April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lone Blade

by Floko - Jam Entry

Feel all the tension of a samurai duel, where just one wrong move can cost your life. A pretty simple one-button game. We highly recommend the use of headphones for building tension.

It`s been about 20 hours of development. We'll be creating some new enemies and improving the mechanics tomorrow, to make the game more challenging .

You have to observe your opponent and wait for an opening , represented by a RED circle. When you see an opening, hit any button to kill your opponent!

Be careful, a WHITE circle means a jink!

Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#22Audio(Jam)4.00
#39Overall(Jam)3.85
#65Mood(Jam)3.70
#68Graphics(Jam)4.06
#72Fun(Jam)3.55
#169Theme(Jam)3.56
#197Humor(Jam)2.45
#204Innovation(Jam)3.19
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

love it, great tension like a wildwest shoot out. nice!

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Very good! Curti demais a vibe e a tensão! Me diverti.

A única sugestão é ter mais de uma "rotina" pra cada tipo gráfico de inimigo diferente, depois de umas partidas eu sabia o que que ia acontecer.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Great game. The use of the theme is perfect and the game progress is fun with different weapons. Congratz!

ttakamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Lone Blade, Double Dash, Great job :)

Really loved the idea and also would like to know how you guys made a great sound work. Way above the others I found so fat about Audio.

Tiago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

Really great game! The tension builds up very quickly and the mood sets in right from the start! The audio and graphics are awesome!

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:39am

Really nice looking and pretty fun! Get's a little repetitive after about the 15 mark, but otherwise great

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Good concept and nicely put together. I guess the progress could be a little faster, so it won't bore the player.
Nice sounds, great art and well fit to the theme.
Personally, I really enjoyed the background getting sliced from the sword swing as well... ;)

Floko says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

@Ariake81, @brantkings, @Rafael, @Tiago
Thanks !
Our intention was to get that duel feeling =]

@ttakamoto
Thanks man! The sound is a frankstein made of many free royalties sounds we found.

@Trench and @FaBritto
Glad you guys liked =]
Yesterday we uploaded a version with faster progress and more enemy variations!

May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

Great game, Double Dash. I really liked the art, and got pretty cool the gameplay. Nice Work!

Boiúna says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:08am

Great game, the atmosphere and sounds are amazing. The unique problem is that after a time, the game seems a little repetitive.

GranaDa says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:53am

Great game! Tense but fun. Good job!

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Your game is very beautiful and gives a nice tension while waiting for the oponent to move... I like the small details, like leaves falling from the trees. Also, the music helps a lot in developing the mood.

ovenchips says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Nice concept - I think the audio + graphics = great mood. An early menu is 50% offscreen on my machine for some reason. I just see 'PAY ATTENTION....SEARCH FOR....". Interesting to see you used WebGL. Source link?

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:32pm

JINK

queader says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Even with only one button it's hard enough :D

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Love it. Excellent atmosphere.
Really like the way the background gets sliced too.

hmmvot says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:41am

That's perfect! I love this game.

Gremlin says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Love the mechanic, especially the way the later enemies develop more complications. It seems so simple at first, but the tension rises with each opponent.

It is a little bit trial-and-error, but I think it's worth it overall, since once you know the patterns you still have the patient difficulty of executing at the precise moment of weakness.

May 15, 2013 @ 5:45am

Awesome!! The Sliced bamboo was a nice touch.

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Had one problem that if I paused, and then hit another key, I got a messed up looking death screen. Otherwise had a lot of fun playing it, and it seems like it would make a nice mobile or expanded game nicely. :)

Gemberkoekje says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:22pm

You, sir, are my personal winner. Do you have a twitter or STEAM account on which I might be able to reach you?

Because of this:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/25/prizes-prizes-and-more-prizes/

Gravel says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Nice!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]