April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

There're Easier Ways

by matheod - Jam Entry

/!\ READ THIS TO UNDERSTAND HOW THIS GAME WORK /!\

=> If don't work, you need this : <=
Windows : http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=2091
Mac : http://download.mono-project.com/archive/2.10.11/macos-10-x86//MonoFramework-MRE-2.10.11.macos10.xamarin.x86.dmg

"Sometimes rules are made to be broken.

Yes, break rules !

Just consider the game under
his minimalst form to win !

BREAK RULES !!!"

TEW is a successions of mini game you can't beat by following the normal rule. You must think about the mini-game under is fondamental state, just consider it under is minimalist form : What must I do to win ? Okay so let's do this by broking superfluous rules. Return to a minimalist thinking and find the path to the victory !

M key = ; key on english keyboard

There are only three level ;)

Cheat : push U to unlock next level (on selection level screen)

Game created with CraftStudio : craftstud.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Humor(Jam)3.11
#128Innovation(Jam)3.42
#226Fun(Jam)3.04
#264Theme(Jam)3.28
#278Overall(Jam)3.12
#294Mood(Jam)2.85
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#326Audio(Jam)2.71
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Can't run, won't start

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Interesting little racing game! I found going past the line then backing up and going forward again aloud me to win automatically. good sound though :3

matheod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:11am

TheColorMan : Read the description of the game ;)

[In fact you can beat the bot, but I didn't increase it speed because it render bad]

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

Really a good idea !

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I couldn't get the game to start on a Macbook Pro running Mac OS 10.6.8.

matheod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Legina : I have no idea how it work for mac, but have you got this : Mac : http://download.mono-project.com/archive/2.10.11/macos-10-x86//MonoFramework-MRE-2.10.11.macos10.xamarin.x86.dmg
?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Never thought of that !

pl0xz0rz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36pm

I found a bug - pressing M to enter menu doesn't work, you have to press ;

GameRespect says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Not a bad idea for a game. I enjoyed it overall, and with alittle work on more puzzles and more work to polish the game as a whole, I think it would really be a doozy :) Good job!

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

what's the game with the toothpicks

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43pm

What's the game with the toothpicks?

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Very nice! I had problems because my 'M' key did nothing in the Windows version, but I love the execution of this idea!

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

An excellent puzzle game that hits the theme and fulfills its premise perfectly. Bravo! I have two minor complaints, though: the visualization for solving level 2 doesn't make sense to me and I had to hit ";" rather than "m" to go to the next level.

(By the way, I was able to play this on OS X without any trouble)

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I see what you did there! ;)

RayZ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

Easy? Darn pretty hard :D

kernel panic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I found the game pretty easy, but the last one had a wierd solution. Still, it was a fun short game.

You might be interested to know that your Linux version is just another Windows version (so it didn't work). Also, what they say about M and ; is true.

matheod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Yes sorry about the M key, CraftStudio bind key to position on keyboard, which is pretty cool for WASD key but bad for other :p

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Controls were a bit sloppy - why does the car game use keyboard but the other two use mouse? The mouse didn't work half the time on the matchstick game. Concept is sound though, just needs some work.

psc1997 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Woow! Game is beautiful! :)
Great idea! :)
But... I have little problem... My car have problem...
http://scr.hu/0co4/37xpp
haha :D

OU GDA says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:28pm

Didn't quite understand the tic-tac-toe game? I'm you win because you have 2 diagonal x's? May have been good to highlight the part of the board that was used after you win.
The third game was also a bit ambiguous on what you were supposed to do. If I hadn't just run into the game talking to a friend a few days ago I would have been lost.
Didn't have any issues with controls, but found the solutions rather quickly. The music did pretty well at aiding to the overall mood, though.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]