April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Please Ignore The Dancing Llama

by Zed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Both the Flash and Standalone Windows versions are hosted on the same Gamejolt page, which is handy. If the Flash one runs badly for you, please judge the Standalone one.

It's a game about... Not getting distracted by llamas, I guess? It's three different arcade-style games, combined. Very frantic and fast-paced.

Oh, and if anyone beats 20,000 points, I want you to let me know. However, I doubt you will. THROWING DOWN THE GAUNTLET, LUDUM DARE. BRING IT ON.

Also as a final thought, um, I'm running an IndieGoGo campaign to try and make a 2D randomly-generated cyberpunk-themed twin-stick shooter. I don't want to sound like I'm begging (I'm totally begging), but if you enjoy my LD entries, maybe give it a look, please?

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-bitjackers-randomly-generated-infinite-twin-stick-shooter-for-pc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Humor4.00
#30Audio3.96
#34Fun3.88
#156Mood3.48
#171Overall3.63
#343Graphics3.35
#571Theme3.52
#713Innovation2.93

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58am

Holy Crap this is amazing.

Seriously, everything works. The Wario-Ware-Gameplay is easily grokkable. Music fits beautifully, especially with the dancin Llama (DO YOU KNOW HOW HARD IT IS TO IGNORE IT).

The color-changes in tune to the music work well, and make you forget it's in monochrome most of the time. What tools did you sue for the music? Turned out quite well.

I'd say the rapid flashing in the menu might be a bit too cepilepsy-inducing, the in-game-speed would probably suffice.

Also love how "condensed" the dialogue is. The speed makes it much more interesting, and doesn't feel like it could be wasting my time. Also I love stereotypical british gentlemen.

potato

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

Simple and fun.
The voice acted cut-scenes were very enjoyable.
Not sure if ignoring the llama was meant to be a challenge, because I didn't find it to be one.

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Good use of humor with the dialogue and the artwork. The sound is really nice and the whole game plays pretty well. Excellent job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

Loved the "cut scenes". Also the pace and look of the game was amazing. Great job!

wademcgillis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

This is what I have come to expect from a Zayne Black production.

Humorous, not very good graphics, and a third thing which I can't think of at the moment but I'm too tired to actually fix this sentence.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

There is a bug in the top down minigame where you can straight up walk through walls, though it doesn't affect much since the game ends after ten seconds but alas.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

I'll be honest, the first time I looked a the dancing Llama, I lost. Great music/sound effects, enjoyed the voice acting as well.

Jerm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

Simple and fun game! Very polished, but still minimalist. Took me a while, but I finally got 20301 points.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

The cutscenes were hilarious and the music was awesome.

I found it quite hard to properly control the character on level 1 though, I don't know if it was just too floaty or something of the like.

The Llama just adds something special, good job! ~

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:30am

dude, this game is great! Awesome job!

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

I am not sure if I understood what I've just played but this has been amazing. The cutscenes were hilarious.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16pm

That was great! Like the really high-paced feeling of it! Too bad the lama wasn't more of a distraction ;-)

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Great game. I think I had a seizure.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Mmm..
mmm?
mmm!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Oh! This is fab. That's my evening... gone.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Pretty damn amazing. Funny. Fast. Cool. Great work!

P.S. Remember, a COMPO entry has to include SOURCE CODE, which is missing here. This, therefore, is a JAM entry. Which is totally cool - no big deal. The game still rocks.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

I'm drunk ha ha ha

Zed says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Oops, hadn't added the Source link. It's there, now. :)

ming_tea says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33am

I can easily see myself getting addicted to this. Great job!

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00am

Haha, smashing! There was a llama in the background, not sure if anyone noticed it.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

Splendiferous.
I really liked the rapid-fire switch between game modes.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31pm

What I meant by my previous comment was that I enjoyed this game a lot :)

d_durham says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Very enjoyable and felt like a complete experience. Love the idea of quickly swapping between equally twitchy game modes, and it was just the right length (you didn't over sell it). Good job!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Great game! Gameplay is fast and fun, you don't need to have things much more complicated than this to enjoy a game.

