April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Framework

by Infin8 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A ship-building top-down arena shooter.

You are an RGB ship. Assemble components as you see fit and blast your way through a monochrome arena.

The idea isn't the epitome of minimalism, but the attempt at minimalistic art sure did the trick for style!

======================
WASD for strafing
Mouse to aim
Hold Left click to fire

Enter/escape to get past the tutorial screens. Escape will quit the game as well, so watch out.
======================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#234Fun3.38
#401Innovation3.32
#427Overall3.29
#714Humor2.00
#788Mood2.65
#861Graphics2.65
#931Audio2.00
#1087Theme2.91

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53am

Cool, I like the idea to customize the ship for the gameplay. The way you did it was very simple and effective. I wish just a full screen mode. Several times I missed because I clicked outside the game area. Other than that, cool game :).

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Enjoyed the game and the idea :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14am

Cool Game, really like the idea and the gameplay, but its a lil bit hard!

Oh and FYI, the Highscores on my game is working, there is a submit score button on the GameOver screen!

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29am

Hi tiffi, thanks! So some dudes really scored that high! The submit button seemed to lag for me though, so didnt noe if it worked.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

The weapon attachment is a really interesting idea - it'd be cool to see it developed so that you could attach things like moving arms that had slots to attach other weapons.

tonbery says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Really good concept, i think it run a little away from the theme, but whatever, the game is pretty cool man! =D

queader says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:01am

Good game, but the control was a big issue for me - the ship should move in it's direction (rotation). However, I really enjoyed this game and the idea of customizable weapons is really cool! :)

Dir3kt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Nice game, very creative :)

Had a similar idea for a past idea and I have to say I really like your implementation.

imagnity says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:15pm

It's very nice. Kinda like Tilt to Live. It would be nice to have sound. Overall, great job!

KR-Eddie says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:45am

very fun game! I found myself screaming like a little girl way too often.
Only problem I found with it was that there were to many particle effects that made the game laggy at times. You could save some in the enemy trails.
Other than that it was very good! Loved the all the different enemies. The last guys who shot barriers were awesome xD

Misael.K says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:37pm

This has a lot of potential. See the game "Captain Forever", which has similar game mechanics.
The assembly part could be enhanced, I'd say. Some times I would attach a part in the wrong angle, without any way to undo (except for restarting the level).
Difficulty ramps up exponentially! Second level was already impossible.
Frantic shooter music is missing, sadly.
Nice work, all in all.

Infin8 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:56pm

@Misael.K

Nice! Captain Forever is an awesome game. Helps me to think through my UI problems as well. Thanks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]