April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

1951

by Andrei Barsan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

1951 is a simple arcade/puzzle game. Your job is to stabilize the inside of the experimental nuclear reactor.

The gameplay is pretty simple, and I've aimed for a minimalist graphical style.

You do this by merging the particles floating around until their number drops to the target amount. The trick is to only merge particles with similar energy levels.

Merging particles with different energy levels yields instability. If the overall instability level climbs to high, the reactor blows up and you have to restart the level.

You can also double-click around to create pulses to nudge the particles, so that the ones you want to merge get closer to each other, within merging distance.

There are also particles which you can use to modify the main particles without destabilizing the system, which can lead to some puzzling situations.

There's also another type of interesting particle which you might or might not discover as you play through the game. But that is surprise for you, i not tell.

OK I lie. Iz potato.

The game is written in Java, using libgdx and a bit of my personal boilerplate code as a base. The IDE used is Eclipse, and I've mostly used Photoshop for the graphics. The source code is openly available on GitHub!

An Android version will be coming soon, as soon as a timelapse video of the game being created!

Feedback is, of course, always appreciated. ^_^
Best of luck to everyone taking part in Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#75Innovation3.88
#114Overall3.74
#190Fun3.45
#408Graphics3.25
#571Theme3.52
#713Mood2.73
#819Humor1.88

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

nice game. i think i didn't fully get it, but sill fun to play

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18am

Sounds and music would be nice, gameplay is good.

doobdargent says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24am

Would love to see some sounds & combos.

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Interresting game great job :D

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:29am

Pretty good :)

After the introduction of the + particles I didn't realise the - particles couldn't be merged with them so I spent quite a frustrating while trying to do so.

The click+drag mechanic was quite tricky and the movement of the particles didn't seem to add anything of value to the puzzle of merging the correct ones. It only seemed to be a source of frustration.

Graphics were good, level of polish was high, just needs sounds and this would be complete.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Cool game. Reached level 6 and then BOOM :) Fun time.

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Unique gameplay. The double-click mechanic is interesting but should be less subtle because it's very difficult to control at the moment.

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I found that sometimes the dragging mechanic didn't work if you weren't quick enough, which ended up killing me on one or two occasions.
Other that that it was pretty fun, combos (suggested earlier) would be pretty cool. The graphics are really nice.
Nice game :)

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33pm

I enjoyed this. I finished it without knowing you could double-click tho. I feel the game difficulty increases at a good rate, but I felt it ended before it actually became 'challenging'. So yeah, a few (dozen) extra levels which increased difficulty would be nice.

I actually spent an hour browsing wikipedia to try to understand why you named it 1951 so I could go "HOHO! THIS is why you called it 1951", but... I couldn't find any event in 1951 that is related.

Andrei Barsan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

@errorage: 1951 was the year the first nuclear reactor was used to successfully produce electricity :D You're in that very reactor. It's an experimental one, which explains why you need to work to stabilize it. (Hey, it's better than calling the game "Math is fun: merge the circles and learn subtractions!" ^_^)

Thanks everyone for the feedback! Here are my responses to the common issues:
- lack of levels = LD48 :(, not that much time on my hands; I'm aiming to launch a post-compo version with more stuff in it, though
- controls: I will increase the size of the bounding boxes around the particles, and also improve the flick detection in the next version
- visual feedback showing that +/- particles cannot be merged when the player tries to merge them
- sfx (shouldn't be too hard)
- music (should be very hard, but maybe I'll manage to whip up something decent in pxtone, who knows?)

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Very interesting puzzle game. The graphic style is just great and the puzzle design was good. Just a bit of thinking and trying to clear some levels.

There should be more feedback on which particle you clicked, I would often join two particles I did not mean to join accidentally. Also the double click pulse was a tad too strong, the particles were often flying so fast after that it was difficult to click on them.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very interesting puzzle game, nice graphics and I find it very polished for a 48h entry

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:36am

I love this game! Very fun puzzle and very addicting. You should really develop this further.

raoz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00am

Interesting, but double-click mechanic doesn't work.

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Really really nice game. I would've loved some audio to go with it though. Interesting mechanic that could really get polished and improved and you might really have a good candidate for a good touch game for android/iOS/whatever. Good job.

Binary Gambit says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Great gameplay.

Elemnir says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Fun little game. I like the mechanics a lot. Although the controls get a bit finicky when the particles clump up close to each other.

lorancou says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Countdown, with a twist :)

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:44am

Really well put together gameplay, congratulations!
The game really needs some sound, though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]