April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Prism

by Sanguine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prism is a puzzle game inspired by synthesizers and old gear with a lot of manual controls.

The point of the game is to match the colour of the outcoming beam with the colour of the incoming beam. That is done by manipulating various controls, such as xy-pads, potentiometers and faders.

If you're colourblind, you're either gonna find this game unplayable or non-sensical, sorry :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Innovation4.00
#179Audio3.35
#243Overall3.50
#309Mood3.19
#443Graphics3.19
#538Fun3.00
#552Theme3.54
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Pretty cool game! There were two or three levels in which I was just trying random things, but in the rest of them I really had the feeling I was searching for the right combination. Nice job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08am

FRACT is gonna be so good.

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:13am

very cool idea! some knowledge of color theory presumably helps a lot, and i would've liked it to not just be a matching game but i really like the general idea!

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18am

I found I was twiddling the nobs more then trying to find guess what they actually did. Great game though!

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

90% of the time I had no idea what I was doing, but I managed to beat it nonetheless :D

very cool, well done

Muu? says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Cool idea!
The music was so relaxing.

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Really enjoyed the music and the gameplay was interesting.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58am

Original idea, nicely packaged.

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Awesome game from A to Z! I really liked.. well, everything. Great job, man!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Very, very nice.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

If I randomly tweak the knobs I can eventually get the answer but I tend not to do that.
I did approached it more as a puzzle and I found it great. This is a pretty clever implementation overall. Music is great!

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35am

Excellent idea, very well executed! Both a creative and enjoyable interpretation of minimalism.

queader says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:30am

Nice! Sometimes it was just too difficult, but it's possible to complete this game by trying random combinations :)

attagcatc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:10am

I quite liked this, although the levels seemed to differ in tolerance of colour from the incoming beam, where on some level the working colour is very different from the incoming beam, and on others I had to tweak it even though they appeared the same. However overall a fun game.

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:34am

Awesome game, guessed most of it but I finished! Awesome idea! :)

voxel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:30pm

no YOUR game is random. not really. good work

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Ooh, interesting idea. I'd imagine it'd be pretty difficult for people without background knowledge of colour theory, though.

I occasionally got a few strange hard-cutoff edge effects on the 2D controls, if I dragged the circle right to the edges - possible minor-bug there. But well done for pulling off minimalist visuals without looking like programmer-art!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Impressive game idea! :D great job!

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:48am

Very cool. I don't think I understood what all the dials and spanners meant but I would just fidget around with them until I got the right color.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:29am

Awesome game! A little confusing and the dials could be bigger, but really fun once you get into it!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Great idea. I love it (few level are a bit too hard to understand what we are doing)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]