April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Theme Satisfactor

by Pyrofoux - 48 Hour Compo Entry

When the theme " minimalism " has been revealed, a lot of game developpers (including me) were disappointed.
This game is for them (and me). To show that it's impossible to satisfy everyone.

Game made in HTML5 using sfxr.

HELP

Your goal is to reach exactly the optimum level of satisfaction for a given theme. For that, you can reverse letters by clicking them.
Green letters give 1 point.
Red letters give -1 point.
Blue letters copy the previous point.
Purple letters reverse the previous point.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#21Humor3.88
#537Innovation3.14
#646Theme3.45
#721Overall3.00
#743Mood2.70
#881Audio2.13
#973Fun2.52
#1189Graphics2.15

Comments

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:27pm

This is a nice game. I like it

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Potato for ever !!!
0_o
I like the realistic version ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Potato forever indeed!

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

The Ludum Dare setting is funny
And the mathematical puzzles are clever
But the two of them don't mix that well. It feels like you tried to glue two ideas together. It doesn't make the game bad of course, but...yeah, something doesn't work.
Maybe you should have chosen one idea or the other, and exploited it more. anyway, congratulations!

Pyrofoux says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09am

I understand. :)
(It's very hard to satisfate everyone. :O )

Lythom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

Frustrating end.... well played :p
a game really in the theme next time ? ;)

Pyrofoux says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:31am

Yes, I hope that next time I would make a game with the theme and not about theme. :D

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:05am

This. Was. Hilarious. Funny old game, but the puzzles didn't quite gel for me. But hell if I didn't laugh, Great job.

May 6, 2013 @ 11:23pm

When I first saw the set-up, I was expecting a joke game (if a funny one), but once the actual game started, it was surprisingly tricky and engrossing. Good job.

lanz says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Nice game. Absolutely loved comments!

Sebastian says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Funny idea.
Just want to let you know that the game seems to break if I click on the suggest button multiple times. Either the score keeps changing and next word never loads, or next word loads, but comments go on forever and I can't press suggest theme button at all..

Pyrofoux says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Hem... It doesn't do that with me. For the time being, abstain from button-mashing ! ;)

(It reminds me some button-based game I made. You can check them at http://pyrsad.olympe.in )

littleball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Very minimal, well done!

davidwparker says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Funny :)

kyru says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:45pm

weird game

May 15, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Nice puzzle, but why suggest themes like MGU or RDMSAMDASKDAM CASDSD or stuff like that?!? Sounds funny ! :)

Pyrofoux says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:14pm

@kyru I don't know if I'm a small developer doing weird games or vice versa. :D

@Martin_Monosys(them)
Em... Good question.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]