April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Spellbox

by superjoebob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Drag the columns to line up words and make combos! Watch out, because every time you activate a combo, lock-blocks become more likely. Click the check mark when you've spelled all that you can spell to submit your score.

By the way, please tell me if you're having weird slow down issues when hovering over letters. The frame rate isn't actually dropping, Unity just seems to have a quirk where it completely screws up and shits the bed on lerping my word hover color. I really can't imagine what could be causing it other than Unity being in a wedged state.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#243Innovation3.53
#382Overall3.34
#383Fun3.17
#826Humor1.87
#886Audio2.12
#1002Graphics2.45
#1013Theme3.03
#1103Mood2.25

Comments

Hemuuuli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12am

Good concept. But I found the best way to score was just randomly spamming around.

superjoebob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

You'll get exponentially more points with longer words in combos, and the more combos you activate the more likely locked blocks become. Spamming works for a while but you'll never get a proper high score that way!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

Love word games and this has a clever twist. I could easily see this as a commercial game on iOS. Cheers and thanks!

Zemmi says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:43am

I had lots of fun making funny expressions like: "Give voodoo a chance" and "Mythical fanny poots"

May 2, 2013 @ 6:12am

Pretty slick word game. Nice art and well presented. Would have liked basic sounds for events, even sfxr stuff :) Would potentially make a good iOS game.

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:16am

This would be fantastic on Android/iPhone. Needs a lot less difficult letters like V and less lock blocks though, to be a great GREAT game.

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:28am

This is a great, fun game. I don't think it has much to do with minimalism, but it's a really neat concept, and it looks clean and sharp. Very nice work; I like the subtle sliding sound.

cakemonitor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:39am

Word games aren't really my cup of tea, but for those who like them this is a very sold implementation and as far as I know a nice original idea, good work. (Not sure it has much to do with minimalism ;) )

kurrik says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:51am

I'm not sure I came up with a good approach to scoring higher point totals. Dictionary seemed a little permissive too. But I really liked the idea of the board locking up as you play - a mechanic to unfreeze the locks a little easier would be welcome. Nice work.

finefin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:10am

at first I was also just "spamming around" stupidly - but when more and more lines got blocked, my brain woke up.
nice little scrabble'esk game ;)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:55am

Cool concept! I had fun playing

kreddor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:26am

Interesting concept, but more often than not, I would just have words appear randomly when moving things around, and scoring that way instead of actually planning where to find words. It takes out some of the strategy I had hoped this game would have.

May 4, 2013 @ 6:09am

Simple and fun... Although I just randomly spam the letters. I like the idea of the game :D

Jorjon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I want this on Android. Good job!!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:30pm

When I started this game, I ask myself what is this shit... but actually, it's really a good game. I wait with impatience the french version :-). Good job.

PS :slamburger you're impressiv.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:56am

Nice twist on the classic word find game.

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:01am

Took me a while to realize I could slide rows/columns of letters, once I discovered that it was much better.

I immediately turned to my wife and called it an "Infinite Boggle where you can slide stuff around", and that got her very interested as well.

Great job!

Szedouu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Good Job! nice entry

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:28pm

It's like Polymer but with letters!






I hate it.

Sebastian says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Had some fun playing this, locked lines are so frustrating lol.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:08am

Fun game, managed to rack up about 45000 points on my second try.

juaxix says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:04pm

aha!, very interesting rules, I love to see words inside the soup, it helps me think hehe, take a look to the game Letterbox for iOS...add some animations and great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]