April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Minimal Machine

by Andromatta - Jam Entry

My first completed game ever! Guide the seed into the pot with the available pieces.

made by:
Matt Starsoneck (@andromatta)

~POST COMPO VERSION 1.1 OUT NOW~
Hey so please play and rate the compo Web or Windows versions, and after you do that, check out the post compo versions! I overhauled the controls and took out the music cuz they both sucked. I'll eventually finish it with good music, more levels/art/water instead of a ball/etc. Thanks for the feedback y'all :)

CONTROLS:
WASD and mouse to move around (E and Q as well)
Hold shift to slow movement/rotation.
Click and stuff. physics make things happen.

4 Levels, and once you beat level 4 it flips back around to Level 1 so you can leave after that happens. I'd love to make more, but I spent most of this weekend being social for some reason, which is why this is a jam game.

The music was conceptualized and made in like 10 minutes using only a violin, so it's not very good.

The idea for the game came from the Taoist concept of Wu Wei, or action by inaction. Applied here, the seed's natural state is to fall, so the player has to guide it to it's destination.

Also The Incredible Machine.

[UPDATE 1.01]
Fixed a bug where selecting anything but a selectable object caused the game to freeze. Forgot to put in that one line of code that makes that not happen ;p


[UPDATE 1.1]
Fixed all the controls, took out the music, and fixed the graphical glitches. More updates to come!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#167Graphics(Jam)3.64
#222Innovation(Jam)3.15
#283Theme(Jam)3.22
#294Mood(Jam)2.85
#301Overall(Jam)3.04
#376Audio(Jam)2.37
#382Humor(Jam)1.68
#419Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

mungoman1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:14am

This is great! It's great idea, and yet so simple! The things I'd say to add are some sort of mouse damping and less repetitive music.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:15am

Nice graphical style and overall concept, but the music felt very repetitive and the manipulation interface was frustrating enough that I couldn't make it past the second level. I kept wanting to manipulate objects with the mouse and the control mapping worked against the Taoist theme because it was view-independent and unintuitive.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:34am

I was clicking on stuff but nothing was happening aside from the ball falling.

Andromatta says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:43am

@hamster That bug has been fixed
@Julian Yeah I've got a new version now that fixes the awful controls :P. I'll post it as an addendum once I work out all the kinks.

May 3, 2013 @ 5:50am

Great concept. The controls were a source of frustration for me, and so I wasn't able to get as far as I'd like. The basic design has a lot of promise though, and I imagine the player would eventually have to create complex Rube Goldberg-like machines in order to progress. The visuals were appropriately clean, and the music was decent (although repetitive).

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:57pm

This is great! A huge accomplishment in that short amount of time!

May 5, 2013 @ 1:14am

Great use of Unity's tools :)

May 5, 2013 @ 5:26pm

The music is repetitiv... the idea is fun ... you must develop your idea and soluce your bugs... and the game will be best :)

daniel2357 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Nice game. good concept.

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:18pm

I really like the look of the game. The music as well was too repetitive for me. I also felt like if I moved, the control scheme to move objects should be relative to me. For example, if I rotate 90º to the set up, W,A,S,D should now be relative to my current rotation. I know that makes things a lot more complicated, but that's just how I was feeling.

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Lovely graphics and a cool idea. The style of it all is very nice. The music and controls get in the way, though. Awesome entry!

boboKat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:23pm

minimal and mesmerizing! The music might be more zen if it was slower and more ambient. Possibly long resounding echoing bells or something similar.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:13am

I love the idea of this game, I just got really frusrated with the controls, there has just got to be an easier way to do it. Maybe just lock the position of the player so he can't move so there is not so many options to move the direction of the object.

dick_claus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:28am

Pretty solid.

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:08pm

The controls were frustrating, but I liked the idea of the game.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Controls were quite confusing but the concept is pretty good and the puzzles are well thought out.

kedume says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:56pm

The dificulty of the game is based on using the controls. I think it should be more easy to control, it don't have good usability.

Nonameghost says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:10am

Wonderful. Got used to the controls pretty easily. Loved the style!

mrexcessive says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:17am

Managed to complete lv 4 using only 3 bowls... after some judicious positioning of 3rd bowl. No sound web Chrome/W7.

Infin8 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 8:23am

Played the web post compo. Clicked. Nothing happened.

KEFIR says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

Wow! If this is really your first game ever then this is the best first game I ever see :)

May 19, 2013 @ 11:27am

Nice! Making controls for basically 3d, 6 axis manipulation is a *very* difficult task, so you shouldn't feel bad about yourself for not making in perfect.The clever folks at google barely made it usable in SketchUp, and I'm pretty sure they had more than 48h to do so :D Adding a story to the controls might have helped ease the frustration - like, for example, the keys control flying drunken dwarfs that move around the objects, or some magnets or something. Something that is between the player and the manipulated object, so that you can blame IT instead of the game controls. Than again, that would collide with the minimalism theme. Good entry nonetheless!

Spiridios says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:39pm

As you already know the controls need some work. It would be nice if the game detected that the ball hit the floor or stopped moving so you didn't have to manually hit "R", but that might be personal preference (maybe someone wants to use the floor as part of their setup). I liked the music, even if it was a bit repetitive. Some sound effects for the ball striking things would be nice. I certainly like the base concept though, so keep working on it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]