April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shp Shft Mz

by rzfmzn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First LudumDare \o/

Still with lots of bugs, sorry about that, but it`s a GD game =O)
What I know:
- There is a bug (noob code) that when the player collides with a wall it gain speed and get a bit hard to control.
- Some sfx decided not to play and I was a bit tired to fix them.

Made using Unity Pro (trial) with Playmaker and 2dToolkit. Art made in Corel, Sounds in one of the sound makers.
5 levels only, I am a generalist GD, LD for puzzles is a bit hard for me =O/

Timelapse video:
http://youtu.be/VpEX0l0721k

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#611Theme3.48
#824Innovation2.78
#948Overall2.80
#958Audio1.95
#991Humor1.62
#997Fun2.48
#1019Mood2.38
#1047Graphics2.37

Comments

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Cool!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Nice little game! I had some problems with the movement on later levels, seems like the char gained some weight and moved very slowly.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

The pieces got fat! hnahahahahahha =O*

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

The controls are a little weird.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Good game! The core mechanic is interesting and challenging. In my point of view, the bugs are critical because my experience could be much better with a stable game.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

It's a good game but the bugs makes the game play suffer.

shatterhand says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37pm

The game just freezes in a black screen here, after the "Powered by Unity" screen.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

Which version are you using @shatterhand?

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:58am

I liked the idea of the game! It played well in the first two stages, but on the third the movements just slowed way down.

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31am

Neat idea and well executed. Like you said, there are some glitches, but it's playable.
I think it could be a little bit faster, but hey, it can be some of the bug's fault.
Wouldn't mind to have a less dark ambient and some ambient music too.
You said you're generalist GD, but the puzzles are OK and I'm sure you could come up with something great in a little more time for level design and polishing.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Very nice, that shape changing mechanic was interesting. The controls appeared to get stuck in the last level, no idea why.

rzfmzn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:52am

That was some problem regarding the keyboard-seat interface (AKA me) hahahah
Tnx all for the hints and compliments =O)

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:09am

Has potential, but was too short. Also, ran into some strange collision detection in the narrow passages.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:26am

The physics felt weird but I liked the idea of the puzzles

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:34am

Very cool idea! The controls were a bit hard in spots, as I got stuck on a couple wall edges. I hope you add more content here, as I think it has potential! :)

GameNacho says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:14am

Neat game mechanics!

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:26am

While this is definitely not the best game in the LD, you should feel proud that you made a game at all. That's more than can be said for a LOT of people.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Interesting. Strange physics starting from level 3. You forgot the Linux build.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice idea. Good minimalist design. Slightly hampered by some control bugs near the end and could have been a bit longer. Nice work.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Fairly well in line with the theme and despite slight bugs here and there, I still liked the idea behind the game. Good effort!

danblack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:26pm

You have the beginings of a good game. Too buggy / unfinished to really enjoy at the moment but a good start. Stick at it.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Neat puzzle game. I liked it!

For some reason, though, after the first two levels, the player shape starts to move a lot slower, which begins to make movement a tad tedious after a while. I wish it would have kept the speed from the first two levels.

The visuals were a bit confusing. Some of those grey walls you could knock around, but at other times (as in one of the screenshots), there is a wall that can be knocked, but only from a certain side, though that's not immediately apparent. Maybe that's what the shorter end is supposed to be? I wish it had been a bit more apparent. Not a huge deal, though.

Overall, neat game. I wish that there were more puzzles.

xandy says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:01pm

very cool puzzle idea! fix the strange phsics make it look better and you'Ve got something really good!

Beerman says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Neat idea. Could use a few more/harder puzzles.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:58am

Definitely rocked the theme! Good puzzle mechanic.

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:43am

Nice game, although the controls didn't seem to be terribly consistent. Reminiscent of a game I've played before, but I can't remember which. The levels could have been a little more challenging as they only really had one solution.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Neat idea! Good game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]