April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sail Away

by phaed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

Alright, voting.

I got bored during this. But I pushed on and... well, it has a nice story. It DEFINITELY has a story, a nice, simple story. You just need to give it a bit more... drive, I guess.

5 stars for theme... because you went with an obvious lock-and-key puzzle, so this also takes a bit off your innovation score.

The graphics are quite nice, and it DOES look pretty good considering the "minimalism" you've decided on (coloured polys are superiour to black and white boxes).

There's no audio. Perhaps you could add some nice sounding sounds? You don't even need to do music if you're not good at that, just do ambient sounds. The plus side of that is it'd make the game feel a little less empty.

The plus side of NOT doing that is you're not likely to make the mistake of having a 20MB wav in a 200KB game. To avoid this schoolboy error, either use vorbis-tools and apply oggenc to everything, or use VLC, open the .wav, right click and then click "Stream" (then stream to a file with the Audio / Ogg Vorbis profile).

Overall, a somewhat boring but nicely polished art game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Haha kind of cool :)

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Nice. Could have used some sound, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:57am

I finished it. Nice story.

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:34am

That was enjoyable. Sound would have made it better, but it certainly still feels complete without it. Also, I really like your minimal art style (which is why I clicked on your game to begin with).

ronsho says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I gave a flower to a dragon and put a dog in a barrel!

Uhfgood says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:42pm

That was great. Managed to do a full on point'n'click (okay hunt'n'peck keyboard) adventure, as minimally as possible. And I agree with others, the colored poly shapes is preferable to plain boxes, and black and white. Also like others you should have added sound. Well done!

GreaseMonkey says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 7:56am

ARGH. You didn't get enough votes ;_;

That happened to me in LD24, and yeah, it totally sucks.

I suggest you play a few more games next time - trust me, it helps. I use Linux and you'll be suprised at how many games ARE playable.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]