April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Moondar

by leafo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Life seemed so normal driving around your moon buggy on planet Moondar, until
one day aliens invaded. You narrowly escaped their mothership but
your moon buggy was damaged and is now out of control.

Travel across Moondar on your runaway moon buggy, narrowly avoiding obstacles
while shooting aliens who try to attack you from above. Are you good enough to
make it across Moondar? (Hint: you aren't, the game lasts forever.)

Controls
--------------------------

* W A S D - Move
* Mouse - Aim and shoot
* Space - Jump

How to play
--------------------------

Your buggy can be in one of three rows at any given time. The on screen
indicator on the top right will tell which one you are in. As the buggy moves
obstacles will take up an entire row for a brief period of time. Move the buggy
out of the way to avoid collision. Hitting an obstacle will take 1/3 of your
health.

In order to control the buggy stand inside one of the control platforms on
either the left or right and then move your player either up or down against
the buggy.

Watch for the flashing lights in the indicator to see when obstacles are
approaching.

While you are driving, enemies will attack you from above. Shoot them to clear
them out while grabbing extra points.

About
--------------------------

Theme: minimalism

Powered by:

* https://love2d.org/
* https://moonscript.org/
* LoveKit - https://github.com/leafo/lovekit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#59Audio3.73
#94Graphics3.94
#109Fun3.61
#110Overall3.75
#170Innovation3.65
#190Mood3.39
#434Humor2.41
#1236Coolness49%
#1291Theme2.42

Comments

arkeus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:31am

Love the graphics! The gameplay felt a bit hectic (it was really hard to dodge the bullets), and I had a really hard time steering the moonwagon. But I love the fast paced action, and everything just looks so smooth. The glow effect makes everything look really nice!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Except the fact that it is really hard, it's really good looking and fun

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38pm

An interesting concept with really nice visuals. I like the mix of 2d and 3d, and the lack of textures make it look like something from an old arcade cabinet game. I enjoyed the music too, very fitting of the style and plot.

I unfortunately found the game itself incredibly difficult and was unable to survive for very long. I just tended to get swarmed by enemies.

Though a small gripe, I also found it a bit annoying that despite the controls being WASD + Mouse, I had to press Enter to restart / continue, it would have been nice if it was something closer to the WASD keys on the keyboard.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Oops, I accidentally uploaded my development build that was super. :( I re-uploaded with the correct levels. Apologies to anyone who already played.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

super difficult*

Markavian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Aww man, its so pretty with the funnky sound track and effects, but its damn hard.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Great graphics, great music, great presentation, difficult gameplay. I need to spend more time with this one...

Mesene says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

1483 my best run, so hard!
Very solid for a compo version.

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Really solid game, definitely like the split interaction mechanic. Nice work!

alts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07am

Fantastic music. Really like the dual steering/shooting responsibilities, and the limitation of only one at a time. Good work. Only had one issues: I got smashed right out the gate of level 3, which felt a bit unfair, since I really didn't have time to respond.

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

Ok no matter what I did I couldn't get the buggy to change paths. Also I think its asking a bit too much of the player to do both things at the same time. Maybe divide into parts where you only shoot the bad guys and then followed by parts where you have to steer the buggy. Either way great visuals and animation! :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54am

I got confused at first about the flashing red - thought it meant that's where the enemies would be, so I steered towards it so I could get them... Pretty cool idea though!

lasergans says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Love the graphics and the pseudo 3D style.

JMickle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Couldn't run it because my graphics card doesn't support pixel effects :(

Andrei Barsan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I managed to get to the third stage, only to insta-spawn in a wall and die (2776 points). :( Other than that, It's a *really* nice game! It feels polished and the gameplay is exciting, if a bit chaotic.

Honestly, the only tip I could think of is the omnipresent UPGRADEZ!1 It would be nice to upgrade you dude and the buggy (better steering, earlier wall warnings, etc.)

The only large issue I can think of is the fact that the gameplay is far from minimal, hehe.

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:32am

As others have said, great graphics and great presentation. This felt much more polished than most entries I've played so far. I think dodging bullets was a little too hard, I would have made them move a bit slower. I would have liked to see more of the game, but I kept dying :)

goerp says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:10pm

WASD: check, Mouse + WASD: check, WASD+ mouse + space: hmmm OK, WASD + mouse + space + move to platform when obstacle approaches and then can't shoot: AAAH!
Pretty hectic, but fun and because the enemies become predicatble after you played it, is is doable.

So I like it a lot.
Also a plus for the in-game music. Good build up!

HOLD ON! Where is the theme? Well I liked it anyway.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:32am

Got the same problem like JMickle. :(

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Amazing game! Could be a little easier on early stages, moon vehicle could move faster and I didn't understand why no shoot while steering. But are details, overall excellent job! Love music too.

headchant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:38pm

It's hard. Or maybe I'm just bad. But it's a good game. Nice song too!

JohnnySix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Cool style, love the mini-map and the steering haha. A tough challenge indeed!

JohnnySix says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:56pm

And the music is still stuck in my head! :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:05am

Such a clever mechanic! Super fun!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:34pm

A little hard, but fun :) Great game!

shawn42 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:10am

Nice mechanic and execution. Very fun to play. Good work.

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:58am

I'm not sure where to start. Everything was outstanding. Very replayable, the visual effects are superb, the song is catchy and builds up very nicely, and the gameplay is solid. My only gripe is that I was immediately killed when level 4 started, because I started on the top row and there was a wall that also started in the top row :D High score: 3379 (lvl4)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I've got to say, Leafo, you have a really good way of mixing Love 2D with 3D. Your games also have a really neat "Nintendo Hard" feel. No checkpoints. I feel that you had some idea in mind for what the platforms and rectangles in the way were meant to actually be, but you ran out of time to give them models. I'm interested in what they were supposed to look like.

I didn't get that far at the time of this comment, but I may try again later.

May 28, 2013 @ 3:58pm

I like astronauts <3

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]