April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Wars

by cowieaaron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mini[malism] Wars is a minimal version of a standard RTS such as Age of Empires.

A top down view is replaced by a side-scrolling battlefield.

Note: This game is not finished.
The game was meant to play like an RTS but due to some game breaking bugs my development was delayed.

Therefore:
The game is now an ambient medieval/fantasy war simulation. You have some limited interaction with the game, but nothing fancy.


BTW: click and drag to scroll!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Graphics3.88
#505Audio2.78
#606Mood2.82
#1169Overall2.50
#1200Innovation2.12
#1206Theme2.69
#1309Fun1.73
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

liked the graphics. would love to have seen this finished.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

What a nice start, its just a shame that the development couldn't have progressed a little farther. Still, there are lots of nice things in this to explore and see.

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54am

I really liked this. The art, music and "action" just work well together.. I found myself really wanting to figure it out... then I read the comments... :( Then i sat and watched it for a while.. wow... like 10 minutes now. Something very minimalist.. (and relaxing) about it.

dertom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:57am

Nice one, I actually did like it and it fits very good the theme, no matter if it is finished or not. Good job

mollymus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02pm

I like the idea, but it doesn't play very well yet unfortunatly:(

Jod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I couldn't find out how to interact with the game. Am I missing something obvious?

bushmango says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Pretty!

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Well, it's a shame it's not a game. But it's nice simulation and has great graphics.

toonheart says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice nice.. I like it.
AoE was my fav game :)

Done rating.

Please do check out my game
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=rate&uid=21211

hissssssssss says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:34pm

It's a shame this one didn't get a bit further along. I love sidescrolling RTS games.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:55pm

A good idea with nice graphics and animations. Would have liked to play the finished version, still, Well Done =]

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:54am

would have been fun if you could do anything other than scroll

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]