April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Infinity Dungeon

by Yakyb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

theme Minimalism;

Decided to go with Minimal gameplay, as i have had this idea brewing for a while.

Originally intended to include shops and tactics but 48 hrs is not a long time. had to drastically reduce scope.

May expand on this idea in the future.

Anyway very happy to complete my first 48hr LD
@Yakyb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1070Graphics2.33
#1169Innovation2.17
#1260Theme2.56
#1323Overall2.06
#1323Fun1.61
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Um, so is it supposed to have *no* gameplay? Seems to play itself.

McBeef says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I It's like half-minute hero, but you don't have any input. Kinda like progress quest, but less fun (progress quest if fun because of the weird stuff that's in it.
Honestly didn't like it :/

Yakyb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

yeah i didnt have time to implement as much as i wanted but an idleRPG type element is what i was going for

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Good job on your 1st LD.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26pm

A minimalistic game needs gameplay, just as a minimalistic painting needs paint and a canvas. Your entry might be good at what it does, but it's more of a video than a game.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Reminds me of the Press Space to Win - RPG, but i enjoyed it never the less, great stuff for your first LD, keep up the good work! :)

Fnkee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Would like to see more interactivity.

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Unfortunately this doesn't seem to run in WINE.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:39pm

I tried to run it with Wine under Linux but it crashes. :( I'm really sorry for it 'cause it looks promising.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Hah, "Thank you for (not) playing." It's not a game, but it is amusing.

lorancou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:41pm

This game plays without me. Or does it play with me?

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:34pm

somehow, when a game plays itself, it makes me jealous and more interested as the result. ballsy move.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Sadly the game just crashes when I try to start it (without any special error message). :( (Win XP, 32-bit laptop here)

Yakyb says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:22pm

will probably be a .net or openal issue

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:08am

I like the 'so simple it plays itself' aspect of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]