April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

Dock Zone

by Farfin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

13 levels of docks.

Enter the dock zone.

Downloads and Links




texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:12am

Weirdly abstract, but fun! Nice job!

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

such a beautiful little game!
the execution is pretty flawless, lots of polishing - very cute graphics, the pickup sounds are simply perfectly tuned


GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:34am

The pixel graphics are adorable! Cute game. A level counter would have been nice since I lost track around 10 or so, but I finished them all (assuming I'm not supposed to pick up the pyramid that appears there).

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32am

Really sweet. Thank you! :)

nerrabyte says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

You didn't provide source.

nerrabyte says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:42pm

You must work alone (solo).
All game code and content must be created within the 48 hours. **
Games must be based on the theme.
All publicly available libraries and middleware are allowed.
All content creation, and development tools are allowed. (3dsmax, Photoshop, Flash, etc)
Source code must be included.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:46pm

nice art!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Really nice! My only negative point is that the collision feels a bit off - I sometimes pick up pyramids from quite far away.

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

This is absolutely beautiful! I love the tiny little details you put into the game (the reflects on the water). Best graphics I've seen so far!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

the best graphics I've seen so far! game itself feels a bit sluggish and uninteresting.. but the graphics are very nice

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Great game! Random goals, but I like that!

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Quite fun! Nicely executed, I like the reflection in the water. Quite challanging.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Pretty fun. It becomes stressful on the higher levels, there was one I couldn't beat. I would change the "Web" link to say "Web (Flash)" though.

eShredder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

The graphics are absolutely terrific. Love it! Strong 5 on that.
The sounds of the pyramids was very pleasant. The lack of music made it feel like this takes place in a vast place out in nowhere, as if it is a challenge of the mind. No complaint. Strong 5 on that, as well.
The overall feeling was kept to the theme.
Very good job! :D

EggDestroyer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Impressing atmosphere with great audio, good gameplay and a surprisingly high level of polish. Congrats !

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am


xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice and simple. Picking up planks works not as smooth as it should be though.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Really enjoyed the game! The levels got hard and intriguing very fast. I love that the way the level works really makes you consider whether or not getting far-off pyramids were worth the effort of having to run all the way around, even if you just placed a plank to your boat down.

The sounds were effective and simple. Love your art (as usual) but I thought picking up the planks was a bit clumsy though. Overall, great work!

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Pretty nice execution :)

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Nice graphics, gameplay was ok.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:54am

Beautiful game, with excellent presentation. I found myself immersed in it very quickly.

May 1, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Love the a“bstract water” touch. Nice game and great graphics.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I liked graphics a lot, and the puzzles to place planks on each level were interesting. Nice job! =)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:51am

Looking good, but I can't go futher than 2-d level. I beat second level and it cycled again. I beat 2-s level five times and this f*cking level come again. Oh shit!

Farfin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:17pm

@SaintHeiser I'm not sure what you mean by 2-d and 2-s levels but I haven't encountered any level repeating myself. Perhaps you are pressing the "r" key which does send you back to the last level you did.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:35pm

That's a strange game! Fun to play.. not too harsh on mistakes (restart level not game). Good job

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Good job. I love the graphics!

Rongon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Loving simple mechanic of the game, really strange buzz while playing this game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:48pm

An excellent and original game! Very simple graphics with great effects and animations! Overall tone of the game is impressive.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Had some trouble picking up the planks, unique gameplay!

SonnyBone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Awesome innovation! Great abstract game with awesome art and very fitting sfx. Good job!

zkenshin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Fun little game. :)

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Love the graphics. The gameplay was straightforward and fun. Good job! :D

Yakka says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Invisible water is a great idea :)

BrothersT says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Really fun, simple, puzzling game. The limitations of how far you can reach and where the planks can get you could be more obvious, but once you work it out it's clear that it's really well thought out :)

Tozy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I really enjoyed it! Congratulations on such a polished game!
I like all the aspects... maybe you could add some music but is not like it's lacking it :P

Zccc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:23pm

It's amazing, really cute game :)

derdragon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:45pm

The quiet and abstract-ness of this was a bit unsettling... but I guess that's why I rated it higher ;)

oatsbarley says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Nice job! The sound effects are lovely.

TammiLion says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Good take on the theme. There were times my heart skipped a beat when doubting wether I would make it on time ;)

Tifu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:45pm

I'm glad this game doesn't have lives, because the drowning animation was really fun :P
The game looped to level one when it was done, I assume it was finished anyway, but looking at comments I'm not sure this was supposed to happen. Fun game, some decent challenge, interesting mechanics, love the character sprites.

euwaku says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:09am

Awesome little game :3
Wonder what happens if you get all the pyramids...

MathiO says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Very atmospheric with all the little touches. I like the fall animation!

May 7, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Really nice graphics!

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice puzzle game and well polished character animations. A little bug: you can reach pyramids on a big range and I think in some situations that wasn't your intention.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:44pm


mildmojo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice work. The first time I played, the second level kept repeating. I think there's a bug where if you press the space bar on the "level cleared" screen before the boat reaches the middle of the screen, it'll repeat the last level.

Excellent time pressure with the sinking platforms. One or two of the levels had me just about treading water to get to the boat in time. I liked the level that was all planks; that was a cool switchup. I liked that the game and its instruction sheet fit into my browser window, too.

I had a really hard time reliably picking up the planks. I'm not sure how it was implemented but it felt like you had to be moving, then press space, then collide with a small part of the plank. If you did any of those things out of order (already standing near the plank, space before moving, etc.), she didn't pick it up. In addition, if two planks' ends were close to each other, I couldn't pick either of them up. I had to make sure I left one plank out of the way of another I wanted to move.

The pyramid sound effect was a touch loud and jarring compared to the relaxing footsteps and seashore sounds.

bobiniki says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Good looking game sweet graphics and nice mood. Very simple mechanics(a good thing). The only thing that I didn't like was that it is not very intuitive to grab the planks only in the corner. In the first level that had planks I got confused. Also nice idea of timing the level with floor disappearance, but again it was quite confusing in the beginnig because I tought that when you step on a tile it disappears. Overall a decent game!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Moving the plank to cross the gap interested me. The cute characters and environment charmed me.

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Lovely character.

Christian S. says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:26am

Beautiful, unique setting, clean game design. Great job!

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Very very good & solid entry! I really enjoy playing it. I especially like the mood and the art.
Excellent job :)

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:30am

Great game and graphics!
Nice and ingenious level design. I had a good time. :)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Great game, i love the art! and the gameplay

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Your pixels are beautiful.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]