April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Playground

by biscuitdough - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Be a ninja and traverse 8 levels for the best time.
Instructions:
USE YOUR MOUSE FOOL.

Also on Google Play for android devices:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.glear.stepgrid

(or just search for ninja playground on google play)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#627Humor2.13
#782Innovation2.84
#932Fun2.58
#942Graphics2.55
#975Overall2.77
#1047Theme2.97
#1160Mood2.14

Comments

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12am

Hard to grab the potato while its moving.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Uhm, I got to level 3... It was too hard, so I had to give up. Didn't really enjoy the game too much to be honest. It didn't make me want to continue any further. :(

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17am

Haha I'm hooked! Although I think only using mousepad made it a lot more difficult! ^^
I'm gonna have to get it on my phone now! :D

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:22am

Tricky!

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

I think it's a little too difficult. Not being able to get passed the second level makes it hard to get hooked.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Yeah, sorry about the difficulty guys, added the timer at the last second which kinda changed what the game was, could've shifted the difficulty away from just finishing the levels, to finishing them quickly, but oh well. Maybe next version.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40am

I couldn't get over the first wall after 2-3 minutes, even with a regular mouse.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

I like it :3

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Personally, I liked the sketchy art style, though it was kind of inconsistent with the colors and the counter seemed out of place, being pixelated and in the middle of the screen.

The idea is neat--dragging with the mouse to burst the ball in that direction. I think it would be a bit more intuitive on a touch device like an iPad than it is here with the mouse, but still. It's a neat idea!

Unfortunately, the controls for it were sluggish and unresponsive. Many times, I'd drag my mouse and there was no response for a split second, or it seemed to respond to the same gesture differently. Because of that, I never felt really in control of the movements, which made the puzzles frustratingly difficult.

In summary, great job on the innovative movement controls, but they need to be tightened to make this kind of game work. Do that and expand the scope of the game and you could have a very enjoyable mobile platformer on your hands!

richtx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22am

Took a bit to get used to, but overall, its a nice diversion game.

cueda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

3273

Add consumables, upgrades, DLC and cosmetics available through microtransactions and you'll be set!

You are adding them, right?


Anyways, cool game, if you do expand on the concept, put eyes on the ball and color it pink

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00am

Fun, but really difficult. might have been better if you could just swipe the mouse when it was blue instead of having to click on it and then drag. Also the font seems to be missing 1

vandriver says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Played with a tablet, and it has all the markings of a fun, frantic casual game.

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:55am

Very minimalistic, liked the hand draw art. But felt like the game started out too difficult, with no explanation. Maybe starting off easier and ramp up difficulty along may provide a better experience. Can be accomplished with the current engine, just more time to design the stages :).

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Not too bad, nice and interesting mechanic. I agree with the other comments, it was too hard to begin with, there was little player feedback and the ball/potato/whatever was very hard to get flying around.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:33am

I like it, but controlling it is really really hard...
Nice graphics =D
So...was that originally a potato?

f7f5 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Cool, and android version! I got to level 5, I think. A bit hard to get the potato(?) to react the way I wanted.
I liked the graphics :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]