April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalism Textual Adventure

by Skywilly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As the name says, this is a minimalist text adventure game. I have no skill on graphics, or programming, so ... I did with the simplicity of the text, the only thing that I know more or less directing. Perfect with this theme!

Instructions: click on the action you want. Follow the story. Enjoy!

Editor of the amateur and independent "Game Side Story" website, I devote 80% of my time at the Indies, those that never speaks, the events that stand out and are incredibly catchy (like this Ludum Dare). And last year I participated. Just for fun.

This year I really wanted to be serious. With a true idea, not only to experience this event from the inside. And believe it or not, I'm really attached to my creation. And I crowd with a curious foot a world of which I speak often... but i don't know how is to be the creator.

My little "Minimalism" is my baby. I love it. I hope you will like it too.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#126Theme4.05
#157Humor3.07
#824Innovation2.78
#889Mood2.55
#980Fun2.50
#987Overall2.75
#1116Graphics2.28

Comments

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Yes.... K code! :)

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:53am

Nice. I do like a good choose-your-own-adventure game!

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Interesting to see a localized game in LD, that's new for me. :) However, it would have been nicer if it would be a choice first to select language, and not see both languages all the time which was a bit distracting actually. Except if I'd want to use this for language learning, of course.

Rastagong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

A good textual game with very few words, great job! :)
As tonic said, it would be more practical to be able to choose a language though. It's a bit disturbing to read the same word twice. ;)

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Adventures in stream of consciousness! Lots of funny moments.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03pm

I think combining the two dialogues makes it even more minimalist. A menu would upset it, I think.

But yes, it's confusing! :) Sorry for that.

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Very minimalistic and interesting approach... but since actual gameplay seems very limited (most of the time there was just one possibility) you have points for idea only...

Going bilingual was another interesting thing, but I think it's effect is mostly negative

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Would love to try it, but how can I start it?

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39am

Click on "Web" & "Play Online"
Don't Download the game, is the Source.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41am

That's psychodelic one :)

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Nice game, fits with the theme and good presentation. :)

PS : Et puis en francais ca fait plaisir !

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:46am

Skywilly, great name! Funny game, it works in English really well, with the clever focus on short utterances. Made a nice rhythm to the work. many things I really liked here, good stuff.

rxi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Perhaps the most fast paced text adventure I've ever played.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Awesome idea! Reminds me of an experiment I saw about image association.

nddrylliog says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Hugo boss :) + I am error - très sympathique! Beaucoup d'humour, un vrai plaisir à jouer. Et fascinant malgré le média minimal.

Polar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Quite interesting, and I liked the story, but I didn't really see many options - as far as I could see, most of the time there was only 1 option, although this could have been me not scrolling down enough.

FredericRP says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:26am

Quite an adventure, am I asleep or not ?
Well done with very few words !

mkpictures says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice game :) Good idea to localize it too!! Simple graphics, but I spend a good time on it

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:19am

Woo, text adventure game!
For the good old time lol.
I like it, good job! :p

May 2, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Fun game !
Great job

(simpa de voir un jeu en français )

Lythom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Hi there, here's some feedback.
What I loved :
- theme approach
- dynamism (compared to traditionnal text-based games)
- humour
What imo could be improved :
- Have a separated french and english version, it's really confusing.
- find deeper designs to push the idea further (I have no idea right now but I'm pretty sure there are minimalistic things to be found)

Good overall, thanks for the game !

Skywilly says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Thank you all ! It's very motivating !

The Consul says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:18am

Great take on the theme!

Quite frankly it get's a bit annoying with the dual languages though (but it is a good thing that you localized it... perhaps a language option in the beginning would be better?)

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:55pm

You took a text adventure, already considered minimal by some, and minimalized it further! Bravo! Though it would have been slightly more minimal if it wasn't bilingual on every page (but I can imagine maintaining two localized versions might be harder than one)

Tozy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:14pm

at first it's confusing, then it's funny :P

DaveDobson says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:54am

Really interesting story constructed from one or two-word pieces. I love the concept. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]