam)3.17
#264Theme(Jam)3.28
#300Humor(Jam)2.00
#339Fun(Jam)2.73
#374Audio(Jam)2.38
#377Overall(Jam)2.86
#432Graphics(Jam)2.61
#443Mood(Jam)2.38

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Crashes randomly, but I enjoyed it. Just try it again if it crashes!

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Argh,..that's wired. Thanks, for telling, I will check!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36pm

I just gets loads of error messages in the console when trying to run the game. The game starts, but nothing more happens. Sorry.

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Cool idea. Could finish without crashing.

antonijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Very nice concept, and it gets very challenging over time.

BTW: This is the first LD that I reviewed that managed to crash my system! Good job XD

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I like the idea. It's challenging, especially with the changing positions and fading of the objects. I don't like that the mouse cursor is caught in the window, otherwise it's running fine for me.

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice idea, it's really too bad you could not implement the score board.

The game is also very laggy on my system.

Clavus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Not starting here either. Made a picture of the error message: http://i.imgur.com/VkPrCSH.jpg , seems it's trying to look up a hardcoded path that is only valid on your computer :P

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12pm

@antonijn: very sorry for crashing your system :(
@Clavus: thx for the screenshot. There problems seems to be that openal can not be found!? Maybe I should pack it with the game.
@all: thx for playing :D I will try to get it more stable...

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Nice game and neat idea, i really enjoyed this game! BTW Thanks for trying out and commenting on my game! :)

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Crashing here also. Still a nice game idea. Very smooth nice simple graphics. Looks very polished.
Good choice of music.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Good music and nice presentation/graphics, but it kinda froze my system by level 3. Apparently there’s a huge memory leak.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:24am

Your concept is very smart. Congrats. Please, play and rate my game. When you visited the link was broken, now is fixed. Thank you.

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Sorry, didn't work for me - I'm using 32bit Linux Mint.

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:01pm

I like this. The sound is a bit annoying but is ok. Really a nice challenge.

HelkeGames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:35am

Nice game, well done!

AlanZucconi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:38am

The idea is nice, but but game is quite unstable! :\

May 5, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Nice work... nice concept... adding a lot of color could be best :) some little bugs but the concept is fun

May 6, 2013 @ 3:54pm

You seem to have a massive memory leak somewhere. After a few minutes the game starts stuttering, and a while later my machine starts swapping like crazy. I also had some bugs with the mouse cursor and hit detection, but that might have been due to my unusual window manager.

But it's a nice concept and the level progression (as far as I got before I had to kill it) seems pretty good. I also liked the music as long as I didn't pay too much attention to it.

This would work great on a touch screen. Maybe you could add some variety in colours as well as shapes?

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Wow! This game was really interesting. I especially like the bounce on the menu at the end of the level. That is a nice little touch. It is a shame the netcode didn't work out!

Also, it ran fine for me on Win7 64bit.

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:51pm

@FrozenFractal: Yeah, there seems to be a memory-problem! Once my teeth-aching stops I will go into that! Actually I concepeted the game so it will be playable on touch-devices,... and in theory the game works on android and blackberry (but it is just too slow!)

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:08am

occasionally crashes in the middle of a level, not sure why

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:20pm

great idea, congrats.. (you should know, sometimes crashes..)

itsZN says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:53am

Very nice setup. I don't like how they randomly switch some times, but otherwise, it was very fun.

Wet Heads says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:38pm

>I just gets loads of error messages in the console when trying to run the game. The game starts, but nothing more happens. Sorry.

+1

jolle says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Got error message people have been mentioning (pastebin with log: http://pastebin.com/mmV4sujE). The first error is complaining about not finding OpenAL.

To fix this, I downloaded the OpenAL redist installer and ran it (http://connect.creativelabs.com/openal/Downloads/oalinst.zip). Then it worked fine.

The game was pretty clever. Invisible shapes that moves and swaps? Not the easiest to handle at first.

Jiddo says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Cool idea. It ran flawlessly for me on Ubuntu 13.04 64-bit. I think that the idea lends itself well to the addition of more complex gameplay. Great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]