April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ReTri

by jmf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow keys to move left and right, spacebar to jump and "a" to fire when you get the gun.

Hope you enjoy playing it!

Native windows and OS X versions available, just unzip and double click on the exe and you should be good to go.

For linux, you will need to install love2d first (small download) : https://love2d.org/
Update (thanks to CAukamp) : For those running *buntu: versions in the repo are too old. 0.8 directly from love2d.org using the link above works.
Then you should be able to just double click on the .love file and play.

Update2: Thanks for all of the feedback everyone! Made a minor fix which should solve some of the jumping problems people are experiencing, especially on windows. If they still show up please let me know your OS and I'll try to fix it.

Twitter: @df3n5
Github url: https://github.com/df3n5/ludum_dare_26

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Mood3.50
#319Fun3.25
#339Theme3.76
#422Audio2.93
#479Overall3.24
#775Graphics2.74
#941Innovation2.59
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Yorwba says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Well done, though jumping stops working after the level with the triangles moving to the right.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Thanks Yorwba, that's unfortunate, that didn't happen for me. What OS are you on?

neight says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Thanks for actually compiling for Mac instead of just providing love file. Great Job!

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

neight: No problem, thanks!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

This was great. Fit the theme, and fun to play. Loved the story

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

This is really quite enjoyable- I'll play some more later.

CAukamp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Nice game. I liked the mood and the story telling.

A tip for people running *buntu: i had 2 versions of Löve in the repos, but they are to old. The 0.8 directly from love2d.org works.

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

CAukamp: Thanks for that, I'll put it in the description.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Nice story, and the mood of the game fits well.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Quite a good and solid game. The one thing to note is that the game doesn't prevent you from going offscreen in any direction, allowing you to circumvent quite a few levels.

Rastagong says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

Nice platformer, the great storytelling incited to go forward all the time.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:19pm

This is simple, yet wonderful! I love it. Full score. Just amazing.

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:34pm

The game is very interesting. I like the style of the game, it fits the theme very well. The only thing I don't like about this game, is that the bounding of the triangles are boxes and not triangles are. I jumped quite often in these invisible boxes.

GFM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:44pm

Nice game. This has a nice mood in it.

I really wanted to finish it... but it bugged so many times that I just gave up. :(
At some random (and different, each time) spot,jump would simply stop working.

I tried playing on a win7, 64bits.

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:37pm

This one is really turned on my imagination! Narrative is so great! I coundn't stop till the end. But I stuck right after bad dream.. I see green door, but don't see M..

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:39am

Very nice, I was able to bypass some platforming by falling from the edge and was also able to hang on the ceiling. Nice story though.

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice game, but I rage quited against the boss.. too bad those collisions were messy =/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]