April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Reach the Moon

by Nanolotl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Reach the Moon is a short game set in an empty world.
Features potatoes and other interactive objects. The game does have an ending which requires some experimentation to reach.

Controls:
WASD Keys: Movement
Mouse: Look around
Mouse Buttons: Interact
Enter: Free the mouse
Esc: Quit

This is very different to any game I have made before so it was very interesting to work on.

A Let's Play can be found here: (SPOILERS) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ln8Gbn2W6OQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#61Fun3.75
#83Mood3.70
#90Overall3.81
#102Humor3.39
#104Innovation3.81
#151Graphics3.77
#458Theme3.63
#662Audio2.52

Comments

Patacorow says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Your Angus is beautiful!

Flai says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Great looking but as awesome as potatoes are, it gets boring pretty fast just planting new potatoes :P

Waave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Got stuck at the beehive, really nice though!

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Linux users: this works almost-perfectly in Ubuntu with WINE. For some reason the mouse pulls down constantly, which is very annoying, but it doesn't make the game unplayable. You need to "look up" first.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

Any way to get "past" the beehive? Just want to know if I can in-fact reach the moon... ;)

Love the little growing animations, by the way. Very nice.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

It is possible to reach the moon (ie. win the game). Sometimes it requires a bit of experimentation.

Infernal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32am

Pow! straight to the moon! great job!

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

POTATOES! Great game! :D

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

Very interesting game, a bit too dark, yeah, there shouldn't be any light but the ground is completely black and the objetcs seem to be illuminated. I really liked it and I'll keep trying to reach the moon :)

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45am

Fun game, I had fun experimenting my way towards the moon. I wish I could continue after finally reaching it.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

Liked how exploratory it was, wish more games were like this

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

My favorite game so far!
Could use some music to help set the adventurous mood.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Took a little thinking, but I made it to the moon. Great job.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:23pm

"Gentlemen, it's going to take a lot of potatoes, and a lot of flowers, but we'll make it to the moon come hell or high water."

Great little game, cute and funny. Some parts were a little hard to figure out how to progress (particularly the initial planting potatoes) but not TOO hard. I don't know what an angus is, but I want one!

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

One of the best LD entries I've played so far. The problem-solving element was great, and the graphics were really nice. Well done. Well done.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Cool!

michail says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

I love your style, but without watching the video I would never figure out how to create giant potato ;)

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44am

I love a happy Angus! I loved this game!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:56am

Very fun game. I really liked how you had to use all the materials at your disposal to come up with a solution - very experimental. I was dangerously close to giving up a couple times, and maybe the player could be introduced to the mechanic in a more lenient way. That said, I made it to the moon so maybe it worked out just fine!
The graphics and animation were great and I enjoyed the nonsensical mood of the game. Awesome stuff.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

Good concept. However the camera keeps moving up made me feel dizzy.

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:25am

@lekochen the camera-always-moves-up thing is an issue that occurs when the window borders are not the default size. Unfortunately I have no clue how to fix this. On Windows 7 a border padding value of 4 and an active title bar size of 21 generally fixes it.

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08am

really nice! )

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:14am

Holy moly what an awesome and bizarre series of puzzles. I never felt cheated.

TenTonToon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:20am

Impressive "Minecraft" vibe for an LD48 game! The exploration of the mechanics is a nice concept, but needs the player to think outside of the box a little too much; it's easy to get bored of planting potatoes if you don't happen to find the way to get the giant potato and move the experience forward.

There's also the "potato" thing, that it's sort of a love/hate matter in this edition, and I tend more to the later than to the former :)

Congratulations! :)

May 2, 2013 @ 3:32am

That was absolutely brilliant! I loved it, so imaginative and it made me feel awesome to win. I think one thing you should do is change the end so you actually get to fly away to the moon.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:21am

I had fun with this puzzly entry. Too bad it is short.
I would say the beginning is so boring and grindy I almost gave up. Anyway it is worth the run!
Missed some background music to add on the mood though

psychopsam says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:19am

Only got to the beehive before resorting to cheats. Great concept, just needed an extra clue to continue. Nice work.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:03am

Very interesting. I gave up after a while, though :(

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:55am

Weird, but cool game. I really had fun playing, although, I needed the walkthrough, to complete the game. Good work!

May 5, 2013 @ 12:19am

Cant run it, I get to the press space part and when I do, it stops working, and I have to press escape to close it.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Excelent, really loved this one... Ultimate Angus made me LOL... :)

Sestren says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Cool graphical style, and, while the objective wasn't always immediately clear, it was decent enough that I was always able to figure out what to do next in a fair amount of time. Good job!

jimday says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:15pm

HAHA! very nice little game. I like it!
angus..lol

jimday says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:17pm

but how to vote this game? I can not find it anywhere...

atraxgames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I loved it, it's very creative, trying to things with the environment it's very entertaining

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Fabulous adventure!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I cannot describe to you how much I love this. It just hits all the right points for me. Great job, really great job.

Orni says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:26am

amazing game
loved it in every way possible

well done :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:58pm

absolutely fabulous -- great imagination -- and great use of theme -- lots of fun

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]