April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Beeat

by Cambrian_Man - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a bee in a garden. Collect pollen, avoid potatoes and roots and try to get a high score.

Controls

Click to move quickly to a spot.
Swipe to gather pollen.
Scribble to charge through potatoes.

You will move to where you release the mouse button.

Known Bugs

Sometimes the pollen refuses to collide.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#443Graphics3.19
#487Audio2.81
#529Humor2.25
#650Innovation3.00
#663Mood2.77
#721Overall3.00
#843Fun2.67
#1075Theme2.93
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Quite a fun little game! I liked the controls, they would be perfect for a touchscreen. I feel like the bee's hitbox should be a little smaller though.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59am

Great style and the swipe mechanic is cool. I agree with Thein though, there were a few times I died when there was nothing visually colliding with the bee.

Waynetron says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:33am

Would suit a touch screen well.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:05am

Colourful graphics that still go well in line with the theme and a pretty fun game on top of that. I'd say you did a swell job making this in 2 days.

Verrazano says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:43am

First off awesome music, with the pulsing sun and cool art style however, I felt like the art style was a little bit a part of what made me not like it at first* I couldn't tell the contrast between the blue thingies and the potatoes. I didn't see the potatoes for a really long time and I was wondering why I kept dying. Once I could see the potatoes it was a lot more fun, but I focused way more on dodging everything than collecting pollen I think I got like ~800 score. good job.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:03pm

I LOVED the look of this game! I think I'd prefer it w/keyboard controls and nix the potato scribbles :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Fun and really hard. the colors confuse me, it takes a while to see the green leafs.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Fun little game, well done!

May 10, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Cool graphics, nice minimal touch, good music. But the controls make the game quite hard, at least when using a mouse... :)

Sebastian says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:44am

Took me a little while to properly get what was going on, but after that I really enjoyed it. The collisions are accurate, but I sometimes felt like a bit of leniency might have been nice. Only managed to get a score of around 2700 in the end (I keep dashing into the leaves when I'm charging a nearby potato lol). Tough little game :)

Kvisle says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:32am

Thanks for creating the standalone versions so I could try it!

This is very hard, and it took me a few attempts to figure out what ended the game and what were good things to hit. I don't think any of my attempts lasted more than 30 seconds.

I noticed that if I held down the mouse, you could see a trailing line - but my bee/wasp/thing would only fly directly to the end of it; Having it follow the trail could be a cool mechanic to add when flying through the more complicated areas.

I like the music and the graphics a lot.

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Controls were pretty nice and the overall gameplay is quite good. Would definitely suit mobile platforms a lot.

Zccc says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:02pm

The mouse tracking is very misleading to the controls! I loved the happy music and the vibrant colored graphics, but I died too easily!

Mesene says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice graphics, needs some balance, but its a nice entry :)

radmars says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:35am

Cool concept & controls but it's a bit too hard right off the bat - could use a tutorial level, or more ramp-up.

May 19, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Do I detect FL Studio and Riff Machine? :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]