April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Station

by naufr4g0 - Jam Entry

You're an alien stuck on Earth, because of a lack of fuel. Your task is to find the way to fill up your spaceship's tank to carry on with your journey.

Use arrow keys to move
Z,X,C to interact.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#25Humor(Jam)3.71
#55Audio(Jam)3.76
#111Mood(Jam)3.50
#140Graphics(Jam)3.71
#192Overall(Jam)3.33
#236Fun(Jam)3.00
#247Theme(Jam)3.33
#394Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

tiny game perfectly crafted. I love the graphics and it fits nice with the theme.

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:06am

Nice!

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

Nice graphics and music :D

Zhrack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Funny

Zhrack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Funny!

Capro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Nice little story.

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Nice Story! DAT polishing!!!! Congratz :)

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Cute graphics, music and story!

spriters2000 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Really cool! I liked the graphic and specially the quest for potatoes :)

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:31am

Very cute and nice music :D good work!

saggiosoft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

Fantastic little game!

dannycalleri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Loving your minimal pixel art and animations :D

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Love the animations!!

Super Hamster says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:12am

Good job! :D

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:08am

Cute game. I killed those pink guys - or they died while I greated them. I'm not sure. But I found no energy. No idea what I should do. Kill them all?

naufr4g0 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:14am

@intripoon: you guessed it! Your greeting is deadly for humans. you just have to continue to greet someone and then you will understand.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Got a little monotonous, but it was very well made!

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Cute. As far as killing humans can be cute :D I enjoyed it, especially the mood. Felt like I was a bit of a grind but it was ok.

psychomonster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Very nice little story. But what are that creatures that i had to kill? A little bit to much digging... But I enjoyed playing it!

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:39am

Liked the graphics and it fit with the theme. Had a hard time interacting with the pinks. Just killed them but no energy. Not sure what else to do???

SmilingCat says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:44am

Pretty cool retro graphics and sound. Poor pink creatures are going to die of starvation, at least the ones that weren't dissected.

Great job!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:28pm

@tankete: just continue to "interact" with somebody other of them! (a few) ;)

@SmilingCat: Fortunately potatoes grow fast! :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Fun! Potato Farming aliens!

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Nice work but more changeable game play would improve the game play. Grate humor and music!

fermcg says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Nice concept!

Pixelulsar says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Funny game and nice use of potatoes.

May 20, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Liked everything but way too many potatoes to dig? I must have dug 20 or so and it was only half the bar? Good base to build on for more gameplay I think.

Xanjos says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Pretty short but it was still an ok game. Liked the retro graphics and the audio a lot though.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:48am

Thanks for positive comments! :)

@GeorgeBroussard: Collect many potatoes could be a bit boring I know, but I'm planning to improve the gameplay by placing enemies that hunt for you. =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]