April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Antichromatic

by arkeus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The world has been fractured into two dimensions. Can you find the source of the fracture and reunite the two halves?

The inspiration for Antichromatic was "black and white", but rather than make (yet another) black and white game, I incorporated black and white into the core mechanics.

The game is a hardcore skill based platformer, not for the faint of heart. You'll find the controls on the game page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Graphics4.25
#30Overall4.00
#56Fun3.77
#121Mood3.57
#243Audio3.23
#326Innovation3.42
#580Humor2.19
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51am

If anything I'd have to say that it's not very minimal, in terms of art style, etc. But as far as content and gameplay goes, it's as good as ever. Well done.

daydalus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Very impressive for 48 hours! Controls get a little bit of time to get used to, but very fun gameplay -

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

Love the mechanics and the use of color. You weren't kidding about being hard core. But hey I like a good challenge.

CappaGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Wow so much content for 48 hours and quality content as well.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Very cool game.

Komradus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55am

This is awesome! The world builder is especially impressive. Quite a challenging game. Well done.

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

I ran into a bug where I was killed by a laser and then infinitely respawned inside of the same laser to die again, unable to switch my color or otherwise escape.

Fun, super hard, I really enjoyed the segments that forced me to mix up wall-jumping and double-jumping (though it took some getting used to switching in between them!) I wasn't as much a fan of rooms where I simply had to dodge a million bullets. I also liked the teleports!

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

Woah! Amaazing game! One of my favorites!

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

Definitely a good challenge. I like the surrounding blocks on the edges. It's a cool effect.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Nice work with the monochromatic colors! It doesn't feel like black/white at all.

Gameplay is also quite punchy. Not sure about the extensive text-boxes, they kind-of impede gameplay.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Great game. I had a bit of a challenge getting the idea that space = jump out of my head, but had a lot of fun afterwards. Experienced random slowdowns which was interesting.

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

I can't figure out what to do on the third screen, but it looks, plays, and feels great.

leafo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

This game is incredible. So much content. Cool graphics, great gameplay. You're a fool if you don't love it!

anbreizh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Very good game, challenging and fun

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19am

very nice idea - controls are great as well

the amount of content is amazing, loved it

DrSkull says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

I wanna try AXEL :)

Canyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

I had a lot of fun with this. Right up until I rage quitted. The art is beautiful. My game plays on black and white too.
Your level design is interesting. My mind got some exercise in that inter dimensional jump puzzles.

arkeus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13am

Thanks for the comments guys! Considering some changes before posting elsewhere, so the feedback definitely helps!

As for the text boxes, I totally agree. I wanted to go writing on the wall, since instructions for this aren't important enough to interrupt gameplay, but didn't for lack of time. Definitely want to for post compo version.

Agreed on the controls taking a bit to get used to. Tried a few other schemes, but didn't like them. Hoping once I get my Ouya it's simple enough to port since it'd probably simpler to play with a gamepad (though shooting will be less enjoyable).

My best time so far is 8:57 with 16 deaths. http://ss.iarke.us/201304/290205591.png Let me know if you do better!

Gama11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Impressive amount of content and polish considering the time limits. Gameplay is pretty solid. Controls seem alright as well.

I don't think the music fits all that well, that could as well be my personal opinion only.
I actually ran into a bug where I was unable to continue due to being insta-killed near a turret as soon as I respawn. Here's a screenshot of the location: http://i.imgur.com/xLumXn7.png Not quite sure what caused it, but I guess switching dimensions quite a lot might have contributed to it.

To be honest, I don't think this game really fits the theme except for the limited use of colors. But then again, the theme is pretty stupid anyway.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

While the game is a realy high quality, I found the controls pretty hard to grasp as there is just so much to control.
I agree that is not so minimal also, but still very well made.

Haddy22 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03pm

great game- impressive for a jam- nice work

TheH says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24am

Awesome game man. For a 48 hour game, it's super solid, and flows really well.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

Really awesome, unbelievable you made this in 48hrs. It was challenging but beatable, very great work!

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29am

I literally could not get past the first set of guns. I can see it being fun, but I shot them ran past them, changed between black/white...nothing worked.

arkeus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:52am

For those who get stuck at the beginning, you should ignore the room with the two turrets until later (after getting the wall jump ability). I should have added a "Sometimes you need to go back to move forward" message or something to that room.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Great challenge, great pacing/progressions, and nice light/dark mechanic. Very fun and lots of content for 48 hours!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Strange but interesting game! Well done!
Can't beat it yet but maybe I'll give that a second chance!

