April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cage's Ghost

by headchant - 48 Hour Compo Entry

For any instrument or combination of instruments.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#65Audio3.70
#163Mood3.46
#197Graphics3.68
#281Fun3.30
#352Overall3.38
#494Innovation3.19
#580Humor2.19
#1178Theme2.74

Comments

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

I like the graphics and the audio but the jumping/movement was a bit spastic for me. Is there some way for me to control where the ghost is dropping the brick bombs?

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:45am

brilliant idea, reminded my of super puzzle platformer deluxe

well done - I especially liked the audio

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29am

Good job.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Nice climbing game. First time I played I got a weird bug : I jumped against the right wall and the character started going up like a rocket indefinitely (with the score going up very fast as well).

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

I like this, kinda like Starseed Pilgrim mixed with Cave Story. Good job man!

dissonance says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Great graphics and audio. The controls can be a little stiff/nonresponive. Also, would have liked to be able to shoot up, I got stuck waaaaay too many times. Good job!

mostley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

nice idea, I like the graphic style

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

Awesome graphics, awesome sound, awesome concept. Really fun game. Great job. I can't get past ~40 height though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:45am

Great idea however the movement was a tad weird at times.

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53am

Good game mechanics and concept.

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

You have some really interesting gameplay here. It's almost arcade-like, but it feels way more meaningful. Great atmosphere and audio too. Though like spilth said, the movement's kind of spastic. Otherwise this would be incredible

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

Fantastic production work, but I'm terrible at the game -- I keep dying in the lava for reasons that are apparently out of my control; the ghost doesn't always drop bricks in ways that provide a way up.

With some tweaking in the gameplay you've got a really great entry.

That *music*!

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24am

It's very difficult but pretty fun ^^
Special mention for the music I love it.

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

That cat sound was so haunting.
And the music has a great tone of desperation and urgency.
Great game, very well put together.
Definitely one of the games worthy of a mood rating.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Lovely graphics and sound. A really clever concept, although it resulted in a really tough learning curve.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Neat game, i like the cat ghosts and the music

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

The game felt a bit too slow and random at the beginning, but the graphics and audio were great.

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Sweet graphics and cool idea. The controls were really hard to get down though, the player moves too fast immediately.

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:05am

Definitely took me a few goes to understand any of what was happening. I'm still not clear on how to anticipate brick growth patterns (unless they're totally random?) or ghost drops. And it seems like ghost drops both spawn bricks and change my firing patterns? There are an awful lot of elements to take in at once!

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20am

Not bad. Interesting game mechanics. I enjoyed with it a lot ^_^

May 3, 2013 @ 5:29pm

cute ghost!

Tanius says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Nice, quite more horror than minimal, but i like it anyway ;)
Nice music and sounds too

May 5, 2013 @ 1:13am

Cute ghosts!

Ryusui says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:46am

Brilliant little game - I just wish the movement wasn't so slippery.

BrothersT says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:05am

Yeah nice. It's a little unclear what things do. I'm still not sure which one switched me from shooting horizontal to vertical, which give you a weapon upgrade and what the vials that the ghost drops even do. But quite fun, if a little unfair sometimes when you get trapped :)

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I quite enjoying the mood you created with the game from the audio and graphics. I wish the introduction of the ghosts was a little bit later. I didn't know to press [Space] to shoot before I died two times from Ghosts. I also did not know when I could shoot upward and when I could shoot left to right. It felt like it was random. Enjoyed the game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Multilayer game-play. I love it!

Milo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Fun. I liked the idea of having power-ups inside blocks that could be shot. I feel like there are some issues with the generation of blocks making it difficult or impossible, but other than that, I enjoyed the game a lot.

tankete says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:35am

Loved the graphics, but struggled a bit with the controls. Would have loved to slowly be ramped up into the right difficulty. Died too early.

Fnkee says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

This game is magic. I've never been this addicted to a game in a while. Lovely music and extremely neat graphics as well! My high score is 779, but it's probably due to a bug. I picked up one of those jump-powerups, and suddenly the game went into slow motion. After that I had infinite superjump! Nevertheless, a beautiful game. 5 stars from me.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:03pm

I really like the graphics, the sound effects and background music - they create a nice atmosphere. Nonetheless the game is so damn hard :D

John Cage would be proud of you anyway.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

liked the graphics and sound but the control was too hard to figure out -- nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]