April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Huit

by nddrylliog - Jam Entry

Huit is a minimalist strategy game.

Basic instructions:

- There are three players - peter river (blue), carrot (orange)
and amethyst (purple)

- Move the mouse around or use the arrow keys to move

- Select stuff with left click, build with right click

- Use middle click or Enter to end your turn

- With units selected, you can hover another region to move to
it with right click. If the region contains enemies, you might
be able to attack it (depending on your attack range)

- When hovering the region of the selected unit itself, you can build
buildings. Right click then use the hotkey displayed to create
the type of building you want. Pay attention to the cost!

- With a building selected, you can recruit unit to a region in the
building's zone of influence. Right click in the zone then use the
hotkey to select which kind of units you want to recruit.

- Types of buildings:
- Barracks allow you to recruit units
- You can harvest gold and wood with the corresponding buildings
- Towers provide defense - they'll take damage first when you have
both a building and a unit in the same cell.

- Note that you can only build buildings on regions of 2 or more octogons

- You win when you've cleared the board of your enemies!

See http://amos.me/games/huit for more instructions!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#101Audio(Jam)3.50
#121Theme(Jam)3.70
#147Graphics(Jam)3.70
#151Mood(Jam)3.36
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#199Innovation(Jam)3.21
#261Fun(Jam)2.93
#347Humor(Jam)1.87

Comments

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice game! Well done! :D

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Overall creative idea! I had a bit of trouble getting started, had to re-read the instructions a few times, but once i got going in enjoyed it. I would like to know a bit more about what each individual unit does though, would make it easier to strategize.

manax says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:44am

AI would have been nice (although I know that's... involved).

Looked nice. I had to re-read instructions a couple times, still wasn't quite sure what the heck was going on.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:47am

To those having trouble with the gameplay, check out my YouTube channel for a small demo: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZWQLPjeJOf0&list=PLYSE2E4p8e7qPoz_GjIJGZfwqnCNmIe3n

May 1, 2013 @ 2:26am

Really liked the graphics, but the gameplay (to me) did not fit the theme very well. Still a good game, though!

kreischweide says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Presentation is great, though the minimalism is hurting the gameplay severly as it does not explain itself in any bit without reading through the instructions. A small overlay with some hints might prevented the initial frustrations :) Other than that, great execution!

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I liked it at the end but not in the start as I was lost. Maybe put some directions. Overall, you did a great job!

HackThePanda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:38pm

I really liked the style of graphics!

OrangeeZ says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:04pm

The game needs some AI badly. Hotkeys for menus are all over the keyboard, I think 1..5 would work better. And I had to re-read the instructions couple of times.

But music and graphics are really charming, the concept of regions is simple, yet very interesting. Nice job!

Finnegan2100 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Though I was a little confused at the beginning, it turned out to be a great, fun game! Thought through very well; even more impressive if you consider it was done in three days. The music was very nice too!

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

To everyone: game used to crash after 5th music played, figured the bug, fixed it, uploading fixed builds. Not that anyone spent more than 8 minutes playing it :)

plash says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:22am

A familiar face!

Notes:

- This world map is nice.
- Mouse acceleration in-game is really slow. Could be because I have acceleration in Windows disabled? It's normally slow in Windows compared to my Linux, but this is much slower.
- Not really sure what these icons mean.
- What happens if I spam enter? Oh, so this is for multiple players. Can't blame you there, decent AI for a strategy game is rough, no doubt.
- The game just crashed as I was typing notes. Seems like the first music track just ended? Wasn't running it in a console. Let's try again.
- Tried to move unit to a block alongside the edge of the screen, but half of the control wheel is cut off.
- Music sequence just rolled over to another track. Crash was probably not caused by that. Discarding theory.
- These keys are all over the place. Probably first letters of the actions? Doesn't help much.
- I have no complaint with the music other than that I generally dislike solo piano. It is very clean audio. Nice work on that.
- There appears to be no feedback to the user that an action cannot be performed with a unit that has already performed an action for the current turn.
- And it crashed again, right as a music track stopped and as I was off-focus. Nothing in console; that was a bust. I am going to hop in for a lengthy timeperiod and see what transpires.
- Spacebar should be end-turn. I keep having to move my hand across my entire board.
- Some serious lag when a large area is highlighted. I imagine this game isn't very soft on the GPU/CPU in the first place, but eh.
- Alright, there's another crash. Same situation as before. Am I screwing with the logic/frame timing of the game by unfocusing the window? The music still plays in the background.

Things I would change:

- I know the theme is minimalism, but this game simply doesn't tell the user enough for it to be enjoyable. I would add mouse-over expanding text to show the full name/description of things.
- Increase that mouse acceleration! Or just use the system acceleration.
- Use spacebar instead of enter to end a turn.
- If it becomes evident to the user what is what, just use number keys for the control wheel on a unit. Right now my hand is all over my board, and most of the actions don't work on a tile.
- Give feedback to the user when an action cannot be performed. Text log? Floating text? Could expand in the same way I am imagining the mouse-over text.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:19am

I thought this looked and sounded really great. I had a really hard time grasping the gameplay though, even after reading the instructions a couple times and trying it. The music was lovely.

May 5, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Sadly I got this error message when I try to start it on my Win XP (32bit) laptop:

"Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

Program: [...]\huit.exe

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information."

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:38am

Very well done game.

juaxix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:39pm

some source code would be great to see classes =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]