April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondriaan

by Corné Dorrestijn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimal time (2.5 hours), Minimal code (216 lines, could be smaller but time would be more), Minimal gameplay (Just jumpin'), Minimal graphics (Mondriaan).

Result, this minimalism game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Theme3.87
#914Overall2.83
#973Graphics2.50
#980Fun2.50
#997Innovation2.48
#1080Mood2.29
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Nice :) I have a score of 11.921 !

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

Vertical jumper taken to the max! Well, the minimalist max...I like how your character slowly grows and reduces in size (is this actually represented in the game?),

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:36am

Very nice, takes a simple concept and executes it very well. Hits the theme in a great way.

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Addictive! Cool jumper .) A bit slow maybe.

captainkraft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Cool concept. You went along with the theme well. I'd only recommend you tweak the controls a bit. Feels to slow IMO

May 2, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Not bad, an "art" game in the truest sense, like a painting come alive, some of the abstract painters might have liked that... :) Needs some sound/music...!

Typedeaf says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:40pm

It was really hard to control the cube which made it less fun. Otherwise good job!

DarkX2 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:41pm

A nice game based on all this jumping games.
I really liked how you turned one of the pictures that turn up when you search for "minimalism" into a game.

We did something similar to a picture that appears some pages later on google picture search.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Nice job. Interesting mechanic. Congratz!

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:12am

Minimal! Fun, but needs some sound to keep me playing. Nice job!

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Great use of the theme. The black lines really add a lot, even though they add nothing. Warping from one side to the other was a pleasant surprise.

May 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

A nice concept and it fits the theme perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]