April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GridRunner (Provisional Name)

by Toby Pinder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Happy voting everyone!

This is a web based RPG of sorts. I suppose it's close to a roguelike but it's lacking quite a few features to meet that classification!

Mostly it's been a fun experience using a new toolset (I come from a PHP background, so this is my second "real" project in Ruby/Rails and I'm pretty happy with the tools.

The game itself, well I certainly wish I could have gotten more in. But I always do poorly at the time management at these events!

Let me know what you think, I'd love any and all feedback. I consider it mostly Proof of Concept: there's a lot nicer stuff I could do and I'd love to get some visuals / audio in (but Minimalism amirite?). If there's interest I might consider some further development (after some major code quality changes!

Note that the GitHub repo has commits going way back, but those are just engine backed stuff (setting up gems etc.)

The entire thing was built in an Ubuntu VM on a Win 7 machine, TIMELAPSES COMING SOON!

Looking forward to seeing what you've all made once I catch up on sleep!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

I like the concept, but it's waaaay too long to wait for the next move.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

Um... It doesn't load?

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

@SuperlevelSebastian I'm told Heroku (my host) has a few issues today. It might also struggle depending on your browser (I used Chrome but I expect Firefox will work well too)

gigitrix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

@mortus Agreed. My dev environment had 5 second turns for faster debugging and I didn't have time to balance this. I'd probably make turns 12 seconds or something in a more fleshed out implementation (and I'd prefer it if you could queue more actions: it was supposed to be a more strategic game than the tactical one it ended up being, where you'd queue up a load of actions and then check on it later)

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Either it doesn't load or you have to register to play (which would be crappy >=( )

Angerus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26pm

The concept is really interesting but should have a clear tutorial to how handle things! Anyway I agree with mortus, the time for the next move is too long. And in my opinion, something to change your pile of moves will be interesting! Nice idea anyway!

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:41am

Turns are way too slow, plus everything looks the same so you have to investigate constantly.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:00pm

The web page doesn't load on my computer, what's the trick ?

FREEZX says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Veri interesting idea, but i dislike waiting. Maybe adding a button to say you're done with your moves would be helpful

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]