Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

A Game of Numbers - JoeDev_net - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple math based puzzle game. It was created in XNA and currently only works on windows. I will try to create mono builds for Mac + Linux soon.

It's a pretty short game, as creating puzzles turned out to be quite difficult. Let me know if you enjoyed it or what you thought of it. Thanks for playing!

Controls
========
ASDF or Arrows to move
R to reset a level

The Web Version was compiled to javascript using http://jsil.org/

View JoeDev_net's journal. | View all entries by JoeDev_net

Ratings

Coolness75%
#5Fun4.10
#7Innovation4.36
#14Overall4.16
#224Theme3.90
#584Mood2.84
#706Graphics2.84
#926Humor1.73
#1047Audio1.47

Comments

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

I liked this a lot. Simple/minimalistic math fun. I thought the screen shake effect added a lot too.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

Man, this *looks* really cool... MacBook :(

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

Hopefully I can get a Mac build soon enough. I don't have access to a Mac right now, but porting will be as simple as switching to the MonoGame libraries. I might be able to get one in a couple days.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:01am

Nice! This game made me, a prospect Comp Sci major, feel stupid. I like the level design flow. Teaching the game, then getting harder, then teaching some more. After the "tutorial" levels, I found that some of them were like "4 paths, trial and error". But man did you have some devilish levels. I found myself sitting there trying to do my math, and I just couldn't see it because of the well planned juxtaposition of the blocks. Very awesome concept! It's a good brain trainer like a Sudoku puzzle or a Ken-Ken.

gregdevice says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Brilliant idea! I'll have to get my kid to try this. Well thought out levels.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

This game is *REALLY EXCELLENT*

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Loved it, I hate math and I loved it. It's an interesting way to do a puzzle game, good job.

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

This was pretty fun, the levels you made were quite clever.

reheated says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Really enjoyed this. Excellent idea and well thought-out puzzles.

jpcote says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21am

Good game, puzzle are fun, hard and rewarding. Good job !

maloki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

I love that there's math in it! The last few puzzles were quite tricky. War of attrition took me a few tries until I had an "aha!" moment. Good job on the puzzle design! The difficulty scales well, too!

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

The only problem I had with it is that, at first, I thought % stood for percentage, and it kinda missed an "enk" sound with the screen shake!

The number of levels was perfect, especially considering the little time one has. Great job :3

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Soooooo goooooooood ! Crazy idea here !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

I love it! You see, this is the type of game I would like to see in schools, it requires the kids to use strategies to beat levels, and is still fun! 5/5

Atridas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Mathy, simple, fun. Really enjoyable!

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! Seriously, getting feedback (good or bad) is one of the most rewarding parts of the Ludum Dare experience for me, so your comments are very appreciated.

@Zim the Fox - Yeah, I had about an hour left and was deciding between adding sound effects or some general polish. It would have been a close call for the sounds, so I went with the polish.

I'm thinking I'll probably make a post compo version that has some addition puzzles (anyone have any good ideas) and will feature a level editor that you can use to make your own puzzles.

Thanks again for the comments!

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Brilliant game, nice level design.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Wow i loved the idea :D AWESOME GAME!!!! :D I LOVE IT!! very mathematical :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:18am

this game is brilliant -- awesome puzzles and great use of the theme -- unfortunately cant give much for graphics -- nice work

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:41am

@JoeDev

Just had an idea for your game!
Functions: There is an input box and numerous output boxes, and depending on the number you are, you come out on a certain output.

CogComp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:29pm

This is a really good game. You should make the graphics more child-friendly and release it on a site for kids educational games.

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Extremely cool. I think this is just about the right number of levels to get a solid feel for the game, and show what can be done with the mechanic. I would have *loved* to play more, but given the time constraints, and how hard good level design is to crank out quickly, what you've got is awesome. Nicely done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Wonderful puzzles and great length of the game! They really got me thinking. I can only imagine how much of your time it took to just make those levels.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Awesome game! Really enjoyed it! It's challenging, a lot of different mechanics with very few element = medium economy = minimalism! The difficulty progression is also very well donne. Many 5 stars for me :)

May 1, 2013 @ 5:54pm

This is exceptionally clever, and surprisingly fun! You should totally expand on it with some polish and audio. Way to go!

Luxorix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:41am

Super pazzle)

sparkleswirl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:16am

Great level design, and definitely a fun and challenging twist on the lock and key puzzle genre. Well done!

Spiridios says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:51pm

For the negative, it could have used some audio (sfxr/bsfxr can turn out something useful quickly, and XNA can play sounds very easily)

For the positive, I loved it! It's a great concept to teach math and/or logic. I can see this being made into a great educational game!

Alec Von Arx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:39am

Hey Joe, you played my game and liked it (and I commented on here earlier saying I wish it was on mac)... I played the web version, awesome game! Great idea, I wish there were so many more levels haha really fun, makes you think. Please make a bigger version of this game?

JoeDev_net says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

@AlecVonArx - Yeah, I'm thinking I will probably be making an expanded version of this in the future. The thing I'm struggling with is that the simple rules and mechanics are what works for it (at least I think). Without expanding upon the basic mechanics, how many more interesting levels can be made? The answer is probably more than I would think, but it will take me a while to find them.

One idea I had was a block (with a number) that can be pushed by the player. It has all the same properties and mechanics as the player (can use other blocks, must satisfy gate conditions, ect). These blocks would need to be used to solve puzzles. I'm really trying to figure out if this makes it too complex and if this addition would really add any more depth to the puzzle experience.

Thanks for the feedback, glad you enjoyed it!

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:43am

Great game, the idea is just brilliant. This should be a game played at schools. With some music this would have been even better than already is.

ThreeUp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:01am

Great brain exercise. I completed all the levels! I think it could find more success on mobile platforms. Good luck

nimblegorilla says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:01am

Nice concept. I liked the levels where you didn't have to to calculate numbers in specific orders, but instead just had to get to various target numbers to pass through gate.

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:29am

You should sell that to schools for billions of dollars.

siondream says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:17am

Brilliant idea and very well designed! Awesome game for kids too.

netguy204 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:39am

What a great idea to build puzzles on! And what expert puzzle design! I thought the tutorial puzzles were very well done and that the difficulty ramped appropriately. Nice work

Alink says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:09am

Excellent math game. Fun and probably have good educative value. Good job on the level design too, I imagine there are not easy to create. Only lack sounds, but the shaking effect was a nice idea to make it less static.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]