Music was amazing, the gentlemen intro was really funny and llamas are always a plus. Congratulations! :D

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Good lord.

That was fairly amazing. The game play was simple and solid, I didn't even get a chance to work out whether I was enjoying it or not, let alone get bored. Certainly makes a nice break from many of the slower paced entries this ludum dare. The visuals and music were as hyper as the game play, which was no doubt a good thing.

Nice work.

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Potato and Dancing LLama, Winning combo !

CMaster says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Awesome pumping music.

Rapid-fire action.

Have to say I was so focused on the dots that I never even noticed the LLama.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I want to dance with the llama!!!
Really fun little wario ware-ish game, enjoyed the cut scenes and the awesome music!

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

funny fun, loved the intro and end cutscenes. I loved how the channel kept on changing, the first time it happened it really was a nice surprise. good stuff.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Brilliant game! Loved the different modes and how the difficulty gradually went up. By the way I found your game through the IndieGames.com blog. =)

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Splendid! A very solid game complete experience. Loved it.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40am

simple, or simply entertaining? love it.

berdario says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36am

ARGH, I failed at 19146
http://ubuntuone.com/47oCZ0X1shhGRzbGRNv4W5

awesome game btw: minimalist, catchy, and good music

dualtagh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Cool!

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:20am

Addictive game, great voices and awesome lhama.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44pm

I managed to score 14196. Splendifurous!

Dialogues are rather funny, so does the overall mood.
The controls are OK, except for the jump which takes way too much time to recover. That floating period is a pain.
Art and music are good and both fit the concept of this entry.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Awesome. Everything felt great but I much preferred stage 2

May 3, 2013 @ 6:28am

Enjoyed the audio a lot. Always like games where you switch game modes on a time. Some small polish and collision issues but this would be worth extending and working on some more. Good job.

Marnix Suilen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Great! Love the fast gameplay. People should play this, just for the title!

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:37pm

uahahahahah great game & great music. Unfortunately I can't igonre Llamas but the game is crazy enough to meet my taste *-*

vgcharlienash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Awesome game Zayne! 5 stars from me :) You should turn this into a full game after Ludum Dare

brxtr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Quite interesting and pretty fun to play, though there wasn't much to the gameplay. I appreciated the humour of the dialogue, although it wasn't easy on the ears, but that might have been intentional. The music was nice - its tempo definitely matched the speed of the gameplay.

May 7, 2013 @ 8:50am

OMG, it was hilarious :)

TenTonToon says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nice game, and a perfect fit for the theme, both in terms of visual design and game mechanics. The dialogue was ok, and the music is pretty cool.

The pace was too frantic for me, though, and it made avoiding the enemies on the first and third stages almost impossible, which moved the game into "I don't care I'll just get the bonus pieces" territory. Also, there's no sense of progression; it's full on from the get go.

BTW: you don't ignore dancing llamas; dancing llamas ignore you. Everyone knows that.

Congrats! :)

May 9, 2013 @ 1:42pm

I managed about 12000. That third stage is the one that always gets me.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Hilarious! An absolute riot! I could not ignore the dancing llama.

goerp says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:12pm

A fun game. I like the minimal color palette. I also like the three different steering mechanisms which work quite intuitive.

But for me the drive to play again wasn't that big. Just getting a better score isn't enough for me. Maybe some sounds or effects if you achieve highscores or something.
What also might work (but that's just me) is if you could die. It would bring more tension.

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:08pm

funny voice acting, I enjoyed it very much. the up/down minigame if my favourite of the three. great job!

Beldarak says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:00am

Loooove it ! That just fucked up :D

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Do you have steal a keygen music?

Sebastian says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Awesome and funny! Skip doesn't seem to work on the end cutscene which is a bit annoying after you've watched already a few times.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]