AlanZucconi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:40pm

You really managed to polish the game a lot! :)
Your tiles are good! Seriously :)

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Endboss killing me made me rage-quit :(
Extremely well done though. Played almost an hour.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:19am

Awesome!
And it's pretty challenge :D

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:44pm

awesome game. i really loved the salsa-ish piano tunes! Also the game mechanics are clever

jim3wg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice art ! Nice game ! Last version of AXGL ?

arkeus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Yep, it's using the latest version of Axel (0.9.3 beta branch).

imagnity says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Very well done. Nice game play. Excellent!!!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Ikaruga, the platformer? Nice filter effects.

tudd says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

got stuck in a death loop here http://imgur.com/7AXWWzB

and *really* frustrating. more impossible-until-you-get-a-xxxxx puzzles than antichamber, which is quite a feat.

xandy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:46pm

can't play. the game kills my flash every single time :(

GFM says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:00pm

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARG

This is freaking hard. >_<
Awesome game!

I'll come back to this game and finish it!!

Alphonsus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:15am

Very well polished game. Nice mechanic, great controls and challenging levels. Awesome work!

SuperDisk says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:08am

Very polished and such. I got stuck in a room. My only complaint?

You seem to be suffering from a case of "music clashes with the game a lot" syndrome.

May 12, 2013 @ 6:17am

Nice metroidvania style game with a dimensional shift platforming mechanic. It was really hard for me to get used to using space bar to shift, I kept pressing it when I intended to jump and getting myself killed. I liked the effect you did for the environment.
-Strega

(this is a team account)

Jeremias says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:38am

Was fun to play. Very polished and smooth controls, nice graphics... good job!

Madball says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:54am

At the boss battle I died like 10-15 times after destroying all crystals. Suggestion: make some door open after destroying all crystals, which leads to an actuall boss battle, and make the boss more difficult.
The level design has some lacks... you sometimes leave pathes to go back, but they have a dead end, acting just like red herrings. Also, there is a path splitting, leading to the green shard and... a teleport? Well, if you go for the teleport first, you will have to pass it once more to get the green shard.
The challenges are well balanced, though I didn`t know I can destroy turrets for some time. I liked the appearence of the game.
Keys are sticky sometimes, which is unwanted for hard-difficulty games.
(By the way, why would the world reunite after destroying the source of fracture? It would make more sense if destroyng the source of fracture would make the world not able to reunite at all.)

KEFIR says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Very nice challenging hardcore platformer! Nice use of two dimensions mechanics. Like it very much! Goes to my "best" list!

kill0u says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I hate you >.< Couldn't finish it, I gave up after 132 deaths before throwing my screen through the window..

Tom 7 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:25pm

This was good! The timing on the jumps were often very hard, which I liked, though I disliked having to use my left hand for everything. Those turrets were quite annoying and I think I had to kill them in three universes before they stopped shooting, which I didn't understand. I got the red and blue shards, but then I was in some room where I died and kept respawning in the same place as a monster -- there was nothing I could do; I just kept respawning over and over. That was sad because I did want to finish it, though I don't really want to beat some of those jumps and turrets again!

arkeus says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:20am

Thanks for the comments guys.

In the post comp version, I fixed the issue with being able to go towards the teleport first (also, an "issue" where you could get double jump before red shard, which also wasn't intended).

As for why destroying the fracture would reunite the worlds, it was intended that the source of the fracture (the boss) was the one who was holding them separate, and without his interference, they would reunite. Not really explained in game, but the focus wasn't on the story.

I think I'm going to change the turrets to have to kill them only once in each universe.

As for the constantly respawning on that snail, it seems a lot of people enter the room in a way that causes that to happen, which I didn't forsee. Fortunately I was able to fix that kind of issue in the post comp version. I've also added saving and loading (in addition to a harder mode). Hopefully I should be able to finish that soon.

And thanks again for the comments, it's definitely help me to tweak the new version. :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:23pm

I gave up after a while, hardcore metroidvanias aren't my style. Now, if they're hardcore with levels that can be accessed from a level select screen at any point, entirely different story.

Your level design instincts are very, very good.

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Didn't know where to go/what to do after a point, which is a shame, but major thumbs up on a) the amount of content, b) the polish, c) the level design. Only gripe is that I found moving and jumping with the left hand a little awkward.

frogmaster says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:48am

Very good game! Excellent level design! But I won't forgive You making space a color changer :P It was pure evil!

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Great entry with a perfect polish.
It's a bit hard to play!

SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]