April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mr. Triangle

by Erifdex - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Minimalism? Ok, so I won't have to spend too long on this one..."

Yeah, about that. :)

Anyway, Mr. Triangle is a game all about a triangle wandering around the edge of a circle. Inside the circle, are the bad guys! (squares) Click the mouse to send Mr. Triangle's pointy spear of a head towards those pesky quadrilaterals.

Made using Haxe and NME.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#100Innovation3.82
#115Theme4.07
#127Graphics3.84
#231Overall3.52
#285Audio3.15
#309Mood3.19
#458Fun3.09
#768Humor1.95
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Ty Taylor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12am

While the concept was good, and the individual levels were fun and challenging, the lives system make it impossible to have fun with the game because you died so often, which was very frustrating. With infinite lives this would be a very enjoyable experience.

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27am

Nice concept!

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This game is stylistically interesting, but I find it to be incredibly difficult.

Spanfile says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

The life system really ruined the play. It took me time to manage hitting the squares and when i got to that point, the game was already at the beginning.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I have to agree with Ty Taylor. The game is fun and doesn't really need a death system. I can imagine myself spending hours on my mobile phone with this.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I like the concept, but the life system is not good. I got through level 2 once, then died on level 3, then couldn't get through 2 again. Still, very neat idea and solid visuals!

Also, music. Repetitive. Becomes irritating, especially when frustrated by dying again.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

This was really cool.

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I really love the graphics and the animations on the win state. Very clean and smooth. Fun and challenging!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

It is a nice concept and nails the minimalism theme. It has good potential, but it is too hard.

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Cool idea, more lives and quicker retry time would make this very addictive I'm sure.

Webravenz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

very nice idea ! very relaxing and frustating in the same time xD

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Very nice! I like the feel of it and the camera-work, but it gets a bit frustrating when you have to start over from the beginning when you already learned how to beat the earlier levels.

exoticorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

The presentation is really smooth and polished. The game is just a little too hard for me. (And starting in the first level again is too frustrating.)

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

This was a really cool idea and I love the visuals. You picked nice colors and used simple shapes in a very pleasing way.

I agree with Ty Taylor however in that the lives system really hurts the game. It's very annoying to be set back. I'd rather have a shorter game with unlimited lives than have to play through the first few levels a bunch of times.

Other than that though, fantastic game. I really like it.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Oh man, that's tough. I love it! Agree lives should get yanked.
Would be really cool to have this on the phone, with accelerometer.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice idea!

A bit unforgiving though. The forced 3-sec-wait until yu can restart is painful.

3.14 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Nice concept and i like gfx and sound. But the game is too much unforgiving and restart after failure takes too long. It takes the pleasure out of failing :).

Kimau says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Brilliant concept, really fun but I don't see what lives add to the experience other than frustration. Really was the only negative and a rather big one.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Great work, the motion is fluid and rewarding, but the game is HARD AS HELL. Oh well, I will keep trying.

martijn says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Game overs are a little bit harsh

Split82 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Nice idea, but I see two problems. Hard as hell ;) and the delay after failing level when I can't do anything. If I can restart level faster it would be much much better.

Erifdex says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Thanks all for the great feedback :)
A few of you may be happy to know that I have begun work on a post-compo version that builds upon some of the criticism given. Some of the new features will include:

- The ability to skip the frequent three second delays
- A rethink of the "lives" system - I'm replacing it with a "restarts" system - You have unlimited attempts, but you are scored by how many level restarts you needed to complete all of the levels
- New music (I agree with you, nintendoeats, a 10s tune infinitely looping does get quite annoying :P )
- A rethink of some of the levels - some levels are either too hard or too easy, and I'll try to balance this
- A couple more levels (probably) - by making the game impossible to lose, a few more levels may be necessary, to keep the game from being way too easy.

Thanks again!

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Cool concept. Way too punishing on failure, since it can take quite some time to get a level right. Good music.

cwilloughby says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:47am

The style and art are great. The audio is cool. Transitions are awesome. I found it to be pretty much a crap shoot at most times. Here because of the 10s video. keep it up!

Ditto says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Veeery visually pleasing! I would say it gets frustrating because of the long wait when you fail a level, but other then that a wonderful game!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Good game!
Simple and perfect game mechanics. But I think that "level restart" is tooooooo sloooooow.

brxtr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Nice idea and visual style. However, having a lives system in this game doesn't really make any sense to me. The music sounds good, but is very repetitive.

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Really like the style. The post-compo version covers the only criticisms I had. Nice work.

zkenshin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:53am

Lost when I kept spawning on top of enemies. :P Otherwise nice job. :)

Colapsydo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:42am

Nice aesthetic.
In order not to be redundant, I will just say that I'm looking forward the post compo which will solve the small existing issues already mentioned.

May 9, 2013 @ 10:27pm

The artstyle reminded me of looking through a microscope, with the little arrow that is used to point at a part of a specimen. So It was like I was fighting rouge bacteria. I didn't like the whole game restarting if I failed too many times. Perhaps a level screen would be nice, so you can go back to where you left off. Or do a level screen, and group multiple stages into a level to still have that penalty for losing. Overall very fun!

Jonapulse says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Simple, pretty, fun, intuitive, other positive adjectives. I didn't like the game-over though--I ended up not re-going because I didn't want to re-tread levels I'd done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]