April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Context is Everything

by mattperrin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Context Is Everything is my thoughts on how "Minimalism" or abstracting away from actual context can be destructive towards personal freedoms. I was able to finish three games themed on this idea, with a central "Stage Select" hub world presenting a image that shows a context that could be applied to them once they are completed. You simply need to use WASD or the arrow keys to navigate the scenes and eliminate "enemies" when necessary.

I built everything in Unity and used Paint.Net for the graphics. I left sound out intentionally because I wanted the game experience to be abstracted into those final "Goal" images.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#523Mood2.92
#728Innovation2.91
#790Theme3.30
#1085Overall2.64
#1111Fun2.30
#1255Graphics2.03
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very creative, but I had a hard time controlling it.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:01am

Hey, really interesting! I like the idea of abstracting away context as a form of aggression/control. The scaling on the images is a bit weird and the controls are pretty floaty, but I guess that stuff isn't really the point here. Good job!

basspenguin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59am

Powerful.

Grouflon says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:21am

Not a bad game, pretty simple to figure out what's going (not obvious at first look with those crazy graphics). Pretty fun to play. Congrats!

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:40am

I thought this was meaningful, and interesting. I think some movement/AI bugs kept it from being really good. Interesting choice above omitting sound. I think it made the resulting "win" conditions more potent. Good job :)

May 2, 2013 @ 3:24am

Really cool concept and interesting interpretation of the theme!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:26am

The controls felt a bit off. I actually enjoyed the graphics... probably because you so often have to figure out what is a good floor, or what is a bad enemy. I hope you keep working on it!

frankbsad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:15am

It was pretty fun, the controls on the platforming stange were kinda wonky but I enjoyed trying to figure out the goal of each stage.

messiano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:48am

I liked it, controls didn't felt great but it was surprising, so it was rewarding to play it until the end. Space invaders was a nice twist!

ronsho says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:54am

Enjoyed the style and the fact that it started to go beyond the platformer theme by juxtaposing the photos. I think that could be expanded on a bit. Reminded me a little of http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=4263 ... just the word thing, obviously different content.

bentog says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Fun, but a little confusing and hard to controll. Graphics were weird-scaled, but I like the self-description idea.

braneof says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice, interesting, I like the idea of the same gameplay with a different context. I also like your "death" bullets.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]