April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hero's Journey

by hamster_mk_4 - Jam Entry

Hero's Journey takes a minimalist approach to "The Hero of 1000 Faces." It touches most the major steps of the Hero's Journey without getting bogged down in mythology.

This game was made by the following people:
Crystal Smith
Jimmy Bennett
Wilson Saunders
Zach Smith

Full Disclosure: The Beat 'em Up engine code was written prior to Ludum Dare 26. Most of the work was on the sprites and level design.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#42Humor(Jam)3.49
#189Graphics(Jam)3.56
#208Fun(Jam)3.06
#268Mood(Jam)2.96
#295Overall(Jam)3.06
#390Theme(Jam)2.92
#394Innovation(Jam)2.56
#417Audio(Jam)2.00

Comments

Farjuan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

This was great, funny, good job!

Shigor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

Points for minimalising hero's journey :)
The gameplay is a bit lacking - all the fights can be win by just standing and spamming quick attack

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Very cool idea. It was a bit heavy on the fighting for me. I would have liked to just get through it and see all the hero's journey stuff.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

The graphics/presentation is really good. Thought the combat was a little slow/unresponsive. Got owned by hitstun. Loved the 'go right' hand, classic touch.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51am

Dang the double-bat is totally OP! Now I know if I ever have a ninja problem in my neighborhood just go see the friendly potato goddess for the ultimate boon. Great game :)

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Fun and wild looking! I like the look of the photo sprites on the had-drawn backgrounds.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27am

Haha this game made me laugh :D Fun idea with the graphics

basspenguin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30am

Nice. Cool art, nice quick story and the AI is great. Could just use a song looping in the BG.

mchaza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:32am

Like how you did the animation good job

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:30pm

epic ending! :p

Some proper old school mortal combat style graphics, you guys must have had a lot of fun making this. :D
Beat it in one go, so I wouldn't say it was difficult.
But I'd have to say the rats at the start were the most hilarious of all. :P

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

I didn't have enough time to properly play balance this game. We finished importing the last art asset 5 hours before submitting. So I decided to err the difficulty on the side of too easy. It is more important to me that the player be able to experience all the game content than feel properly challenged.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Oh and making this was a blast.

tiffi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:25am

cool game! the grafics are awesome. funny^^

stromchin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Loved it, one of the best games in this Ludum.

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:33am

Strangely awesome in so many ways.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:22am

Really liked the graphics style, and the ameplay was quite addictive as well, ui played for about 15 minutes!

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:35am

That was pretty fun, but it ended a bit abruptly didn't it? THE END. Was fun to play anyway. Nice job.

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:35am

Game of the year right here. Also, how was I a woman?

ecool377 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:10am

Like skyrim with guns -machinima

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I liked the subtle humour plus the graphics and animation was really awesome and well done.

joshimoo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:16pm

The mood and the Graphics style is amazing.
Would not have expected that the photos + backgrounds would work this well together.

Did you use a lot of filters for preparing the pictures?

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:07pm

The pictures were created with the GIMP's magic wand and eraser tools. We had a green tarp as a backdrop.

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:06am

Wow, funny and nice graphics! The controls are a bit stiff!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]