April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

FvOOM

by spolvid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

<EPILEPSY WARNING>

(This game handles multiple resolutions in a way that doesn't work as well as it ought to. The closer you can set the resolution of your monitor to 1200 x 800, the closer your experience will be to the way I intended.)

dodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordiedodgeordie

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#149Fun3.53
#153Theme4.00
#196Audio3.31
#342Mood3.16
#348Humor2.56
#375Overall3.35
#554Graphics3.03
#811Innovation2.79

Comments

invi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Simple yet fun. The controls are tight too. I like!

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Fun little game, and thanks for the epilepsy warning :]

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:37am

Woah that flashing lol. Pretty fun little game and I like the music. One thing that I found annoying is that if you move your block against the left side of the screen and keep moving the mouse left a little afterwards, when you want to move it back again you have to move it that extra amount before it will respond.

corrigan_sam says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Really fun, I loved it. It was hard though. Very well polished game!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Whoa... i normally don't have any troubles with flashy colors, but I feel that if i played this for an hour, i would get foam coming out of my mouth. Simple but incredibly addictive, I love the different effects and how the music ties everything together. Great game!

Canobie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Very nice graphics!

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Well done! You had the same idea as me but quite different result :) I like how it plays.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

I think my brain may have melted but it's worth it. Really neat little game, definitely my sort of thing. Polished and fun! Congrats!

Bevilacqua says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:51am

I had a ton of fun with this game. GOOD JOB!

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:55am

Wow this is incredible. And also totally sets off my motion sickness. And also I can't stop playing. xD

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:56am

ok so my entire family played your game as was trying to beat eash others score -- i call that an epic win -- my wife got the highest score with 32

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:03am

The audio cut out after a few restarts - was that intentional?

Excellent use of audio and visuals to set the mood, and nice, tight controls. I think the difficulty curve is a bit steep, though. The color barrage made me feel very strange after a few minutes of playing -- perhaps a less random assortment could be used to intentionally shape the player's mood.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:14am

Minimal, colorful, fast, fun! :D

The Consul says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:37pm

High score 34!

Addictive game. Good work.

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:51am

ah, I'm not the best at dodging and the colors really make it hard (can only get like 13-14 haha). interesting concept though.

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I didn´t see this fucking <EPILEPSY WARNING>, hehe. Great game, so funny, could take more time to accelerate... but Great!

Make A Game says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:26pm

I've just finished playing a very similar entry, both used the audio as a feedback for the pacing, the main mechanic was to avoid obstacles, but like this one better. The design, the epilepsy warning were a thoughtful way to incorporate humorous elements, the music was also dynamic, the background colors felt fresh.
Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]