April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cubique Noire

by Detocroix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cubique Noire, a partially minimalistic crime thriller with pretty much everything in cubes. Lead character is a dashing detective with brown trenchcoat and a revolver. He drives a deep blue Azzon Maelay, though there aren't any chase sequences.

Controls:
Move with A and D,
Aim with mouse,
Fire with left click,
R to reload, E to use,
Space to jump

Note: As sounds are from Freesound.org, you probably shouldn't put any points in audio!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#40Mood3.90
#61Graphics4.10
#139Overall3.69
#173Fun3.48
#210Humor2.89
#215Audio3.28
#249Theme3.88
#411Innovation3.30

Comments

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

I like it! although I did get stuck on an enemy and was expecting a jump option.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

This is really cool! I love the aesthetic! Sadly, it took me way too long to figure out to press "E" to clear text.

Unfortunately, the platforming was almost impossibly difficult - maybe if the platforms were closer together or something?

Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

Very cool! Once stuck between blocks.

Detocroix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

Lamprabbit : You can jump with space or did you get stuck somewhere specific? :)

FuzzyWuzzie : Yeah the precision jumping definitely ain't the strong point. Price to pay from using just a physics propelled cube for character :D

Thanks for the comments folks!

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03am

Great game! It felt a little stiff and some of the controls were a little off, but other than that is was very nice. Good job!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Love the look/style of this and I really want to play it, but "a" and "d" did barely anything for me - occasionally I would roll once or twice but that was it. Resorted to jumping the whole time but could barely move inside the mansion. This was on a Mac in both the webplayer and downloadable version. I'll try the PC version tonight before I rate it, though - I have a feeling I'm going to *love* this :)

Detocroix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

rogueNoodle : Lemme know if the issue comes on PC too. I think there's something in the physics simulated weirdly on osx. I've had similar issues with other games I've worked on.

dx0ne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

That's some snazzy use of theme. Frank Miller would be proud ;) Please add save/load.

dx0ne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

there can only be highest rates

Zampi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37pm

My favorite entry in this LD

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Brilliant game, really loved it ! The mood, the ambiance track, the way the character moves, the gun control... Everything.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

My favourite game of LD so far. I'm trying to think of *something* negative to say about this game, and I can't. I love it!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Physics worked great on the PC, and the game is awesome. Great job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19am

The entire game reminded me of LittleBigPlanet for some odd reason. The story felt very noir-like, and the gunplay was fun with the reloading mechanic.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

Oooo this is one of my favs so far excellent work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Very nice. Loved it.

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Had some bad performance on the mac/web but overall nice game. Very nice graphics.

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03am

Just the way I like my games. Hard as hell.

Cool stuff man. I had fun.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:00pm

The art feels good and the audio is just fine.

I tried both the webplayer and windows.
I had unresponsive controls on both, probably due to bad performance.
Another thing I would advise on is against high-res only Web players. 1280x720 is way too high for modest machines (I'm on my laptop, for instance). I would consider a smaller frame for the web and the optional fullscreen mode for larger sizes.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:59am

I like it! The Art Style is very nice. Some instructions, like a "how to skip the text", would be welcome. When i finished the dialogs, the character don't move, only after i jump. The snow is perfect, i liked the effect. Great job!

May 5, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really liked it, jumping was a bit tricky but a really nice looking game.

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I really enjoyed the noire feel of the game: the snow and the text. It would be nice if the introduction had a more robust tutorial. I did not who I was, how to control myself, and how to keep the dialogue going. In each of the text, there should be a little "E". The platforming was very difficult for me. I kept over-jumping my ticket. I really loved the reloading the clip animation.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Amazing! I love this game. I have not been able to beat it yet but I am gonna keep coming back until I finish it. It really needs checkpoints, and some indication when you are hit would be nice.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:43pm

LOVE IT. This is soooo well done and interesting, love the way the box rolls feels like footsteps. Even the font is the perfect choice! I aim to finish this!

marnaouf says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Loved this game. Loved the graphics and the game, itself, was incredible fun. Would love to see an endless arena gamemode with waves.

May 9, 2013 @ 9:00am

One of the unexpected things I really liked about this was how the rolling action of the box makes it feel like your little character is walking, or sneaking. That subtle up and down motion really lends a certain charm to the whole thing. The level design is just beautiful, and the mood is amazing.

This might be a new favorite of mine from the competition!

Unfortunately, pulling your sounds from freesound.org would disqualify your entry, so I can't give it full marks on audio :(

Detocroix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:10am

recursive frog : Oh, damn. Somehow I expected freesound.org stuff to fall to same category as usage of free-for-all fonts and sound generators.

May 9, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This is fun. Seriously, nice work. The gun-mecahnic is great. The shells appearing is great. The Atmosphere is nice. The visual appearance is nice.

EXCEPT FOR THE BLOODY TEXT

which keeps interrupting what seems like a fun game and will hold it hostage until I acquiesce to its demands, which is stopping the "game", looking aways form the fun characters, comprehending the unnecessary text, and pressing "E".

Otherwise nice work!

Except for the text. I already mentioned that :P

May 9, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Fun game, actually... I just wonder if it would be even more fun it the characters weren't all boxed but, you know, characters... :)

Kvisle says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Shooting the boxes was really satisfying. Good job. Bummer to have to start all over when I was killed by the big box, though.

garygreen says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I couldn't get it to do anything after it loaded up the start screen.

rzfmzn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:47pm

You could place a "E" or "Press E" somewhere, took me a while to see the small letters in the bottom of the screen.
I loved the mood of the game and the game in overall =O)
GJ!

Mesene says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Nice entry! loved the art and particle sistem, maybe audio is little repetitive, but I enjoyed it a lot. also nice UI

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:29am

Absolutely loved the narrative that you have made for the game. Not sure if the enemy implementation needs to change though since most of the time they seem to kill each other by accident.

nilstastic says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:32am

Pros: Very nice graphics and i love the blood-splatter! Story-thing was good as well =)
Cons: Did not like the control scheme with space as jump instead of w.

lorancou says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:47am

I had fun until I got completely stuck somewhere in the hangar: http://img829.imageshack.us/img829/9127/unitywebplayerld26cubiq.png. I love the controls and the cubism :)

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:43pm

I want to like it, but i think the fact your a box ruined it for me. I mean, its not the fact your a box, but the way he rolls in the box. It makes the movement feel laggy and you often get stuck for no good reason.

Other than that, it seems like a good game. Looks nice, nice sounds. Has a lot of potential.

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:29pm

I love the look and I think the Cube stuff could be sweet, but I found it to be rather frustrating. I don't think the sort of slow, awkward rolling lends itself to gunplay. Or maybe I'm just disposed towards adventure games. Still, quite nice.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Nice one, love the art and the concept! :D

Sebastian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very, very beautiful. The snow and blood effects were really great and I enjoyed rolling around and being a box. I found the text to be a little disruptive of the gameplay and you're probably aware that the baked shadows glitch out quite a lot. Also I didn't like the look of the car much, but whatever, excellent game!

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Didn't get farer than the mansion. Tried 5 times or so. The controls suck, the graphics are cool. The music feels repetitive, but the shooting sound is good. The snow is falling too fast and acts more like rain.

hissssssssss says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:05am

I get no images when I play this on Windows 7, just a black screen. The sound and music run as normal and respond to the controls.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

that was just amazing -- perfect use of theme and the game was excellet -- well done

May 20, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Great job! Really loved the style of it. Jumps were too hard to make at time and could have used shot tracers etc but super solid 48hr entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]