April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sanity

by JonRB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lo and behold! The final product!

This is without exception the best game I've ever made (Which is a little bit depressing but hey, I've got something to better next time!

The theme threw me off balance a little, but I soon embraced it when I realised that I didn't have to do any sprite drawing.

As per usual, I ended up writing the music for the game long before I actually knew what I was going to make the game about. I was hoping to try and include a guitar piece (Being a learner guitarist, I'll take any excuse to play it. Unfortunately, while I came up with quite a nice solo, I couldn't play it fast enough to fit the music I already had.


* About the game:

'Sanity' is a dive into the mind of the narrator, whose mind was lost long ago. I tried my best with eerie music and abstract graphics to paint the insane mind.

You control a spark of conciousness - The last dregs of thought the narrator possesses. You must navigate the near-empty mindscape, trying to find the most 'comfortable' point on the screen using W, A, S and D. The closer to red your spark of conciousness becomes, the further away from your destination you are. But beware! Dark thoughts also roam the otherwise blank plains of the narrator's mind, which try and draw you into a false sense of security (You appear blue near them, as well as your true destination).

I should probably point out now that there's no end to the narrator's insanity. Later on in the game you will notice him beginning to question whether he will ever be reunited with his mind. I encourage you to post what level you can get to before the dark thoughts overwhelm you in the comment section.

I tried my best to keep to the theme of minimalism - You'll notice that the graphics are quite basic (Although I'm quite proud of how a few little basic things can add up to a quite nice interface. The gameplay is simplistic enough - Plough your way through the levels. The first few should be easy as long as you keep moving. There aren't terribly many features - Move, survive - And in fact I imagine that most seasoned game makers could probably make this in a couple of hours. But I'm proud of it, and I hope you like it too.

Special thanks to jelly (That's British-style jelly - The wobbly stuff in a bowl) for keeping me fuelled throughout the 36h of development.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#56Audio3.75
#90Innovation3.84
#97Mood3.63
#336Graphics3.36
#381Theme3.72
#457Overall3.26
#714Humor2.00
#940Fun2.56

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Sometimes it seems I died when I got more blue, and sometimes it seems I got further when I got more red. Confusing? Since human eye isn't all that good in seeing hues of blue and dark red, light cyan / dark blue might have worked better..

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Considering acoustics and aesthetics, it's the most beautiful entry I have seen in this LD.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Music mixing was really good, I just found it a little finicky to get to the goal

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

nicely done! loved the minimal aesthetic and straightforward gameplay

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

I liked it! Even though it gets a little repetitive after a while,you get your concept through very nicely.
Great job with the atmosphere too!
Just make sure you correct some of the typos in the future. :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

Nice game. It was very confusing at first, until I got the hang of it. I (only) managed to get to level 5, which I tried to beat a few times. I like what you did with the music. Well done!

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:53am

Thanks for pointing out the typos (I saw two, if you know of more feel free to let me know)!
I've fixed them and left the old source in the same directory as the game and new source.

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

Nice but hard to progress despite being blue...
You should use arrows on a keyboard because it's AZERTY friendly.

Supermomo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Great game ! One of the best I've played so far. The sounds are really nice.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I really enjoyed the musical effects in this game, and the particle effects were well-done too. That said, it got frustrating trying to find the single point that was a win condition, and this was compounded on by the fact that you go back a level when you lose. The obstacles that affect your ability to scope out the exit were a neat twist.

amijlee says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very nice, I got to level 7.

bluefoxgs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Dear lord, I started the game thinking "Right, time to rate some games, let's do this" when i first saw the mechanic in action I was blown away! You could do a lot with this game if you had more time!

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Great sound design. I don't know if I'm imagining it but it seemed to be mixing between two different moods of the same theme depending on how red or blue I was.

Locating the goal was difficult because those last few shades of blue are very hard to discern. I have no idea how you'd improve the mechanic without diminishing your treatment of the theme, though.

Thanks for this.

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:25pm

The concept is interesting, even if it does seemingly rely on trial and error. The way colouring was implemented made solving levels a little more confusing than necessary, but I suppose that might have been intentional given the context. The music is quite nice despite its repetitiveness.

yokcos700 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:08pm

I am impressed by the music mixing and the particle effects surrounding the... black holes, I shall call them. Although I only managed to progress a few levels before becoming frustrated and leaving, this is certainly an interesting and great game. The only problem arises when an R-B colourblind person plays it.

hypp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Quite nice! I like the mood

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:11pm

One of the most innovatives ideas i've seen today!

There are a few tweaks you could do.

It really annoys the player if every time he lose, he restarted the whole game. I'd suggest you to make it so that the player restarts only the level where he lost the game. :)

Asides from that, i really enjoyed your entry! And i'd play it if you ever intend to keep working on this :)

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:49am

A little repetitive, but definitely one of the most original games around here! The writing and sound are really good, too!

Andy Go says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice idea :)

ilo says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:26am

Very cool (and coherent) aesthetic and mood to this elegant game. I felt like my progress was more down to luck (i.e. when the goal was far from the dark thoughts). It could use a little more feedback on getting close to the goal, as well as communicating that the edges of the map are dangerous. But I think the gameplay nicely mirrors the psychological themes, inducing panic and confusion, so well done!

namuol says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:27am

A little repetitive, but you nailed the feeling of using your "senses" to navigate, and your presentation is above par for a LD game.

Big points for audio; particularly for integrating it into the actually gameplay mechanics.

Saturnyn says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice graphics and music, well done !

May 17, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Loved it!
The only thing I can think of that hasn't already been said, is that because of the sound mixing (lovely, by the way), I found myself working with echolocation.
When I noticed I was doing this, I felt really badass.
I must thank you for this feeling.

May 28, 2013 @ 3:57pm

The particle effects were fun.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]