April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

,

by OnionBlaze - Jam Entry

,




------------------------------------------
Things used:
- Unity
- ASEPRITE

Still can't believe that I actually made a game in less than 24 hours. This feels awesome!

Also didn't bother making a timelapse 'cause I thought I wouldn't be able to finish again.. welp

PS. Try scoring as high as you can, there might be something special (or weird) waiting for you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#194Theme(Jam)3.50
#221Humor(Jam)2.33
#225Graphics(Jam)3.38
#259Innovation(Jam)3.00
#459Overall(Jam)2.63
#460Mood(Jam)2.32
#517Fun(Jam)2.08

Comments

Gremlin says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:31pm

What are the controls?

asdfzxc920 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Did you develop this for a European keyboard or something?

It's extremely hard on QWERTY. I had to turn the keyboard sideways just to get to 10.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Well, I figured out the controls, though it took me a few minutes. Which is a bit odd, because you basically spelled them out right there on the screen. It's interesting how you can make something so obvious (the comma to start the game) that players didn't realize it (or at least I didn't at first). Figuring out that A and Q did something different from the arrow key took me a little while too.

Not sure if I'm being particularly dense today, or its something about the interface.

Also, my highscore was 3.

Peter says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

I should have won: http://new.tinygrab.com/b62f170e02f45ea9082a9af29c06bf7449a2feedbd.png

Peter says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

There appears to be a bug: http://new.tinygrab.com/b62f170e0292dbb4c37a109eca1d42189340cf28c6.png

kochb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:46am

Challenging.... but unique

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:04am

I didn't get it at first still I banged on the keyboard, then it started, like kochb said... unique

beshr says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Cool concept! I agree with previous comments regarding the controls, maybe left/right would've been easier :)

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:58pm

I got to 16 but only, because there is a bug where the counter seems to get stuck at 01 and does not descrese when you drop smething on it

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Ghaaaaaa... my fingers ache!

simrob says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Truly the National Month of Pushing Spacebar of minimal LD games. :)

villhest says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:19pm

My highscore was 3 :/

Nice game though!

OnionBlaze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:43am

I can't seem to replicate the bug but I think it's fixed now?

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:20am

Not going to review the game yet, but the navigation on your website is awesome.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

I really like how mimetic the AQ keys are here. The way the player's actions outside the game mirrors the response in the game does a lot of the game's feel.
There's no way I'm going to be able to get by two 80-ish challenges in a row, though. My current high score is 8.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Annoying that there doesn't seem to be any level scaling. I've been started off on 80s numerous times which I find near-impossible to complete. True to the theme although it could have done with a little instruction.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

I don't get how this fits with the theme... or anything really. :/

Needs more gameplay and less button mashing if you ask me. :P

zapaman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27am

My fingers hate you! AQ AQ AQ AQ!

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41am

Fun and enjoyable game

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

I never raped my keyboard keys so much as this - awesome :D

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:25am

I am really bad at this game - I can't mash the keyboard fast enough :P It looks very nice at least!

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08pm

I'm not sure what I played, but I enjoyed it! My fingers not so much, though ;)

Waynetron says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:04am

I cannot push the buttons fast enough, a and q are quite hard to mash while using the arrow keys on a QWERTY keyboard. I like your pixel art hands though, they are very nice.

Ryusui says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:46am

I scored 50 before I gave up and nothing unusual happened. :(

Lidfrid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:24am

Very cool graphics, and nice website!!!
The gameplay is a bit poor after 3 hands..

alts says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:29am

As someone else said, the mimetic interactions are great. Hopefully that was intentional. My forearm burns a bit from the rapid keypresses. Got to 10 points before I let myself lose.

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42am

No way I'm able to fire 66 without using some keyboard hack :/

May 2, 2013 @ 8:19pm

The comma was cerebral. I got it quite quickly, I wonder if others will :P

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:59am

After getting over 10 points I felt like I was missing something, hopefully your "there might be something special (or weird) waiting for you" wasn't just you being cruel. :P

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:31am

Your game is so AQ!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]