April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tzatzauberer

by keksdev - Jam Entry

Explore the hexagonix random world of Tzatzauberer!

Can you find a way to the boss? Win battles to improve your skills. Finding the right enemy is the clou. Avoid traps and abysses. More than 45 types of monsters are waiting for you. Save gold and buy items at your base and get strong enough to defeat them all.

Controls: Mouse - First click selects a monster, second click attacks.
Zoom: Mousewheel

For playing the .jar Version, wich is executable in windows/linux/mac please notice: java runtime environment is needed!

Have fun!
Many greetings

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#75Graphics(Jam)4.02
#154Fun(Jam)3.22
#170Overall(Jam)3.38
#255Mood(Jam)3.02
#265Humor(Jam)2.16
#304Innovation(Jam)2.86
#437Theme(Jam)2.74
#466Audio(Jam)1.21

Comments

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Can't realize the objectic but the idea and the graphics are beyond exeptional!

jwolf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Decent game. I found the exploration aspects of it interesting, although rather uneven. Very large areas of the low-tier enemies were cut off except by a very circuitous route that I discovered later, combined with the random improvements made the progression rather frustrating. I went from Defence 1 to 15 after a very long wait. Also, the items at the store always seemed to be out of reach, increasing faster than I could acquire gold.

That aside, it is an interesting concept, and I think you could do a lot with this. Could use more things to search for, other than just enemies (interesting locations, scenery, etc), although that might take a lot more time to develop than is possible in a competition like this one.

SirJson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26am

Nice game

Canyon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

I liked the art style. I'm suprised you used lwjgl for this sort of game, it seems like overkill. Performance on my lapptop was very slow.

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

Graphics are awesome but it's a little laggy on Web... ( The Mac version doesn't work :( )

mostley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

I love the name and the graphics!Some sound would be nice though...

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

It was enjoyable, but it was a bit slow. Also, audio would be great. Very nice graphics, though!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

Very very good game, the pc version is indeed far better than web. The buying side doesn't worked for me because prices were always too much high !

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Really like the graphics and the exploration aspect ! Excellent job :) With sound and music it would be immersive.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

WOW - how can you do stuff like this in only 3 days. i´m totally amazed by this!

keksdev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Thanks for your comments and hints!

As you may recognized, three days were not enough to finish the work on this game completely. We'll go on if there is some space in the next weeks. Thanks to your help the todo-list for a second version is getting longer an longer: music, sound, non-stat-items, dungeons, changed shop, adroid compatibility and some other new content.
We'll let you know, if there is a new version.

For now we improved the performance of the contest-HTML5-version. Playing in your browser should now be possible! ;)

foul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Hi, that's an awesome game! I'm currently tier 5 and there is still alot to loot.. i don't like only the walk-to-void-minus-2hp thing. also at the lowest tiles the main character disapears.

Lafolie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Neat little concept, it'd be great to have a chilled-out game like this to chip away at. On my first try the map generated spikes blocking the path, so the level was impossible to complete.

The Mac version worked fine for me (actually one of the few jar files I've tried that did!)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Little more work on the combat needed but fantastic graphics, good stuff.

aaronmueller says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Like this game! A Slime Bitch just killed me :)

negativeview says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:03pm

The progression idea was very interesting. You pick up attributes from your enemies, yes? I found it rather easy until I was slain. The balance is very uneven, and I may have gotten lucky by getting size 5 fairly quickly. It was hard to tell before going into battle if I was going to breeze through or be slaughtered.

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:27am

Fun game, but got a bit stale after a while. I couldn't find the boss :(

Beautiful graphics.

Husky says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:53pm

I like the graphics!
It's pretty awesome!

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:16pm

I played it for like 40 min and this game managed to keep me entertained. Very well crafted and balanced, after you figure out the mechanics it is very very cool. Sadly the zoom was not working here what made my life much harder, I guess.

Amazing job!

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Very well polished game, nice graphics and very funny. I couldn't stop laughing when I was attacking an angry sheep :).

Dir3kt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:41am

Yeah, killing sheep! That's fun :)

TijmenTio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I got stuck, supposedly because the room generates randomly? Besides that I had a lot of fun with it :) I really liked the hexagonal style!

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Great game. I like the graphics and the different kind of monsters. I think it needs some sound effects and maybe music. Works great in the browser, only zooming doesn't seem to work.

TammiLion says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Nice game with a nice art style. Was very slow in browser alas. Google Chrome. Not sure what was the problem...

sparkleswirl says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:09am

Really liked it! The only problem is that it was impossible for me to get past a Tier 3 gatekeeper legion because I already did everything but I still wasn't strong enough for it and had no gold left. I think a way to grind or a better level generation algorithm would make this game even better.

namuol says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice pixels. Runs smoothly in Chromium for Linux.

One tip would be to include some kind of pathfinding; the bee-line-to-mouse-click-position doesn't really make sense when you can fall off a ledge. I guess this could be seen as a gameplay feature, but it's more tedious than it is fun.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Nice, but I had bad luck with the random world, got stuck very quickly with nowhere to go =/

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:43am

Interesting idea. Really love the graphics, but here are things I would change for a post-compo version:
- Let the player buy upgrades wherever he is, because the backtracking to the base takes often too long.
- What's the reason for the traps and abyss? The only reason that you run into them is because you made a wrong click.
- The interface could be as good as the graphics of the world and characters are :D (and bigger font size!)
- Abyss and unexplored area should be distinguishable.

Keep up working!

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:26pm

Puh,great looking game! Didn't game that far though since I had problems buying stuff.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:41am

overall very good -- nice job

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Remind me of desktop dungeon.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]