April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

What the fish !!

by RevoluGame - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in one day. The goal is to prevent the boats from catching 5 fish... by throwing potatoes at them without harming the fish.

With the mouse, press the left button and release it to throw a potato. The longer you press, the strongest the shot is. There is a time lapse between each potato shot.

This game was made with Haxe and GIMP for the design.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#399Humor2.49
#1072Audio1.35
#1095Graphics2.30
#1129Innovation2.23
#1220Mood1.89
#1223Theme2.67
#1238Fun2.00
#1274Overall2.27

Comments

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Good gameplay. Works as expected.

I like the simplistig pixel style but a nicer font would have been a great upgrade. Also a bit of a pity the potato-thrower is a pink square.
Badly needs sound...

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08am

Sorry, I don't get it.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Hitboxes were a little off and I kept wishing that the potatoes would fire in an arc but i really liked the dynamics created by having to avoid the fish when firing.

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

Good respect of the theme.
Need perhaps some polish ... potatoes launcher is just a pink square, the boat leave the game screen sometime.
Graphics are ok

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:13pm

It was an interesting game concept but I don't think the execution worked so well. You really needed to add some gravity in to so the potatoes would fire as expected. Rather than a straight line.

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I would have loved to have been able to move underneath. Shooting from the bottom-right seemed really awkward. It was impossible NOT to hit fish until the boats got really close.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I don't think I could hit the boat. Cool idea though!

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

why killing the fishes that the boat caught lowers my score?
i'm not ending their lives, i'm just setting them free!

tiffi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53am

+1 for fishing

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:56am

Nice idea. Gfx are really nice. Struggled with the controls. Would have been cool to be able to control the fishing rod.

Ofursnati says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:32am

Nicely done.

alts says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:20pm

The combination of being stuck in the lower left corner, and the too generous hitboxes meant that I was annihilating quite a few fish before they'd had to chance to fully swim on screen. It also feels like the incentives to not kill fish aren't strong enough. I managed to get pretty far without "losing" a fish to a fisher by massively depopulating the ocean and then destroying the boat. So long as I killed less than 15 fish before the fisherman, I'd come out positive. Excellent work for one day, though.

MrBlade says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Great Game! Love the graphics, feel, and humor. I love how you throw potatoes at boats. Hahaha, keep it up!

May 6, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Would be better if the player weren't placed in a corner. It's really hard to avoid hitting the fish this way. Cute graphics, could do with some sound.

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Good job! This is a nice little game. I actually really like the art style.

However, as others have said, it would be nice if the potato launcher was more than a pink square, Hitboxes were definitely a little finicky, and some sound would have been nice too.

bvanschooten says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Graphics are nice enough, only the game could use some work. In particular the shooting mechanic is awkward. I keep shooting the fish that pop up on the left. Why not move the shooter a little more towards the middle? Also, what's the point of having a shot strength when the highest strength is always the best?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]