April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MSG - Match Set Game

by bastiandantilus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A fun little match 3 game in vanilla javascript.

Match the colors + shapes, or match the numbers!
Drag one piece to its neighbor's spot to swap.
If your swap doesn't make a match, you will lose points!

If you make every match possible, you win!
If you mess up too many times, you lose.

The higher your score, the more colors and numbers on the field.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#326Mood3.18
#470Humor2.35
#625Fun2.91
#772Audio2.33
#800Overall2.94
#872Graphics2.63
#997Innovation2.48
#1069Theme2.94

Comments

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

Cute game. Nice use of the Theme.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06am

A cool variation to a very common game. Not sure what the C,R, and S stand for. Pretty fun game but these types of games are extremely overdone imo.

DaveDobson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09am

Nice game, well-executed. I liked the multiple variables (color, shape, number) I had to keep in mind - I wasn't very good at it, but it was fun. Sounds were cool, and the art was very crisp and clear. At the end, I got to a point where I had numbers without shapes, and I thought I made a couple of moves that seemed legal but got penalized. And when I did make an illegal move, most of the pieces changed color and/or shape - I wasn't sure if that was a feature or a bug. Fun, though - nice work.

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Nice game, I had fun playing it :)

It took me 2-3 tries to get the idea but then I enjoyed it.
On a technical note: The game takes 100% CPU after I score (on Firefox 20)


Reply to your comment in my game: I fixed the window-location beeing offscreen ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

A couple of "spoilers" :
C - the number of suits (colors) or ranks (numerals).
Goes up and down as you score / lose points.
R - Potential "rank" matches (1 1 2 1, swap the 2 and 1)
S - Potential "suit" matches (same as above but for color)

If all the shapes change color, it means your level changed, this is reflected in "C". Making an illegal move is enough to drop you an entire level, but it shows you the next match (shaded dark).

Rialgar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Really had fun with this, I would have liked the numbers in the corner be explained upfront, though. Also I do not like the UI-FONT, but that might just be me.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Pretty good concept in a minimalist way, well done !

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I gave you high marks for innovation but low marks for the theme because technically adding more complexity isn't really minimalist. It works well, and is fun, though!

Team Castor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

disturbing for small minds like mine ^ ^
I can not concentrate on numbers and colors at the same time.
Really nice game

Bernhard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I'm not up-to-date on my Match-3 game news, but having 2 types of matches seems innovative to me! Great idea!
No time pressure was welcome, made it through the SEXY difficulty with ease :)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice approach! :D

Tyro says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:29am

Very competently done game! I could definitely see myself playing this on a mobile device if I had one.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:24am

Neat! Should work really well on a mobile environment. =D

One small suggestion: give each number a different color and a black outline, that'll make it much easier to read them and also to find possible combinations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]